good luck for your future IPPTOriginally posted by Gordonator:ORD loh.
ORDing LOR!!!~Originally posted by Gordonator:ORD loh.
I presume you are referring to the top brass.Originally posted by Ponders:FYI, such a unit has already been formed.
But in SAF history, they were never sent to a "hot zone"....
want to look good, but don't want to do the dirty work.
No i am not refering to top brass..I personnally feel that's because S'pore wants to have a good relationship with the Oz (SIA vying for precious air route from Oz) & also as usual to buy some peace from Indonesia.
Remember East Timor?
That's a Unit sent to do a peacekeeping mission.
It's a company sized mainly from the same unit with a few support personnel gathered from other units.
And they are way out of the hot zone. and some town away from the action
The soldiers on the ground don't have the power to CHOOSE where they want to be deployed. So it's not really fair to them if you say that they wanted to look good but didn't want shit to happen.Originally posted by Ponders:No i am not refering to top brass..
Remember East Timor?
That's a Unit sent to do a peacekeeping mission.
It's a company sized mainly from the same unit with a few support personnel gathered from other units.
And they are way out of the hot zone. and some town away from the action.
i had a friend in that deployment, it was voluntary basis.Originally posted by Hellraiza:The soldiers on the ground don't have the power to CHOOSE where they want to be deployed. So it's not really fair to them if you say that they wanted to look good but didn't want shit to happen.
I like your reasoning. If only the bigshots would concurOriginally posted by nismoS132:yeah i meant something like that, an entire unit dedicated to peacekeeping or observation duties. like what we currently have, but maybe more dedicated, more active, a purely voluntary service. there're people who're signing on because they 'like the life of a soldier', rather than let them stay in a unit and rot and turn disillusioned, why not collect these guys and put them to good use. they'll earn real battle experience, and we'll no longer be just a paper army.
and wtf is with the idiots shouting ORD loh. got relation bo? use your brain think leh.
Errm.. this unit in question (well everyone knows what unit it is, just that it is not an Officially publicized unit, so i will not mention the unit's name).Originally posted by Hellraiza:The soldiers on the ground don't have the power to CHOOSE where they want to be deployed. So it's not really fair to them if you say that they wanted to look good but didn't want shit to happen.
perhaps u will like to be more polite when choosing your words. if u disagree with anything, the least u can do is sound it out nicely. don't take things so seriously and get worked up over petty little things.Originally posted by nismoS132:and wtf is with the idiots shouting ORD loh. got relation bo? use your brain think leh.
YES i know that, my friend. What i MEANT was they don't have power to choose which part of the theater will they be deployed IN. GET the difference?Originally posted by Ponders:Errm.. this unit in question (well everyone knows what unit it is, just that it is not an Officially publicized unit, so i will not mention the unit's name).
Anyway, this unit is formed for doctrine "experimentation" and also peacekeeping missions. The ENTIRE unit is made up of regulars (no exceptions).
So if you are a regular and sign on to this unit, you are volunteering for the peacekeeping job.
yah i know it was voluntary. But the AO is not determined by them, understand what i'm trying to say? What i'm trying to say is, don't think our soldiers are not up to it when the shit hits the roof. The peacekeepers went through hell for their ramp-up training not because they were expecting beaches and bikinis in East Timor.Originally posted by nismoS132:i had a friend in that deployment, it was voluntary basis.
K sorry for the earlier misunderstanding.Originally posted by Hellraiza:yah i know it was voluntary. But the AO is not determined by them, understand what i'm trying to say? What i'm trying to say is, don't think our soldiers are not up to it when the shit hits the roof. The peacekeepers went through hell for their ramp-up training not because they were expecting beaches and bikinis in East Timor.
i believe the correct term is peace enforcement...at least, that's what i was taught.Originally posted by LazerLordz:We have the structure for offensive peacekeeping, but I would love to see greater UN involvement by our guys, voluntary of course.
We learn something new everyday.Originally posted by Hellraiza:i believe the correct term is peace enforcement...at least, that's what i was taught.
r u sure u r allow to say out the unit's name? during my time it was still a classified unit.. perharps it have been de-classified liao.. Always Die First! Another Dumb Farker!Originally posted by index81:What do u mean by should SG form a UN peacekeeping? SG already got a unit involved in UN peacekeeping. That is A21DF Army 21 decisive force. Basically heard that they were from guards camp wearing guards, but beret is blue ONLY if you are selected to go for peacekeeping tour.