Sign on as a man lor, problem solved! Always taking instructions, never giving any! And no paperwork, just chiong only!Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Ask yourself this:
Are you able to stomach taking instructions and orders from a younger green horn officer 5 years down the road.
No?
Then dun sign the dotted line. Army career is not always unit life too. There are paper work to do as well. Sh*t-loads to be exact.
Better work hard and go into business then. The Army is not a place to earn money for little "investment".Originally posted by Gordonator:from the 1st post, we can tell that the threadstarter seems more interested in the money instead of passion towards the job. that's not a very good mindset.
You go to army first then say lah. At least BMT. Otherwise how you know whether you will fit in or not.Originally posted by Agenda:I know got Guards, Armour, Signals, Commandos, Infatry and what else? Operating the arty seems fun
and when you sign-on, besides the basic 2k++ pay.. Do the govt feed your bank acct with more money like some govt jobs?
That would be detrimental to recruitment. How many people would sign on if they went in 'eyes open'?Originally posted by Gordonator:somehow this brings me to an another interestig point.
if people like the threadstarter thinks of signing up even before enlisting and have no idea at all how's life in the amry is like? how would they know they have made the right choice? or is the formation, vocation they sign up for is the suitable one for them? this is important considering that many do sign on before enlistment.
maybe SAF can has this probation period whereby all would-be-regulars enlist as mono-intake into their respective formation and undergo BMT 1st. after that, a second interview will be conducted to see whether they really want to sign the contact or not.
The perennial problem between quality and numbers.Originally posted by lwflee:That would be detrimental to recruitment. How many people would sign on if they went in 'eyes open'?
Esp a problem in Infantry. Esp Infantry spec.
I'll tell you why sometimes, cos often they need the moneyOriginally posted by Gordonator:somehow this brings me to an another interestig point.
if people like the threadstarter thinks of signing up even before enlisting and have no idea at all how's life in the amry is like? how would they know they have made the right choice? or is the formation, vocation they sign up for is the suitable one for them? this is important considering that many do sign on before enlistment.
maybe SAF can has this probation period whereby all would-be-regulars enlist as mono-intake into their respective formation and undergo BMT 1st. after that, a second interview will be conducted to see whether they really want to sign the contact or not.
Spot on.Originally posted by Fatum:I'll tell you why sometimes, cos often they need the money
my father teaches in a certain post secondary institution, and he tells me, every time some boy gets some girl pregnant, he knows the army has a new regular prospect liao ...
or those chaps from poly will know ... the lure of a new crotch rocket or a bunch of pocket money can override people sometimes, though there are some that really needed the money at home ...
some of course, a very very few of them, actually signed on for the love of country ... patriotism if you may ... such a dirty word nowadays, unfortunately ...
might as well civil defense.Originally posted by gnoik:I tink sign on in the police will be better than signing on in the army.
Do u all agree?
no i dont agree.Originally posted by gnoik:I tink sign on in the police will be better than signing on in the army.
Do u all agree?
Precisely cause if the person signed on, if down the road never liked it , had to compensate the service if he planned to leave.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Better work hard and go into business then. The Army is not a place to earn money for little "investment".
what you posted! was 100% true! although, not all green horn offiicer are kuku! but... i did came across alot of such officier!Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Ask yourself this:
Are you able to stomach taking instructions and orders from a younger green horn officer 5 years down the road.
No?
Then dun sign the dotted line. Army career is not always unit life too. There are paper work to do as well. Sh*t-loads to be exact.