I agreed cause not every servicemen can pass all 5 station. What is ur occupation for day n night?Originally posted by thickskin23:I think NS is basically your first exposure to the real world. You will learn that this world is unfair, why does the minister's sons mostly or in fact all either get into OCS or become clerks that does not need to do a single guard duties even when they are Pes C1 which means that they are eligible to do guard duties just like any one of us.
To me the scariest part of NS is actually after you ORD. You have to pass IPPT every year, if you fail you have to attend remedial sessions. I, myself ord 1 year ago, i have to juggle 2 jobs, one day job and another night job.
I am not afraid of IPPT in fact i been training regularly. I make time to run every night around 1 a.m. down the park under my house after i finish my night job. I pass 4 stations out of the five station 5 points each. The only station i fail is my shuttle run. My boss is threatening me if i had to attend a RT session, he will not hesitate to sack me. I just feel that the most important stations in IPPT is chin ups and 2.4 km run. I pass these 2 stations with 5 points. I really wish the SAF to be kind maybe they could grant an NS guy a subsidary pass if he manage to pass 4 stations.
Look at some of the regulars in the army, they are fat and some of them cannot even pass their IPPT despite they have all the access to the gym which is just a stone drop distance from their office, yet most of them rather go for canteen breaks to eat roti pratas with eggs or chicken cutlets. I am just dissappoint that my main bread n butter is at stake cause i cannot pass shuttle run. I mean whats the point of running for 10 seconds to grab some blocks.
It's people like your employer that needs a huge wake-up call. There are too many ingrates in this world who can hire employees but seem to run their business on such a tight margin that if the employee goes for RT, the company looks like it's going to collapse?Originally posted by thickskin23:I think NS is basically your first exposure to the real world. You will learn that this world is unfair, why does the minister's sons mostly or in fact all either get into OCS or become clerks that does not need to do a single guard duties even when they are Pes C1 which means that they are eligible to do guard duties just like any one of us.
To me the scariest part of NS is actually after you ORD. You have to pass IPPT every year, if you fail you have to attend remedial sessions. I, myself ord 1 year ago, i have to juggle 2 jobs, one day job and another night job.
I am not afraid of IPPT in fact i been training regularly. I make time to run every night around 1 a.m. down the park under my house after i finish my night job. I pass 4 stations out of the five station 5 points each. The only station i fail is my shuttle run. My boss is threatening me if i had to attend a RT session, he will not hesitate to sack me. I just feel that the most important stations in IPPT is chin ups and 2.4 km run. I pass these 2 stations with 5 points. I really wish the SAF to be kind maybe they could grant an NS guy a subsidary pass if he manage to pass 4 stations.
Look at some of the regulars in the army, they are fat and some of them cannot even pass their IPPT despite they have all the access to the gym which is just a stone drop distance from their office, yet most of them rather go for canteen breaks to eat roti pratas with eggs or chicken cutlets. I am just dissappoint that my main bread n butter is at stake cause i cannot pass shuttle run. I mean whats the point of running for 10 seconds to grab some blocks.
Yah hor...Originally posted by Icemoon:Bomb disposal team (EOD) can come from police .. like HK.
i totally agrees with u on this, dude. i hate it when employers threaten to sack their employees if they need to go for RT or get called up for reservist. this type of narrow minded, self-fish people really need to wake up their ideas.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's people like your employer that needs a huge wake-up call. There are too many ingrates in this world who can hire employees but seem to run their business on such a tight margin that if the employee goes for RT, the company looks like it's going to collapse?
Collapse my balls.If I were HR, your manager would get a very harsh "wake-the-fuck-up" letter.
Actually there is a VERY good reason why sprinting and sudden changes in direction are important in the military. When you sprint from cover to cover, you are using the muscles that are important for shuttle run. If you take the time to train, about an hour a day 3 times a week, you'll save yourself a world of grief. In fact, you will find in the field, that aerobic fitness (which you need for 2.4) is seldom really needed.Originally posted by thickskin23:I think NS is basically your first exposure to the real world. You will learn that this world is unfair, why does the minister's sons mostly or in fact all either get into OCS or become clerks that does not need to do a single guard duties even when they are Pes C1 which means that they are eligible to do guard duties just like any one of us.
they themselves dun need go for reservist or RT meh?Originally posted by Gordonator:i totally agrees with u on this, dude. i hate it when employers threaten to sack their employees if they need to go for RT or get called up for reservist. this type of narrow minded, self-fish people really need to wake up their ideas.
All must be old man already.Originally posted by Icemoon:they themselves dun need go for reservist or RT meh?![]()
I think under the law, any employers found to dismiss his employee illegally can be sued by the employee. I think so far in Spre, no reservist had brought the employer to court for threatening to be dismissed by going back for reservist.Originally posted by Gordonator:i totally agrees with u on this, dude. i hate it when employers threaten to sack their employees if they need to go for RT or get called up for reservist. this type of narrow minded, self-fish people really need to wake up their ideas.
Oh yes, can complain to Ministry of Manpower. They'll sue for you.Originally posted by will4:I think under the law, any employers found to dismiss his employee illegally can be sued by the employee. I think so far in Spre, no reservist had brought the employer to court for threatening to be dismissed by going back for reservist.
I think if come to think of it, a reservist is informed six month before the start of his in camp training, his boss is also informed. If the boss is not able toOriginally posted by photo_seeker:Oh yes, can complain to Ministry of Manpower. They'll sue for you.![]()
what the heck are they doing running a business at a tight margin.Originally posted by leddy:i think why some employers threaten to fire u if u go ict or rt is becoz they themselves are operating at a very tight margin, or they could be operating at a loss... if u going for rt or ict is going to add to their burden, it's true they wont hesitate to fire you.. coz end of the day... the business is more impt than 1 individual employee. it's a fact of life, which is why some nsmen find it unfair. having to struggle with job, provide for family, and still protect nation... it's even harder if u are not highly educated and holding odd jobs which they can sack u easily. now is like u are at the mercy of either ur employer being understanding, or ur unit being understanding and let u defer.
If they cant run the buisness u will not have a job in the first place. U will unemploy.Originally posted by LazerLordz:what the heck are they doing running a business at a tight margin.
can't run the damned thing, get the hell out.Don't waste your employees time.
hmm unfortunately. i think its prob hard to prove. and i think it might have bad effects on future employment dispite what you say. of course the other side of the coin is there might be those who might help cos you did that....Originally posted by pierre^^:dear fellow forumers. Unless u r already over 40 yrs old. if ur boss threaten to sack u becoz u attend rt. pls inform MOM accordingly. Let them take legal action. I dun think it will be a prob for u find a new job rite. If ppl are constanly taken advantage of without knowing their employement rights, whats the use of employement law
Bomb disposal team (EOD) can come from police .. like HKcontrary to popular belief that EOD teams only dispose terrorists' bombs, SAF EOD teams are capable of doing 2 things. they are:
yes. i always tell people to take NS positively, it can be fun too if u have the correct mindset.Originally posted by R3SsH|n:why abolish ns?
ns should be fun mahz...
yeah.. it sucks when soldiers act like office politicians all day, or when they like to stab another's back. or damn sarcastic. or bloody hell take MC when they are on duty so his replacement would have to do it for him.Originally posted by Gordonator:yes. i always tell people to take NS positively, it can be fun too if u have the correct mindset.
but having said that, a bit of luck comes into consideration too, namely where u are posted to, the management, the system, your colleagues etc.