Orh thanks =p The combat survival training (the one with POW) is still ongoing? How does infantry training and the later recee training come in during OCS (wocc in my case)? Coz usu after commissioning, it'll be PC tour already right?Originally posted by wuming78:yes you can. but whether in the end you become a scout PC depends also on your luck - availability.
a scout PC will go through all that his men goes through for training and as far as i can remember that is all - there are no specialised scout courses which the PC goes through but no his men (besides the scout commander course)
exactly. and i think they have restarted CST - combat survival training, albeit in a much more toned down fashion.Originally posted by saline:after u commission, u'll be posted to ur unit. after that if u are selected for the scout voc, u'll attend the scout commander course. basically u'll be an officer on course.
I had doubts abt it too hah. If chances are really low, I'd rather not go into infantry.Originally posted by saline:guys, so far has there been any female scout
If comparing Long Range Reconnaissance Patrol (LRRP) with scout, maybe the LRRPs could be better trained. However, if comparing a strike company (coy) commando (cdo) with scout (assuming that this is the group you are referring to), I would say that both are entirely different.Originally posted by casino_king:It is not comparing apples with oranges. It is comparing apples and fruits. Commando, Fruits. Scouts, Apples.
Commandos, apples and oranges.
Everything a scout platoon learns; commandos would have learnt it and more.
man go through same course as our officers and specs? how big the intake for one course?Originally posted by saline:after u commission, u'll be posted to ur unit. after that if u are selected for the scout voc, u'll attend the scout commander course. basically u'll be an officer on course.
Commander level will go for a 1.5 month RCC(Recce Comdr Course) at SMI pasir laba camp.Originally posted by DivineLightning:man go through same course as our officers and specs? how big the intake for one course?
I think recce troopers also know how to do bridge and ravine recce. Regarding riverine recce, never heard before but I suppose it would be similar to a beach recce.Originally posted by LazerLordz:They were limited to SOCE operations, bridging and riverine recce.Trainees had to undergo SMI n rudimentary SERE too.
The platoon concept was not official, just a universal term to cobble these sections together
Correct. But I'm not sure about it these days, but this was in the 70s and early 80s..Originally posted by lwflee:I think recce troopers also know how to do bridge and ravine recce. Regarding riverine recce, never heard before but I suppose it would be similar to a beach recce.
Anyway, now that I think about it, it makes some sense for Combat engineers to have some humint personnel too. Otherwise very troublesome - they will have to persuade the various COs to let them use their respective recce teams.
SAR21. Scouts supposed to run when contacted, dun need to carry too powerful weapons haha.Originally posted by DivineLightning:how about the weapons a scout platoon carry? normal platoon organic weapons (law, saw, m203, gpmg etc) or just plain sar21 for everybody?
how about the vehicals? how many jeeps and bikes per platoon and the weapons mounted on them ??
You will know when you join. Else, you don't need to know?Originally posted by DivineLightning:wad about the jeeps? dun they have gpmgs mounted on them ?
We used to carry the colt carbine. Lagi best. Only wished we could do SOC with it too.Originally posted by JerzZzzZ:SAR21. Scouts supposed to run when contacted, dun need to carry too powerful weapons haha.
Recce's fun, just hate the walking part. ;(
SOC not using carbine then meh? dun think my coy was that special to be doing that with carbine leh.Originally posted by insouciant:We used to carry the colt carbine. Lagi best. Only wished we could do SOC with it too.
Wah lao... I think I have been cheated....Originally posted by I_love_my_toilet:My SOC done with carbine.
Not much diff haha, still as shag.
Last time ATP, u use carbine or M16 for scouts/BRCs ?
in 35 SCE we have a survey platoon - we are considered the recce personnel of the unit and we get to wear jungle hats too. but we look at the ground to scout and identify crossing sites, approach routes etc in support of bridging operations. not so much to look out for enemy forces. i think our planning mostly assumes the AO to have been largely sanitized of enemy forces.Originally posted by lwflee:Anyway, now that I think about it, it makes some sense for Combat engineers to have some humint personnel too. Otherwise very troublesome - they will have to persuade the various COs to let them use their respective recce teams.