Yeah. That means the directives are correct la.Originally posted by Eikei:CLTs do not need to be saluted.
But 2LT and above with NCC epaulettes are to be accorded equal status within SAF camps, ie saluted. I read in some GOM somewhere... kind silly.
I am talking about NCC officers. Not CLT's.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Saluting them? You've got to be kidding.
Why should we have to salute an NCC officer unless he is on some SAF business or in an SAF-related capacity.
The punk's probably not known the meaning of real army life, and if he tries to pull that kind of stunt, I'd make sure his CLT ranks get shoved up into his mouth.
Perhaps what they meant was NCC officers with appointments like Commandant NCC, or some Staff Officer appt with equivalent to SAF posts, and are not cadet officers.
hmm i think greeting is more than enough liao. think that GOM has revised it liao baOriginally posted by mhcampboy:I am talking about NCC officers. Not CLT's.
Any teacher in charge of NCC, regardless of his rank in the SAF, is a NCC officer so I've heard.It's either 2LT (NCC) or LTA(NCC).Originally posted by insouciant:I believe a lot of the NCC officers are NS officers who are teachers hence given the role of being the teacher-in-charge of the cadets, I could be wrong.
If some pimply CLT tried to get me, a specialist, or even one my LCPs to salute him, I'd take his left emulette and shove it into his mouth, then shove his right emulette up where the sun don't shine and let hi run crying back to his mommy.
Thankfully, I think most of the CLTs (at least the ones I've met, altho I'm sure there are idiots out there) have had better sense to recognize that NS is a different game from NCC.
Erhhh... There are quite a few SAF officers who get seconded to NCC. Hence they are dual-roled.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Any teacher in charge of NCC, regardless of his rank in the SAF, is a NCC officer so I've heard.It's either 2LT (NCC) or LTA(NCC).
Had a discussion regarding this with a retired NCC Officer.Originally posted by insouciant:Erhhh... There are quite a few SAF officers who get seconded to NCC. Hence they are dual-roled.
But it's a good question to go find out more.
But aiyah, at the end of the day... how many of us actually salute an officer outside the parade square or formal events anymore?![]()
Very confusing lehz.Originally posted by malcolmloke:Had a discussion regarding this with a retired NCC Officer.
My understanding is that teachers that are commissioned officers in the SAF will hold a NCC rank equivalent to that rank. In other words, if a LTA(NS) signs on with MOE and subsequently be in charged of NCC in a school, upon completion of his NCC Officers' Course ( Not too sure of the exact name of the course), he will be commissioned as a LTA (NCC), while teachers that were non SAF commissioned officers ( eg, WOSE, females teachers or teachers that served NS in SPF/SCDF) will hold the rank of 2LT(NCC).
Likewise, if a NCC teacher who is holding LTA(NS) and LTA(NCC) ranks gets promoted to Cpt(NS), his NCC rank will be emplaced to that rank as well.
However, if one gets a NCC rank promotion, that will not affect the NS rank, for obvious reasons.
The few SAF Officers that were seconded to NCC, to the best of my understanding are usually NSF 2LTs. The other comissioned SAF is usually Commandant NCC. The other SAF personnels are non officers. (Any NCC personnel can confirm this?)
Huh? Wat new tag?Originally posted by gnoik:Funny lehz, i still see some not wearing the new tag.
Not compulsory still arh?
hahahaha.. in China is soldier..come to Singapore only can be construction worker..Originally posted by Shotgun:I believe they said "uniform" not just one portion of attire. Unless u wear ur full no.4, with rank, name on it, i think there should be no problem. I did see a Chinese construction worker wearing their China Army Camouflage in Singapore once... wanted to take a pic of him sia. hahah.
"WE'VE BEEN INVADED!!"
i just don't like ncc boys wearing SAF's uniform. esp the number 1. and the worse part is that in the ncc parade, some of them carry the sword! knn!Originally posted by insouciant:I think I more pissed with the people who haven't gone thru NS / sign on who wear the uniform as causual wear as they haven't earned "the right" to wear the uniform yet.
Most of the people who have gone thru NS/sign on wouldn't want to wear the uniform period if they can help it.![]()
but their sword is ncc, somemore draw out one right? y so angry its nthOriginally posted by saline:i just don't like ncc boys wearing SAF's uniform. esp the number 1. and the worse part is that in the ncc parade, some of them carry the sword! knn!
wah. anyway when they get the real SAF training i think they will cryOriginally posted by saline:i have my own. they did not earn it...