It's called Operation Flashpoint. a few years ago, a CPL modified the game to make the models looks like SAF soldiers with SAR21.Originally posted by fudgester:Sounds interesting.... I remember that SAF did come out with a training simulation based on a computer game. I forgot the name of the game.
Ah yes, Operation Flashpoint, now I remember....Originally posted by Gordonator:It's called Operation Flashpoint. a few years ago, a CPL modified the game to make the models looks like SAF soldiers with SAR21.
the CPL ORDed and i believe no one is continuing the project.
furthermore, one must have Operation Flashpoint in order to play the SAF mod (after downloading a patch). this is where the problem lies, not everyone has the game, so the project was never well received by the public.
........Originally posted by nightzip:hmmm...SIM SAF??
like wake up 6am, brush teeth, wash face, gather and march for breakfast, draw arms, PT, lessons, drills etc?
it will be fun....and also add like if you miss timings for breakfast, draw arms, drills etc...then you kenna punishments, confinement, DB.
Then can also add in the sabo your friend part, like keep his rifle, steal his money in cupboards...
then posted to unit and if you reach like a high score for your reputation and ability, you will be posted to OCS or SISPEC.
can outsource the project to outside company. don't even has to worry about not enough manpower. can recruit those NSFs who are good in programming, art/animation into the project.Originally posted by Unidentified:who would want to make it ?
and how long do they need before the game can be publish ?
got reverse effect on teenagers who are enlistingOriginally posted by nightzip:yup...SIM SAF will be better than those shoot-em-ups games...
cuz its more educational and propagandaic for SAF....
of course in SIM you can also go for range...just click the small target board within 4s and after that see your results.
Cheap labour.Originally posted by Gordonator:can outsource the project to outside company. don't even has to worry about not enough manpower. can recruit those NSFs who are good in programming, art/animation into the project.
yah, then have blanket party....if u take part then reputation up/down and if u dun take part then maybe the next one to be under the blankat is u. u receive bonus points if u manage to 'convince' the MO u are ayam sakit...Originally posted by nightzip:hmmm...SIM SAF??
like wake up 6am, brush teeth, wash face, gather and march for breakfast, draw arms, PT, lessons, drills etc?
it will be fun....and also add like if you miss timings for breakfast, draw arms, drills etc...then you kenna punishments, confinement, DB.
Then can also add in the sabo your friend part, like keep his rifle, steal his money in cupboards...
then posted to unit and if you reach like a high score for your reputation and ability, you will be posted to OCS or SISPEC.
oh oh. i played the SAF mod of it before...nothiing fantastic, just 3 missions. But you can custom make missions with the SAF vehicles and the ones already in game. It was rather interesting to see SM-1s going up against T-80sOriginally posted by Gordonator:It's called Operation Flashpoint. a few years ago, a CPL modified the game to make the models looks like SAF soldiers with SAR21.
the CPL ORDed and i believe no one is continuing the project.
furthermore, one must have Operation Flashpoint in order to play the SAF mod (after downloading a patch). this is where the problem lies, not everyone has the game, so the project was never well received by the public.
which u know in real life the SM1s are scrap metal compared to the T80s....Originally posted by sgFish:oh oh. i played the SAF mod of it before...nothiing fantastic, just 3 missions. But you can custom make missions with the SAF vehicles and the ones already in game. It was rather interesting to see SM-1s going up against T-80s
Add in the wayang and garang abilities... not forgetting chao kengs and also volunteering for sai kangs...Originally posted by chunyong:yah, then have blanket party....if u take part then reputation up/down and if u dun take part then maybe the next one to be under the blankat is u. u receive bonus points if u manage to 'convince' the MO u are ayam sakit...
Check this site out.Originally posted by Gordonator:Considering how the US has their own game based on their army. do you think SAF should do the same? it will be interesting, especially for pre-enlistees to has a basic idea on our army capabilities. hopefully also to let them develop a positive view and to minimise their doubts and uncertainties before enlisting.
Then when you order a group of soldier to attack the tesla coils, "Sir, siao ah! Mai garang legh. We reservist only..."Originally posted by Gordonator:i'm thinking a real time strategy (RTS) game will be cool. like Command and Conquer: Red Alert.
Originally posted by lwflee:Then when you order a group of soldier to attack the tesla coils, "Sir, siao ah! Mai garang legh. We reservist only..."