OICW kena shelved. So did the XM-8. I heard they are looking at the HK416 and the FN-SCAR.Originally posted by AE86tofu:well if gadetry is so effective y dun US give their mrines the OICW during the iraq war? y still stick to the old and trustworthy M16 and M4A1?![]()
nothing beats the raw deal la....tts y i still prefer the M16 than the SAR21...which is just a copy of the steyr Aug
FN-SCAR is in interim deployment I think..Originally posted by Shotgun:OICW kena shelved. So did the XM-8. I heard they are looking at the HK416 and the FN-SCAR.
Well, there are some goodies in the Army actually. Our comms equipment, for instance, is actually pretty advanced. Obviously, we cannot compare our army to the US army. In fact, No army in the world can. The US alone spend more on defence than the rest of the world combined!Originally posted by Redblood:come to think of it ... what equipment actually has impressed any of us in army? or rather ... what left a lasting depression? lol

u sure our coms equiptment advanced??? then y are hell engineers still using PRC 77??Originally posted by lwflee:Well, there are some goodies in the Army actually. Our comms equipment, for instance, is actually pretty advanced. Obviously, we cannot compare our army to the US army. In fact, No army in the world can. The US alone spend more on defence than the rest of the world combined!
I was also quite impressed by come of the Thermal imagers that the army has. But I must admit that means nothing because I have never used a thermal imager before. Still, pretty impressed.
edit: Because I can't read.
I have never used PRC 77 outside of Sispec so maybe its because we do not have enough new signal sets? I dunno. Doesn't change the fact that large numbers of soldiers have access to newer sets.Originally posted by AE86tofu:u sure our coms equiptment advanced??? then y are hell engineers still using PRC 77??![]()

What do you mean by satellite guided sets?Originally posted by decepticon25:i think US now use satellite guided sets. SAF the best can give is 940. last time HRC 732 so good they change to 610 go do urban warfare the comms quite bad. even though 732 bulky and the headset unreliable at least can get through.![]()
1 to 3 ft not 10 ftOriginally posted by Shotgun:High velocity = high recoil.
Ya got kick... trooper gets kicked back 10 ft! hahaa
so how? the solution is to train and do SOC with all the new gadgets lor.Originally posted by tlwa:just imagine he do flanking with all this equipment.. run all the way around the knoll confrim more shag than running SOC.. but still not the end.. after running around the knoll still must leopard crawl and do fire movement.. confrim die
Back pack 1 jerry can full with water is enoughOriginally posted by wuming78:so how? the solution is to train and do SOC with all the new gadgets lor.![]()
Really? My army stint i only use "normal" section/platoon/coy signal sets. those which link BN to BDE to DIV i wouldnt know. i only so far expose up to 940 sets only.. most of the time use 610/ HRC 732Originally posted by lwflee:What do you mean by satellite guided sets?
If you mean sets with inbuilt GPS, I think the new-ish signal sets have those too.