Yup, they have to work for 1 yr after their return from studies before their promotion.Originally posted by sbst275:Start work here means when they complete their studies
Chey...Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Yup, they have to work for 1 yr after their return from studies before their promotion.
well, it could just be that.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:hmm.. maybe.. haha.. hey, speaking of that, i wonder whether my reason of being inspired to join the air force is similar to the urge 2 buy the new (insert brand) shampoo that makes hair silky soft (but end up feeling kena conned)
but still... the air force looks soooo appealing..
i still wanna know more.. keep the comments going!
yea, for officer, the contract is till 45 yrs old. for specialist is a 10 yrs contract.Originally posted by Gordonator:well, it could just be that.
but do remember, u can just throw the shampoo away and stop using it anytime u like. but a military career is bounded by a bond/contract. u can't simpily walk away if u change your mind. and this is 4,5 years of your youth we are talking about here.
do think through this careful. all the best.![]()
But then, just think of it, office politics exist everywhere and Im sure backstabbing stuffs are much worse in some other (certain) ministries. just tt hierarchy is more obvious in an uniformed organisation.Originally posted by ditzy:Toughness in the military is the ability to withstand stupid red tape beareucracy, inflexibility, office politics, and backstabbing while carrying out day to day operations.![]()
Huh? my results not good enough 2 get the SAF overseas scholarship lor, but good enough 2 go NTU.. That means local uni grads dun get good salary too? Then will the difference be very big if i go in with just my poly diploma as compared to me getting a degree from NTU?Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Nope, even the overseas scholars are LTAs for a year before they get their 3rd bar. The only people who can be said to 'start work' as CPTs are the MOs.
Btw, the promote 'very very fast' part is true only for SAF Overseas Scholars, it definitely does not include your run-of-the-mill uni graduate.
Overseas grads and local grads are on the same graduate pay scale. for scholars, promotions of course faster loh.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:Huh? my results not good enough 2 get the SAF overseas scholarship lor, but good enough 2 go NTU.. That means local uni grads dun get good salary too? Then will the difference be very big if i go in with just my poly diploma as compared to me getting a degree from NTU?
re-course loh. if combatants downgraded during the course of his/her career due to injuries, he/she might be transferred to do other things or revocated to non-combat. if the vocation he/she signed on as is already non-combat, i don't think it'll make much difference.Originally posted by pandemonium:i've got another question tt's unansered so far. For ladies who sign on as regulars (like vocation-specific, not those who sign on to try for sms), wat happens if they ooc? like cannot pass the course specific for their vocation. Then will they be made to pay the liquidated "damages" for the bond? I'm worried abt that coz Im signing on, and Im not rich, I might just bankrupt!
Hmm.. good idea.. haha.. also give myself more time 2 consider whether that's what i really whatOriginally posted by Ah Cek:Overseas grads and local grads are on the same graduate pay scale. for scholars, promotions of course faster loh.
poly dip will be much lesser compare to graduates, could be a few hundreds initially. gradually, the gap widens because on diff pay scale i.e. one on dip pay scale and the other on graduate pay scale.
why don't you get your 1st degree then join?
don't get conned.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:but still... the air force looks soooo appealing..
good good good...get a degree. later many pple will head hunt you.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:Hmm.. good idea.. haha.. also give myself more time 2 consider whether that's what i really what
i definitely don't wanna do so much n get miserable pay while seeing others getting so high pay.. haha
speaking from experience?Originally posted by kopiosatu:don't get conned.
From most regulars in the air force, especially Uni grads and those non-SAFOS scholars, I always hear them about wanting to quickly finish their bond and zhao. Sometimes the work can be a bit over-bearing especially with the shift work and all. No time for a proper life.Originally posted by Gordonator:speaking from experience?![]()
what do you mean?Originally posted by nismoS132:all the 28-35yo regulars at kranji camp are wondering how they'll cope with a 50-70% pay cut after ORD.
you still sure you wanna sign on?
Simple wat, example:-Originally posted by pandemonium:what do you mean?
straight from the horse's mouth.Originally posted by Gordonator:speaking from experience?![]()
Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:
Hihi, i'm 19 (turning 20 this dec) this yr... graduate from TP (communications n media management). Quite confused on which career path 2 take. I applied for NTU school of information n communication as well as NIE (dip ed).. but strangely i don't really feel the passion for these 2 courses lar.. dunno whether it's the advertisements i saw on the streets n in the magazines portraying females in SAF as very cool individuals, i'm sort of inspired 2 join la.. i'm not attracted to the "stable job" image or good pay, but rather the kind of "shuai" feeling when wearing the uniform.. haha
I'm consider air force weapon systems officer, either C3 or UAV.. but can some1 tell me more abt what they're abt? The websites don't seem 2 say much leh. very brief nia.. and i don't have any foundation on stuff like that, coz all i study is abt the media industry. then also, what r the stuff that females shld take note of when going bmt and ocs.. actually the thing i'm most worried abt is "the time on the month"..
It'll be good if some female officers can share their experience with me.. then is it very hard 2 get in also? the drop out rate high ma?
my parents keep saying that females who go SAF all very tom boy 1, n think that i too guniang liao, not suitable.. dunno leh..
Originally posted by tt3:Then what 'got honour'?
[b]
EEE... air force... sux la... no honour 1...[/b]
Haha.. 'Good salary' is highly subjective lor, what's good salary to you?Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:Huh? my results not good enough 2 get the SAF overseas scholarship lor, but good enough 2 go NTU.. That means local uni grads dun get good salary too? Then will the difference be very big if i go in with just my poly diploma as compared to me getting a degree from NTU?
Originally posted by tt3:wah piang eh, who say air force sux??? Without them,other countries suka suka use airplane to stimulate bombing on singapore already lor... Army,Navy and the air force important wan leh... Every vocation,every specs are important... Imagine without Guards or Commandos,how to strike fear into enemies' mind ??? Then without Armour or Artillary,who will use all those tanks and big guns??? But hor rarely c females wan to sign on as WSO,females in the forces are rarely seen sia... Muz encourage more to sign on but muz do some degree of researching first before signing on lah...
[b]
EEE... air force... sux la... no honour 1...[/b]
Haha.. i don't think the pay can be considered 'miserable'.. pay in the uniformed services tends to be slightly higher than what someone with the same qualifications will get outside.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:Hmm.. good idea.. haha.. also give myself more time 2 consider whether that's what i really what
i definitely don't wanna do so much n get miserable pay while seeing others getting so high pay.. haha