doubt so. only platoon sergeants are promoted to 2SGs. unless it's local rank, ORD then turn back to 3SG.Originally posted by will4:Anybody can confirm is it true admin spec can be promoted to second sergeant?
Can, if he is a Project Specialist by appointment. Or like a friend of mine, COPA promoted to 2SG after Aceh ops. Admin Spec appointment but Signal Spec vocation.Originally posted by Gordonator:doubt so. only platoon sergeants are promoted to 2SGs. unless it's local rank, ORD then turn back to 3SG.
How's the content like? Paperwork stuff? Just for interest.Originally posted by martin_lim85:anyway that bloody course is total useless one le. i didnt go also waste of time
i never go but heard from friends saying teachings of military formal letter writing, leave and bla bla bla its just crash course of admin work but i just want to have the SMP pin and badge for my no3 and 4Originally posted by exigent:How's the content like? Paperwork stuff? Just for interest.
Nope, all NSFs serve 2 year terms.Originally posted by exigent:Those who go for such courses have to serve 6 months more?
By the way, what's SMP?
it depends, excerise, sit chinook, hide in bushes go deployment and take picturesOriginally posted by Gordonator:martin, what occasion do u wear no.4?
Last two were what I did during my last weeks towards ORD leave.Originally posted by martin_lim85:it depends, excerise, sit chinook, hide in bushes go deployment and take pictures
i took my pic with chinookOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Last two were what I did during my last weeks towards ORD leave.
FMN Safety Audit team photographer. Fun man..
u pes E still need to go outfield hide in bushes meh??Originally posted by martin_lim85:it depends, excerise, sit chinook, hide in bushes go deployment and take pictures
not really outfield lah i didnt take my sbo:X excerise period so siam sai kang so hide insideOriginally posted by monoslayer:u pes E still need to go outfield hide in bushes meh??
Okay thanks for the information everyone. Learnt much new things todayOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Nope, all NSFs serve 2 year terms.
SMP = School of Manpower.
If you are in Gombak Base, there is little chance for you to go for the course. You have a lot of DXO Admin Supervisors above you already..
these admin course is no factor lah dun thinkthere things to chiong. pm me ur department lehOriginally posted by exigent:Okay thanks for the information everyone. Learnt much new things today
One last question (a hypothetical one) before I head off to be - would the MO at MMI be able to influence decisions pertaining to such courses or would that lead to more problem instead?
hmm, nope. These are not courses that have much excluding factors.. but you'd best ask a MO or ex-MO here.. try PMing Oxford Mushroom if he's around.Originally posted by exigent:Okay thanks for the information everyone. Learnt much new things today
One last question (a hypothetical one) before I head off to bed - would the MO at MMI be able to influence decisions pertaining to such courses or would that lead to more problem instead?
EDIT: left out the 'd' in bed...too sleepy
I would also..sitting in the office bores meOriginally posted by martin_lim85:if u let me choose chiong sua between admin i would choose chiong sua
Interesting..how long ago was that?Originally posted by octega:During my time, there was one PES E personnel who kenna to become Admin Sup and was sent for course. Mainly I think he is a top student during his JC. The downside for him is he is already ear marked to come back for reservist as chief clerk. (I remember he was complaining like hell when he heard out WO chief clerk said it. Imagine, all PES E in our unit, ORD=ROD, he ORD become reservist)
Yep, as someone has mentioned, if the dept already has an admin spec, not likely to have one unless the admin spec is about to ORD. (BTW, the next taking over is also a top student in JC, so I guess choosing admin spec is more or less based on qualification)
Admin Specs are usually scholar material who didn't get their SAFOS or PSC due to PES Status which kept them out of OCS.Originally posted by octega:During my time, there was one PES E personnel who kenna to become Admin Sup and was sent for course. Mainly I think he is a top student during his JC. The downside for him is he is already ear marked to come back for reservist as chief clerk. (I remember he was complaining like hell when he heard out WO chief clerk said it. Imagine, all PES E in our unit, ORD=ROD, he ORD become reservist)
Yep, as someone has mentioned, if the dept already has an admin spec, not likely to have one unless the admin spec is about to ORD. (BTW, the next taking over is also a top student in JC, so I guess choosing admin spec is more or less based on qualification)
Around 2001 to 2002. The taking over was sent for course when I was about to ORD. The funny thing is before these 2 admin specs, there was no admin spec in our unit for quite along time even when I entered the unit in early 2000 (the biggest admin ppl is out Chief clerks (CC), a 1WO and 2 other DXOs).Originally posted by exigent:Interesting..how long ago was that?
I sure the xiao mei mei at orchard road are much more chio than the ones inside camp lor.Originally posted by Kyoy:Hey honestly, there is something good about the Admin Sup course.
That is, you will get to see alot of DXO chio bus. You can even partner them in group discussions or computing classes if you know how to sit strategically. In my class itself, there were 4 or 5 chio bus. You won't get to see that many in the asa course though.
You will also get to attend alot of "elementary level" computing lessons using microsoft office (open office now i believe?)