x2.Originally posted by Gordonator:it's hard to take pride in the things u do if u don't enjoy doing them or u are being forced to do them. this is the case of conscripted NSFs.
while there are some NSFs who are garang and take pride in whatever they do or at least have a positive mindset and understand their responsibility. but the truth is, majority of them are as what i mentioned above, therefore it's hard to install pride if one is unmotivated.
to the sentences highlighted in red.Originally posted by SpecOps87:So you guys are telling me that it boils down to $$ and Cents? Then damn it...if there's any conflict, I don't have to risk casualties. All I have to do is to get some money and distribute them amongst the troops in the SAF and that's it. They will just dump their arms.
And also, stop harping on the issue that I do not noe since I have not served. The thing is, if you have this attitude for 2yrs while u are serving, and u start working in society, are you saying that as long as you did your work and you get your monthly pay, that's the end of your responsibility? What I'm really concerned with is, if you wanna do something, put ur heart to it, make it a good one. If not DON'T BOTHER!!! Its the work attitude and the effort that one puts in. And you harp that the 2 friggin years of your time is waste? Tink about this, if during this 2years of service, never for a single moment have you felt proud for what you have done in contributing to the Nation for your 2years? No matter what vocation, storeman, clerk or whatever, its essential that you carry out your task and accomplish them with PRIDE.
ya usually i will get good job wtf u want now f off u want more work is it?Originally posted by Gordonator:to the sentences highlighted in red.
true, we should all put in effort and heart into the things we do. but what if u find out that after all your hard work u are not given credit for it or they just take u for granted? or use their authorities and force u to do the things which they themselves should be doing. will u still take pride in doing them?
ya bunch of mother fkersOriginally posted by lwflee:Pride ah. Nah! --> Pride.
i agreed with u. nsf are always take for granted. if u heng, you will get a good OC that give u off and buy you drinks after you do things for him. if u suay, u just get a good job from him. then if u r fking suay, the work u done is not good enough for him to impress the CO, then.... u guys know lah. so what for take pride in doing things. as long the work given to u is done can liao. SAF Serve And Fark off.Originally posted by Gordonator:to the sentences highlighted in red.
true, we should all put in effort and heart into the things we do. but what if u find out that after all your hard work u are not given credit for it or they just take u for granted? or use their authorities and force u to do the things which they themselves should be doing. will u still take pride in doing them?
Would you like more pride?Originally posted by martin_lim85:ya bunch of mother fkers
yea u r right less than 4mths to freedom. last time got good oc and co greet them give u a pat at the shoulder and say some good words to bring up ur morale but now cmi arOriginally posted by freedom4ever:i agreed with u. nsf are always take for granted. if u heng, you will get a good OC that give u off and buy you drinks after you do things for him. if u suay, u just get a good job from him. then if u r fking suay, the work u done is not good enough for him to impress the CO, then.... u guys know lah. so what for take pride in doing things. as long the work given to u is done can liao. SAF Serve And Fark off.
Originally posted by lwflee:wah you siao liao
[b]1. The point is there should be enough blanks so that we never have to shout bang bang bang. Let's say, for example, full load is 6x 30 rounds. The minimum amount of blanks per person should be that amount. Where the exercise involves more missions, then the number of blanks should increase. I have NEVER been issued with 6 x 30 blanks. wtf? No money? Fire some generals then you will have plenty of money.
2. The problem is the notion that you must run at 0730 - 0800. When there are so many people coming into camp. Why not 0700? Why not 0900? Logically, we should avoid running at 0730 - 0800 precisely because everyone arrives at work at the time. All the cars moving about cannot be good for health/safety. The logical concluision then, is that it must be a wayang exercise.
yar lor .. and I think catridge pouch cannot tahan 180 rounds also.Originally posted by wd1:wah you siao liao
imagine i fire 180 blanks out of my M-16 in one exercise, i think inside will look like a chao ta coal mine alrady. i will need to sit down 2 weeks and use 2 big rolls of flannelite to clean!!
it's not a matter of SAF not willing to spend money. but if i shout BANG BANG then no need to clean my mouth. but shoot blanks then must clean rifle until like $#$^#$ like that
my own two cents about this pride thing, is that while we really end up doing everything out of lan lan and suck thumb, at the end we feel A LOT of pride at having endured and survived everything we went through. 7 days in the field! turnouts! 24k route march! countless tekan! improving 2.4 timing by 2 mins!
i may not be proud of the SAF, but im sure proud of myself for having accomplished all that. haha i just POPed yesterday =p
ORD 060208 DON'T WORRY YOUR TIME WILL COME!!
Originally posted by wd1:wah you siao liao
imagine i fire 180 blanks out of my M-16 in one exercise, i think inside will look like a chao ta coal mine alrady. i will need to sit down 2 weeks and use 2 big rolls of flannelite to clean!!
it's not a matter of SAF not willing to spend money. but if i shout BANG BANG then no need to clean my mouth. but shoot blanks then must clean rifle until like $#$^#$ like that
my own two cents about this pride thing, is that while we really end up doing everything out of lan lan and suck thumb, at the end we feel A LOT of pride at having endured and survived everything we went through. 7 days in the field! turnouts! 24k route march! countless tekan! improving 2.4 timing by 2 mins!
i may not be proud of the SAF, but im sure proud of myself for having accomplished all that. haha i just POPed yesterday =p
Of course no one likes to clean rifle. But that is part of good training and part of being a good soldier. Can't see how you can complain.Originally posted by wd1:wah you siao liao
Absolutely irrelevent. Or are SAF soldiers so stupid that they do not know how to empty ammo pouch? One tip: Carry a ziplock bag around so that you can dump your blank cartidges.Originally posted by Icemoon:yar lor .. and I think catridge pouch cannot tahan 180 rounds also.
I read somewhere that the US military during the clinton era had its soldiers shout "bang bang bang" during its training exercises, even the brits are doing it nowOriginally posted by lwflee:The problem I think lies in part in the quality of our training. I have to say that SAF military training is by and large, a load of rubbish and a waste of time. No serving soldier should EVER have to shout *bang bang bang*. Wtf?! I get the impression that training is very very low on the SAF's thing to spend money on list.
Of course, this is in stark contrast to how serious the SAF takes the business of Wayang. Why run in the morning at 7:30 -8? Why shout and sing loudly? Because that is when the bosses come to work. I fear that this is probably a taught module at OCS because officers are the foremost experts at this.
I think they call it 'leadership'.
The point is moot to people who can only think for themselves. These are the ones who'll make the most noise kpkb and curse and swear. Tunnel-vision, you see.Originally posted by SpecOps87:ASk yourselves this, where else can you be so closely bonded with people whom you were strangers just 3mths ago? Where else do you learn to trust the actions of each other as your lives may depend on it.
Again, not very pertinent. I do not care what other countries are doing. Do you think those troops like that? Fact: It is not right that there are not enough blanks being issued. It is not right that soldiers have to pretend and shout 'bang bang bang'.Originally posted by Tuki:I read somewhere that the US military during the clinton era had its soldiers shout "bang bang bang" during its training exercises, even the brits are doing it now
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2004/12/31/nbang31.xml&sSheet=/news/2004/12/31/ixhome.html . Having u seen vid of other countries armed forces personnel while they jogged in formation? They too are singing their hearts out.
Our SAF has top notch training where its needed. The problem with Pride howver is something more deeprooted and has something to do with our society as a whole.
This guy confirmed brainwashed ncc clt. Don't waste your precious time thinking about all this cos in the end, no one not even ur NS PC or PS will care about ur mindset. U wanna kena arrow ah Cheong Sua and always on the ball in NS? stay low profile better n wen eva can chao geng all u can.Originally posted by SpecOps87:ASk yourselves this, where else can you be so closely bonded with people whom you were strangers just 3mths ago? Where else do you learn to trust the actions of each other as your lives may depend on it.