can, jz dun extend can liao... tell ur unit S1 or chief clerk when ur contract ending soon... they wun make it difficult, they will only tempt u to stay...Originally posted by Einstein99:I signed on the RSN when I was in poly 6 yrs ago. Then I served 4 yrs as a spec before going for further study 2 yrs ago.
Now that I was still doing my studies, I feel that I do not want to continue a millitary career for long.
Can I still request to ORD on the sixth year? Besides some ppl trying to make things diffcult for me, does any policy deter me from doing so?
Why sign on in the 1st place? Then why dun want to continue a millitary career for long?Originally posted by Einstein99:I signed on the RSN when I was in poly 6 yrs ago. Then I served 4 yrs as a spec before going for further study 2 yrs ago.
Now that I was still doing my studies, I feel that I do not want to continue a millitary career for long.
Can I still request to ORD on the sixth year? Besides some ppl trying to make things diffcult for me, does any policy deter me from doing so?
some regulars sign on during school time for the money but when they finish school, they then realise wat they wan n daily routine of ns might not be their cup of tea... happens around...Originally posted by gnoik:Why sign on in the 1st place? Then why dun want to continue a millitary career for long?
BEng at NTU. Self sponsered.Originally posted by Gordonator:some questions i need to ask from u.
what studies are u taking now? sponsored by the SAF? when u graduate?
so you are on no pay leave hah.. i had a friend who left the navy after his 5th year. why not 6th? well, he rejected his 1sg promotion thus gaining the option of going ord on the 5th year debt free.Originally posted by Einstein99:BEng at NTU. Self sponsered.
Why must reject promotion?Originally posted by YI:so you are on no pay leave hah.. i had a friend who left the navy after his 5th year. why not 6th? well, he rejected his 1sg promotion thus gaining the option of going ord on the 5th year debt free.
i had heard the same story too but it seems that the rsn are dying to kick people out these days to save cost or something. i don't know. infact, i am not aware of any such cases (dragging till 6th year) for at least the past six years. when you accept your 1sg promotion, you will be signing an acknowledgement form that you will remains in service for another year and since you usually got your 1sg on your 5th year of service.. thus the earliest you can ord is the end of your 6th year service.Originally posted by Einstein99:Why must reject promotion?
I heard last time when u request 5th yr ord, they tu2 until almost yr 6 or even after 6.
Unless u meet good guys, else very difficult.
Hmm... wtf... sian...Originally posted by YI:i had heard the same story too but it seems that the rsn are dying to kick people out these days to save cost or something. i don't know. infact, i am not aware of any such cases (dragging till 6th year) for at least the past six years. when you accept your 1sg promotion, you will be signing an acknowledgement form that you will remains in service for another year and since you usually got your 1sg on your 5th year of service.. thus the earliest you can ord is the end of your 6th year service.
lucky u pay ur own school feesOriginally posted by Einstein99:I signed on the RSN when I was in poly 6 yrs ago. Then I served 4 yrs as a spec before going for further study 2 yrs ago.