Originally posted by Puutan:are you ah gua?
Serving in the army is something almost every singaporean male has to go through, and the training is, although toned down by many degrees to appease our small island community after many unfortunate military related events, is still demanding upon the recruits physically and mentally.
But i believe that there is another hazard in National Service. The social environment.
As a pre-enlistee, i have heard of cases where recruits, NSFs and regulars who fail to adapt wisely to their surroundings, and ending up either performing push-ups, staying back in the detention barracks on the weekends, being discriminated against and labelled the black sheep of the platoon...... etc.....
So, what social guidelines can we follow to prevent ourselves from having suffer the consequences of irresponsible behavior in the army ?
I only know of a few advices: Don't be an "Indian Chief", Do whatever you want to do, but don't get caught, Don't trust anybody, Don't volunteer for guard duty and don't be enthusiastic about it..........
My purpose for this thread is to collect many guidelines to form a library of prudent rules for those people serving in the army, who are going to serve their national service and hopefully do a huge favor for those soon going into the army or are in the army to lower the frequency of kenna screwed or punished. Thanks for your contributions and your time taken to list down these guidelines.[/b]
if he is, i probably am too.Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:are you ah gua?
the punishment part: one for all, all for one.Originally posted by octega:BMT style is simple, they make ppl work as a team. So even if u manage to compile such a list or do everything by it. U will still kena just by one person in ur platoon not doing it. Example, PS ask the platoon to fall-in then u want to avoid trouble, fall in early liao then ur platoon mate eng eng cheng cheng lagi walk down somemore, then whole platoon knock it down and wait it push up position for him.
So why bother.
Besides, if everyone follow such a list then no one to blanket-party liao.
Then i got a qn,Originally posted by octega:BMT style is simple, they make ppl work as a team. So even if u manage to compile such a list or do everything by it. U will still kena just by one person in ur platoon not doing it. Example, PS ask the platoon to fall-in then u want to avoid trouble, fall in early liao then ur platoon mate eng eng cheng cheng lagi walk down somemore, then whole platoon knock it down and wait it push up position for him.
So why bother.
Besides, if everyone follow such a list then no one to blanket-party liao.
Be a nice guy, and don't be the fella who sabohs your whole platoon on a regular basis.Originally posted by gd4u:Then i got a qn,
How to avoid blanket party??
No use one lah come on,the clerk got all your info leh.But also not bad lah,the 1st time i get to celerbrate my birthday with soooooooooo many pp lehand that in my bmt time .Let them blanket also nvm,at least everyone is happy in the end.Originally posted by fudgester:Be a nice guy, and don't be the fella who sabohs your whole platoon on a regular basis.
And also, for goodness' sake, don't tell anyone your birthday.
Dun worry, my b'day will certainly not fall during my BMT daysOriginally posted by fudgester:And also, for goodness' sake, don't tell anyone your birthday.
Wrong.Originally posted by NewAge:I heard that in the army just follow the crowd and dont get promoted as it add to yah reservist years. Dunno if its true or not.
I like to ask how to be a third sergeant in reservist? I am in holding list at present.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Wrong.
Reservist cycle is up till 40, no matter if you are PTE or 3SG.
At least get the 3SG and have a bit more money for the time they call you back.