u must say for wat purpose mah..Originally posted by BadzMaro:Let me ask u... do u guys wanna go to Lebanon ? he he
Well, peace-keeping lo.. Join UN peace-keeping force most likely will be peace keeping o. But at a hostile region where u dun have much enforcement capabilities , how ? U notice how lots of Blue Helmets become cannon fodder right ?Originally posted by monoslayer:u must say for wat purpose mah..
but now its a war between 2 countries leh.. wat role do u tink a UN peacekeeper can b?Originally posted by BadzMaro:Well, peace-keeping lo.. Join UN peace-keeping force most likely will be peace keeping o. But at a hostile region where u dun have much enforcement capabilities , how ? U notice how lots of Blue Helmets become cannon fodder right ?
unless u are US UN.... they tend to pick off the other countries ones.
Well.. arm them with the biggest baddest weapons n pound them both until they tiam tiam.. that should be what the UN's Security councils role. In case when 2 countries refuse to stop.. they move in set up base smack in the middle 'enforece' the resolutions to the word. he heOriginally posted by monoslayer:but now its a war between 2 countries leh.. wat role do u tink a UN peacekeeper can b?
u wanna start a WWIII??Originally posted by BadzMaro:Well.. arm them with the biggest baddest weapons n pound them both until they tiam tiam.. that should be what the UN's Security councils role. In case when 2 countries refuse to stop.. they move in set up base smack in the middle 'enforece' the resolutions to the word. he he
U start one so u can end it ma right ? at least u got the United Nations man.. sounds better then a Coalition of the willing , of The Arabs... or ASEAN ma... put in a multi-countried troops..Originally posted by monoslayer:u wanna start a WWIII??
but its a war between 2 countries.. i dun c wat effective role the UN peacekeepers can play.. the last thing ppl wanna c is tat countries all over the world take side wif either one of them..Originally posted by BadzMaro:U start one so u can end it ma right ? at least u got the United Nations man.. sounds better then a Coalition of the willing , of The Arabs... or ASEAN ma... put in a multi-countried troops..
Coz the UN now is weak .. pissy @ss weak man. It cant even enforce ANYTHING! lol.. its time they flex some muscle la.. or else no country gonna give a damn about ur UN man..
thats why i say.. take NO sides.. n enforce the will of the Security Council ~Originally posted by monoslayer:but its a war between 2 countries.. i dun c wat effective role the UN peacekeepers can play.. the last thing ppl wanna c is tat countries all over the world take side wif either one of them..
It's not de-classified.Originally posted by monoslayer:r u sure u r allow to say out the unit's name? during my time it was still a classified unit.. perharps it have been de-classified liao.. Always Die First! Another Dumb Farker!
hellraiza is "Another Dumb Farker" rite?? lol.. anyway, i heard they r not offer 2nd contract one.. my fren 4 yr term is ending next yr.. now he tinking wat to do after ord..Originally posted by Hellraiza:It's not de-classified.
True, it might seem dumb to join such a physically demanding unit where going for ops is a real possibility. But then again, there are people who find satisfaction where those lacking find fear.
Seems like you "hear" alot of things! I think you can contribute to G2 Army!Originally posted by monoslayer:hellraiza is "Another Dumb Farker" rite?? lol.. anyway, i heard they r not offer 2nd contract one.. my fren 4 yr term is ending next yr.. now he tinking wat to do after ord..
This is similar to what I've heard, the naval patrols off Basra are not chicken feed as many might want to think.Originally posted by iSpeak:My cousin is a NDU Warrant officer who was part of the naval contingent Singapore sent to Iraq. He was onboard the Landing Ship Tank (LST) that was dispatched, I believe it was the RSS Endurance. The mission of RSS Endurance was to protect the crucial Al-Basra oil terminal.
I have gleaned insights from his operational tour of duty there. He and fellow NDU divers would regularly go out out on the Fast Craft Equipment Personnel (FCEP) boats to check local vessels bypassing the area for security reasons. Obviously, this is not just another routine Coast Guard job one might expect the police here to do against intruding Banglas. His MP5 submachine gun was locked, loaded and live, ready for any troublemakers when they board vessels for cargo inspection.The operations are real-time and real-life. Can you imagine if they came across suicidal insurgents on boats, intent on a one way trip to blow up the oil depots or at the very least, sabotage it? It would cause major damage to Iraqi infrastructure.
So there you have it, I believe Singapore troops have played a small part in this Gulf war, a small capacity in the rebuilding of Iraq. The information I provided above is to my knowledge, public domain.
To partly answer the question of exposure to combat some have been clamouring about, I will try not to step beyond the realm of public domain - mods please delete anything deemed unsuitable. My NDU cousin has a pretty big mouth hehe. Well, if one were to use logic to link the dots, do not forget that the Singapore Armed Forces maintains very close links with that of foreign militaries such as the US and say, Israel. Will it be so unfathomable if Singaporean combat observers have tagged along for say, Merkava tank rides in Gaza to witness Israeli military action against Hamas or Fatah or whoever first-hand. Or perhaps, hung behind US infantry combat patrols in various Iraqi cities.
I truly believe that the SAF is not so virgin to combat scenarios as they would like the public to think. Imagine the public outcry if one of our blood were to die in a crossfire in an event that had no relevance to our national security, especially if they were not there in a peacekeeping capacity but rather as.. peaceful observers.
I heard more than him, can I be the Div G2?Originally posted by Hellraiza:Seems like you "hear" alot of things! I think you can contribute to G2 Army!
Anyway, it's your "friend", not you who's inside. So, i don't need to say so much to you. End of story.
Originally posted by Hellraiza:Seems like you "hear" alot of things! I think you can contribute to G2 Army!
Anyway, it's your "friend", not you who's inside. So, i don't need to say so much to you. End of story.
Originally posted by LazerLordz:I heard more than him, can I be the Div G2?
You laugh some more, I'll make you Sergeant Major of the Forum.Originally posted by monoslayer:
nah. we're gonna use you for more, how shall i say, "covert" operations.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I heard more than him, can I be the Div G2?