I think I know what you mean bro .... but I think it's the people that makes it so .... not the system eh ...Originally posted by Hellraiza:I love my job, but the system has left a bad taste in my mouth
the "people" ur talking about also constitute part of the system what. These are those who are more machine than men, much like the human "batteries" in the MatrixOriginally posted by Fatum:I think I know what you mean bro .... but I think it's the people that makes it so .... not the system eh ...
1. The point is there should be enough blanks so that we never have to shout bang bang bang. Let's say, for example, full load is 6x 30 rounds. The minimum amount of blanks per person should be that amount. Where the exercise involves more missions, then the number of blanks should increase. I have NEVER been issued with 6 x 30 blanks. wtf? No money? Fire some generals then you will have plenty of money.Originally posted by Icemoon:looking at it from an objective point of view,
1. isn't shouting bang bang bang to indicate your position when you ran out of blanks? unless you have better ways to do that?
2. why run at 0730-0800. if you agree that running is important to maintain fitness, then please suggest a good time for running. 1200 with the sun above your head?
3. I suppose the shout and sing is for cadence and keeping your spirits high, though personally I think it is quite wayang. It is SUPER WAYANG when army boys sing along east coast park!
I have to agree on the last bit of your first point .... it's obscene the amount of waste that goes on in the SAF ... and I'm not talking about things like the wayang at the cook houses every day ..... have you seen the catering at some functions for senior brass ? ... after major CPXs ? ..... why the hell the brass have to drink wine to celebrate end of exercise I have no idea ... but that certainly left a bad taste in my mouth ... brass get to drink wine, and grunts get to shout "bang bang bang" during field ex, and get squeezed for donations from their monthly pittance so some crabs get to look good to the stars .....Originally posted by lwflee:1. The point is there should be enough blanks so that we never have to shout bang bang bang. Let's say, for example, full load is 6x 30 rounds. The minimum amount of blanks per person should be that amount. Where the exercise involves more missions, then the number of blanks should increase. I have NEVER been issued with 6 x 30 blanks. wtf? No money? Fire some generals then you will have plenty of money.
2. The problem is the notion that you must run at 0730 - 0800. When there are so many people coming into camp. Why not 0700? Why not 0900? Logically, we should avoid running at 0730 - 0800 precisely because everyone arrives at work at the time. All the cars moving about cannot be good for health/safety. The logical concluision then, is that it must be a wayang exercise.
SpecOps - don't get so worked up .....Originally posted by SpecOps87:So you guys are telling me that it boils down to $$ and Cents? Then damn it...if there's any conflict, I don't have to risk casualties. All I have to do is to get some money and distribute them amongst the troops in the SAF and that's it. They will just dump their arms.
And also, stop harping on the issue that I do not noe since I have not served. The thing is, if you have this attitude for 2yrs while u are serving, and u start working in society, are you saying that as long as you did your work and you get your monthly pay, that's the end of your responsibility? What I'm really concerned with is, if you wanna do something, put ur heart to it, make it a good one. If not DON'T BOTHER!!! Its the work attitude and the effort that one puts in. And you harp that the 2 friggin years of your time is waste? Tink about this, if during this 2years of service, never for a single moment have you felt proud for what you have done in contributing to the Nation for your 2years? No matter what vocation, storeman, clerk or whatever, its essential that you carry out your task and accomplish them with PRIDE.
Didnt you read the earlier post on people not getting the vocation they want? So why should they bother doing something they dont want to do? Its like being forced to eat shit. You dont like that and you wouldnt want to be forced into doing it right?Originally posted by SpecOps87:So you guys are telling me that it boils down to $$ and Cents? Then damn it...if there's any conflict, I don't have to risk casualties. All I have to do is to get some money and distribute them amongst the troops in the SAF and that's it. They will just dump their arms.
And also, stop harping on the issue that I do not noe since I have not served. The thing is, if you have this attitude for 2yrs while u are serving, and u start working in society, are you saying that as long as you did your work and you get your monthly pay, that's the end of your responsibility? What I'm really concerned with is, if you wanna do something, put ur heart to it, make it a good one. If not DON'T BOTHER!!! Its the work attitude and the effort that one puts in. And you harp that the 2 friggin years of your time is waste? Tink about this, if during this 2years of service, never for a single moment have you felt proud for what you have done in contributing to the Nation for your 2years? No matter what vocation, storeman, clerk or whatever, its essential that you carry out your task and accomplish them with PRIDE.
This is bullshit logic, I'm afraid.Originally posted by SpecOps87:If you wanna complain that 400 is little, it is. But you have to look at it that it is afterall an allowance. Those indonesian maids work here for 2-3yrs, get 240 a mth, kena abuse, eat grass and all that...does the SAF do that to you? Why don't u guys think of it this way, what is the price of freedom? What is the price of having to be ready 24/7 a year?
1. Do they issue us with so many magazines in the first place? I remember having dummy mags and grenades.Originally posted by lwflee:1. The point is there should be enough blanks so that we never have to shout bang bang bang. Let's say, for example, full load is 6x 30 rounds. The minimum amount of blanks per person should be that amount. Where the exercise involves more missions, then the number of blanks should increase. I have NEVER been issued with 6 x 30 blanks. wtf? No money? Fire some generals then you will have plenty of money.
2. The problem is the notion that you must run at 0730 - 0800. When there are so many people coming into camp. Why not 0700? Why not 0900? Logically, we should avoid running at 0730 - 0800 precisely because everyone arrives at work at the time. All the cars moving about cannot be good for health/safety. The logical concluision then, is that it must be a wayang exercise.
I think you are living in a utopian society.Originally posted by SpecOps87:And also, stop harping on the issue that I do not noe since I have not served. The thing is, if you have this attitude for 2yrs while u are serving, and u start working in society, are you saying that as long as you did your work and you get your monthly pay, that's the end of your responsibility? What I'm really concerned with is, if you wanna do something, put ur heart to it, make it a good one. If not DON'T BOTHER!!! Its the work attitude and the effort that one puts in. And you harp that the 2 friggin years of your time is waste? Tink about this, if during this 2years of service, never for a single moment have you felt proud for what you have done in contributing to the Nation for your 2years? No matter what vocation, storeman, clerk or whatever, its essential that you carry out your task and accomplish them with PRIDE.
well i am new here and i wouldnt want to piss ppl off.. i serve NS for 2 1/2 years as infantry SC . it sucks by the way, got whacked in BMT, crawled till my elbows bleed, officers blame me for my unperforming men.Originally posted by SpecOps87:So you guys are telling me that it boils down to $$ and Cents? Then damn it...if there's any conflict, I don't have to risk casualties. All I have to do is to get some money and distribute them amongst the troops in the SAF and that's it. They will just dump their arms.
well said. every vocation has its pro's and con's. But true indeed. No matter how slack, fcuk up, or just tiring a vocation is....one should never abandon their job scope. everyone has its role to play. and i think that is the greatest pride one could ever have. To be in charge of one's own responsibilities in the SAF....Originally posted by Prince_Valiant:well i am new here and i wouldnt want to piss ppl off.. i serve NS for 2 1/2 years as infantry SC . it sucks by the way, got whacked in BMT, crawled till my elbows bleed, officers blame me for my unperforming men.
i complained all the time so did my fellow specs. but we did not shirk our responsibility. we just did it.. who the hell would like to charge Bajau or E-shape knoll on a Saturday when the others rest at home... who would want to walk up and down 7 sister knoll and climb Mt Biang in Brunei, and who the hell want to be freezing up in Taiwan or where ever the army decide to train us. the bottom line is you dont have to like it, you just do it. the majority of the army will bitch and whine. from commando to clerk. but i dun think most of us will desert our post just because i have a fcuked up superior or i burnt my weekend previously. i understand you havent enlisted yet. when you enlist you will see a side of the Military that the posters or the open house or 3G commercial wont show you.
Er since you are so on, i suggest you sign on as regular lor. Why don't you? And if got no pride and no faith, then why dun u think about WHY there is no pride and no faith? Remember, alot of NSF are in the army not because they WANT to, but because they HAVE to.Originally posted by SpecOps87:I do not have a maid in the first place. And also, its stupid for me to employ a maid to serve NS on my behalf. I mean hell...when you guys who have served or are serving bitch about being in there, low pay and all that, and you see those wise ass who doesn't have to serve, you complain. What for? Cuz u want them to suffer what you didn't like in the 1st place?Its plain childish, to be frank it would actually be bad to have those highly motivated ones and those who take pride in their work to be downplayed by the few who have no pride nor faith in the system which has kept us safe for the past 40yrs and 9mths!
And yes, i totally agree that many do not want to, and they are serving as they have to. But don't you think its pretty selfish to think that way? The least that can be done is to change their mindset. And yes, this is the military, not some democratic organization, but the thing is, I've seen and heard of people who when tasked with completing an assignment, unless it has some benefits to them, they will have this mentality of "U ask me do, I got do better then never do" sorta mentality. I once spoke to this 3SG from 6SIR, about his duties. Yes, he had great understanding and all, but guess what he said? There are times when it gets totally boring, he justs go off to a corner and nap or chat on the phone while he is supposed to be manning the station. And personally, being in the NCC as a CLT, on certain nights as I rove to ensure the cadets are asleep, I've seen prowlers hiding below the stairwells to smoke and chat. How responsible and how much pride do they have? What if something cocks up?Originally posted by nightsky87:Er since you are so on, i suggest you sign on as regular lor. Why don't you? And if got no pride and no faith, then why dun u think about WHY there is no pride and no faith? Remember, alot of NSF are in the army not because they WANT to, but because they HAVE to.
Little boyOriginally posted by SpecOps87:So you guys are telling me that it boils down to $$ and Cents? Then damn it...if there's any conflict, I don't have to risk casualties. All I have to do is to get some money and distribute them amongst the troops in the SAF and that's it. They will just dump their arms.