I had chaps singing Barney the Dinosaur during BMT la.Originally posted by tarutaru:maybe they should sing jay chow![]()
Collective singing helps to make the march seem shorter too, mind over matter.Originally posted by Shotgun:We did jay's long juan feng during our route march.. haha.
I feel that as long as the recs are not singing err.... "censored" songs... I feel that they should continue singing.
Singing does boost morale during these long route marches. For those of us who have been through it, it really helps to give us something else to think about it other than the aching legs, shoulders and neck. As well as the chafing between the legs.
Some people just dun understand...
Originally posted by Manager433:
Awakened thrice at night by recruits' singing
Today
March 7, 2006
Letter from Tan Lay Yan
I AM a resident of Marine Parade and my apartment block is situated next to East Coast Park.
In recent months, I have noticed the park has been increasingly used as a training ground for army recruits. On Feb 28 at midnight, I saw a huge group of recruits marching along the pedestrian walkway in the park. They were singing and chanting loudly.
I was rudely awakened at 3.30am when the recruits marched past the stretch of park near my block. Little did I expect that I would be awakened again at 5.30am and 6am by the recruits singing at the top of their voice!
While I appreciate the need to build up the recruits' stamina through road marches, such training should not be carried out at the expense of the residents' sleep. Ideally, army training near residential areas should be done before midnight. If it has to take place after midnight, the noise should be kept to a minimum.
u interested? wanna go on a date? me and the boys can sing for u.Originally posted by subarugal:ohh weiii... what no gal appreciate ? Got lah , dnt worry auntie appreciate wor..
Actually army songs can be quite cute and interesting as well. I rem once i heard them singing abt, galfren, macdonalds, O-filet.. blah blah...
Very interesting.. haa...
Keep up the work or march... all the way man...![]()
I'll bring my stereo and all engineers will sing the engineer march.....Originally posted by Manager433:Lets find out which blk she lives and we all go stand outside her unit and sing army songs loudly.![]()
please! anything but the engineer march.Originally posted by AE86tofu:I'll bring my stereo and all engineers will sing the engineer march.....![]()
the Logisticians' Song also can.Originally posted by Gordonator:please! anything but the engineer march.![]()
tink u gt it all wrong...Originally posted by Aveme:well when you sing,it will tax your lung power,so actually at first it will make those singing to have problem regulating their breathing but the lung now know its is not powerful enough and will try to build itself up to try catching up with the increase demands of it,just like if you do body building,the muscle will try to build itself up from heavier and heavier demands of working out.So it is actually to make you work to your max instead of not working hard enough.
True they can do this another way by making the trainees walk or run faster so that their breathing is more ragged,but well they will also involve way more muscular demand and lead to muscular fatigue way faster than is ideal for a long march.
wads wrong? u shld be proud of being one....the ultimate sai gang warrior and underdogs of the SAF.....Originally posted by Gordonator:please! anything but the engineer march.![]()
Logisticians vs Engineers.Originally posted by AE86tofu:wads wrong? u shld be proud of being one....the ultimate sai gang warrior and underdogs of the SAF.....
we the engineers of SAF....striving for the best for our dear motherland.....![]()
agree.. nice oneOriginally posted by fudgester:I live in Marine Parade as well... just 400m from the MacDonald's at ECP. and I can also sometimes hear the RECs singing as they do their route marches at ECP. I remember once getting woken up at 3am by their singing... but I ain't gonna KPKB about it. I guess a lot has to do with the fact that I've completed my 2 1/2 years of it already.
I suppose the complainant either hasn't done NS before, or doesn't have a son who has done it. It seems that he thinks that his beauty sleep takes precedence over the recruits. Well, it is precisely because of those recruits that he gets to sleep in a nice comfortable bed at night instead of in a concentration camp run by some heartless b*stards.
With complainants like these, how can you not fault NSFs for feeling that they're not being appreciated? Their girlfriends leave them for 'not spending enough time' with them. People in public shun them for the stench of their No.4s. And now, residents complain about them for trying to build up cameraderie and spirit by singing.
They are sacrificing 2 years of their lives at the risk of life and limb. People have died doing NS, and countless others have gotten injured. At least appreciate them for the fact that if they're not there, you won't have the luxury of complaining without getting an enemy bayonet in the gut.
ADVANCE! OVERCOME! ENGINEERS!Originally posted by AE86tofu:wads wrong? u shld be proud of being one....the ultimate sai gang warrior and underdogs of the SAF.....
we the engineers of SAF....striving for the best for our dear motherland.....![]()
Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Notice the lack of "singing to build up stamina"?
[b]Why the hell must the SAF apologise??? Why must we always pander to some bit-ch's rants?
Apologies for rude awakenings
Friday March 10, 2006
Letter from COL Benedict Lim
Director, Public Affairs
Ministry of Defence
I refer to Ms Tan Lay Yan's letter, "Awakened thrice at night by recruits' singing" (March 7).
We apologise for the disturbance caused to Ms Tan and other residents.
Route marches improve the fitness and cohesion of our soldiers. They are sometimes conducted at night to reduce the risk of heat injuries, especially for new soldiers.
During route marches, soldiers sing to boost morale and build cohesion.
Units have been advised to be considerate and minimise inconvenience to the public. The unit involved has been reminded.[/b]
I refer to Ms Tan Lay Yan's letter, "Awakened thrice at night by recruits' singing" (March 7).
We apologise for the disturbance caused to Ms Tan and other residents.
Route marches improve the fitness and cohesion of our soldiers. They are sometimes conducted at night to reduce the risk of heat injuries, especially for new soldiers. During route marches, soldiers sing to boost morale and build cohesion.
Route marches are an essential component of training and safety during route marches is paramount.
We advise the public to be considerate and minimise disruption to training. Otherwise we will give you 1 x jialat jilat.
+1Originally posted by lwflee:
+1 tooOriginally posted by lwflee:

+1000Originally posted by BonJovi:To that Tan L Y: u can suck my cock u fucking bitch. U try doing route march for 24km during the mid-day sun lar....complaint so much u cb. If s'pore dun haf soldiers to protect ur ignorant yellow arse u tink u can go takashimaya buy coloured SBO every weekend is it? Pls tink thoroughtly and do ur research the next time u wanna complaint abt anything.![]()