no Army Regulars with such a low PES grading have a good future in the organisation, but that is just wat i say. u can check out wat vocation u want to sign on with CMPB.Originally posted by Puutan:After my graduation from my polytechnic, i have been wondering what other jobs i could take after my national service has ended. But honestly, right now i could not even think of any other job except for being a regular in the armed forces as a possibility for my future career.
I don't really have the desire to join the private sector, i don't really see anything worthwhile in that line of work.
Right now i am a computer engineering polytechnic graduate and i have a PES grading of C1 L3. I may plan to further my studies to get a degree so that i could at least build my mental capabilities and prove to be competent in a higher academic area.
So the thing is, what kind of vocation i am suitable for with my PES grading ? Would the armed forces still allow people (if they still wish) to continue working till the maximum age of 55, as officially said in the army website ? I would like to know better how do the other regulars feel about being in the army on a full time basis.
I would like these questions to be answered because after thinking about my last topic about being a sniper is really stupid and far-fetched, and it didn't clarify my doubts at all. Thanks for helping me out.
well. it really depends on where you work in the SAF. where i am and what i am doing now, i meet a variety of people too - inside and outside SAF. of course there are no contracts to fight and customers to please, but managing projects and looking for and buying (the right) stuff for the organisation is challenging too.Originally posted by Gordonator:just to share my experience working in the private sector. It is challenging in the sense that you will get to know a lot of people, customers. and the things u do will affect whether your company gets the contract, clinch the deal and make money.
in the SAF, u don't have to worry about dealing with customers, making money etc. u just do what u are suppose to do and collect your huge paycheck every month.
some people like the satisfaction of working hard on the project, meeting up with customers and clinching the deal.
while some might not like a 8 to 6 desk job, office politics, back stabbing, dealing with hard to please superiors etc. but to tell u frankly, it's the same everywhere, including the SAF.
Another option for you, Join the French Foreign Legion. You can enquire at the French Embassy. The pay is quite good and you get to use what you have learn instead of keep training and never use wad you have learn. But be warned, you may get killed in action. They are one of the elite forces in the world, so after you finish a stint with the FFL, you can then come back to Singapore to sign on, I think they do offer better pay cause you have battle experience.That's a risky military career route, i don't consider that option.
I deduce that you are seeking more than just a job and thats why you see yourself considering a career in the army or you could be a lost sheep somewhere. But truely, your pes status is a problematic area which could likely hinder your advancement in a military environment. Like many have said, do your BMT first before coming to a decision. How about working in the civil sector since I reckon you would rate experience in life as priority more than anything else.True, i should consider that option to look for a worthwhile vocation.
Firstly i would like to ask if you have a dream.To retire from a meaningful job and live out my remaining days as a single man enjoying the simpler pleasures of life.
I'll second Gordon's suggestion that you go through BMT first before making a final decision. As much as we try to advise you on what options you have, no words will ever do justice to personal experience. And let's face it, right now you don't know enough about the SAF to make an informed decision.Ok.
Suffice to say that the SAF is something you have to experience in order to know.
I've seen people who hated the army prior to enlistment, only to end up signing on after their BMT. Likewise, I've seen people who signed on, only to end up disillusioned and regretting their decision.
Like I said earlier, there are many private companies, but there's only one SAF. Working in the SAF may end up to be a highly positive experience for you, but it may also not be. The same goes for private companies.
However, you can always find another company if you don't like the environment at a certain company. On the other hand, if you don't like the SAF, there's nothing you can do about it but endure until your bond expires.
So I suggest getting a feel of the SAF first before making a decision.
agreed.I've heard of DXOs, they are involved with improving the various aspects of the army ?
since PES C, DXO is more suitable. can work till 62.
Uniformed officer work till only 45 years old nia.
For Specialist, a 10 year contract subject to renewal.
which vocation r u interested in? now saf mostly accept pes A or B.. if u r pes C, i will tell u DUN BOTHER! the saf is now trying cut down on those pes C n below.. i noe of 2 enciks who were forced to early retirement bcos of their pes status, n they have been in the army for more den 20 yrs.. saf is a very heartless organisation.. n oso, ur ippt results r very impt too.. if u r pes C n ur ippt is not tat ideal, most prob u will find ur name in the lower echelon during ranking.. pls take note tat no matter how good is ur performance, once u fail ur ippt, u r out of the game..I'll bear your advice in mind.
SAF doesn't give any more pension after retirement.I don't share the same dream as you have described above. In this money consuming world it is good to remain prudently thifty. Even though if you earn a fat paycheck.
Would there be enough salary to do everything you've wanted to do that your life desires?
Don't forget,we only live once.
It's either you want to have a chance to experience a lifestyle of joining SICC,owning porsches,lamborghinis,living in a bungalow with swimming pool,
travelling around the world or having a routine 9-5 job subjected to draconian military laws and constant abuse of vulgarities from higher ups
Is that even enough for...children's education? travels? housing? electricity bills? supporting parents ? purchasing a car ? savings for retirement ?
Assuming a $5,000 pay.
Deducating 20% CPF,you'll be left with $4,000 in terms of salary. $800 to parents.$3,200 would be left. Deduct $1,000 for car. $2,200 left. $2,200 deduct $500 for children expenses tuition,pocket money. $400 for family expenses. $500 a month for household expenditure including aircon,furniture,sofa and renovation..you'll be left with $800...minus off utilities bills..handphone bills..all other credit card bills..how much would you be left for retirement & children's education?
Don't get a military career.If you want to be rich,join the private sector.
Be an entrepreneur.Others listen to you.
Don't tell me that you are not fated for a rich lifestyle.
The worse thing is not having a dream.You have a potential.
You have to make the best use out of it.
$1,000 a month could only get you a car which most people is driving on the roads.Be different.
You need to be a Green Card holder first, or have a pending INS application/refuge status.Originally posted by acwire_2125:There is another option for you, The US Marines. They do recruit Foreign people into their ranks. You will serve in the Marines for a duration before becoming a US citizen. Their pay is definitly higher than that of the SAF and their job scope is wider.
Yeah, the key to it is to qualify for OCS. And they won't take in PES C cadets.Originally posted by pwnz0r:From my understanding, for officers, once they serve a combat term as a captain, it doesn't matter if they downgrade.
Not too sure, but I've seen COs/RSMs that are PES C and they still continue on their career in the army.
Being PES A/B seems to be critical during your younger years, perhaps until you reach 30+.
i see. since u are PES C, BMT should be shorter. 7 weeks instead of 10 weels (plus PTP).Originally posted by Puutan:21st July
I have a suggestion. How about joining DSTA or Temasek-linked companies with strong emphasis in defense business?Originally posted by Puutan:After my graduation from my polytechnic, i have been wondering what other jobs i could take after my national service has ended. But honestly, right now i could not even think of any other job except for being a regular in the armed forces as a possibility for my future career.
I don't really have the desire to join the private sector, i don't really see anything worthwhile in that line of work.
Right now i am a computer engineering polytechnic graduate and i have a PES grading of C1 L3. I may plan to further my studies to get a degree so that i could at least build my mental capabilities and prove to be competent in a higher academic area.
So the thing is, what kind of vocation i am suitable for with my PES grading ? Would the armed forces still allow people (if they still wish) to continue working till the maximum age of 55, as officially said in the army website ? I would like to know better how do the other regulars feel about being in the army on a full time basis.
i heard the AMO (diploma qualification) is closing down.Originally posted by jianfish9:Plz join enlist first and understand what it is all about before you make that choice..
The military may not be what you think it is at all and if you sign on remember, its 10yrs at least....
I also hope to advise you that plz sign on only as an officer and if you can get a degree..... I heard(for Air force at least) that they no longer want poly grads signing on as an officer.... They will only accept you if you can qualify for a degree..