wahhh.......this one is damn jialat...Originally posted by Master -_-:1993 ROC...
Landrover signal antenna crosses an electrical cable line and the whole landrover was "electrocuted" Driver + V.Comm + 2 signallers burnt alive... literally charred..
i think this story is told to all drivers and bikees before they go to roc for training... very familiar lehOriginally posted by Hellraiza:wahhh.......this one is damn jialat...
Rite. Heard many times before.Originally posted by TVaddict:i think this story is told to all drivers and bikees before they go to roc for training... very familiar leh
No, i doubt ponders is talking about this incident, which actually happened in 1990, as he mentioned of a malfunction and a crash in straits of johor.Originally posted by dork3d:That's the 1994 incident involving two F16A which collided in midair over South China Sea... One F16A managed to fly back to Singapore while the other clashed with the pilot ejected safely and rescued...
It actually happen only last year...but not revealed to the pressOriginally posted by eurofighter:No, i doubt ponders is talking about this incident, which actually happened in 1990, as he mentioned of a malfunction and a crash in straits of johor.
This isnt also riken's incident as the other viper involved in this 1990s incident was banged up pretty badly and not just a 'tail chip-off' and i seriously doubt zoe tay's husband is involved at all.
42 SAR? multiple bronco lang gar isit?Originally posted by agnelli:well this was what i heard from 1 of my sgts...a bronco overturned during an exercise overseas...everyone in the rear cabin was critically injured
Why was the officer discharged? I think downgraded Regulars are given the option of continuing the contract under "dimmed" career path or they are offered earlier retirement.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Met an ex- LTA in 46SAR mess, chatted with him and realised he was discharged becos his leg was crushed by the SM1 cuppola while the gunner was traversing. He was really careless to put his leg in there whle standing atop.
Met another tankee from 41 whose leg was a 1/4 crushed by a reversing M113 track. Luckily he's ok.
Also during my time in Gedong, this OC Cpt was killed during an exercise in Wallaby. He was the Tank Comm in this Bionix when he hit the branch while the driver was cruising on high speed. Died on the spot. He was given a posthumous promo to MAJ. Sighz.....they promoted a dead body.
My friend got his finger almost severed when he tried to fix something in a Bionix. He's ok and still has his contract.
Me got 2 stitches on my forehead when a big T-Bar snapped becos I used too much force while fixing back the road wheel onto the SM1.....Could have been blind.
And the list goes on and on......moral of the story is.....be careful in the SAF. When u see some "kiasee" regulars in the SAF, there's a reason behind it.
Anymore???
Well, I forgot abt the details though. He has a contract and now because of that accident, he is compensated and hence SAF discharges liability? Possible.Originally posted by Ponders:Why was the officer discharged? I think downgraded Regulars are given the option of continuing the contract under "dimmed" career path or they are offered earlier retirement.
I know an officer who got into a personal accident (non-training), he lost his leg and got PES E, he is allowed to carry on contract.
This happened to my friend, but it was in 1992.Originally posted by dork3d:Me also heard from my brother about some Armour accident happened in 1995 while he was with 41 when a AMX13 SM1 overturned and crushed the tank commander as he was standing in his cuppola... My brother said his body was severed into two parts and he was one of the medics on site to extract and pack his remains into the bodypack...
it is called "veh overturn drill". button up is jump into the veh and close the lids.Originally posted by Singer high:This happened to my friend, but it was in 1992.
TCs are trained to "button up" quickly in emergencies like this, but it happened too quickly for him. Broke his neck.
My friend ever told me there's a story about the AMX13 tank display at the front after entering the gate of Sungei Gedong but that was donkey years ago liao... Any Gedongrians care to share here?Originally posted by saline:it is called "veh overturn drill". button up is jump into the veh and close the lids.
anyway, do u guys know the story abt the amx13 outside Sungei Gedong Cmp?
somthing like remind ppl to treat the tank wif respect.
Haha...ppl from sungei gedong esp from combat know and seen alot of accidents...to me my life at 46...so far see quite a no. of accidents...but none of them is fatal...lucky me....and having seen all those accident...i am very worry about the purpose of the overturn drill...Is the drill very useful...As a MG gunner alw start on the M113 with PC and SC...ever one day the M113 overturn...I think we all will die...We will fly out of the veh before we could jump in....Originally posted by saline:it is called "veh overturn drill". button up is jump into the veh and close the lids.
When did this happen?Originally posted by amortifiedpenguin:BMTC 2 G6PD deficient recruit dies after eating wrong malaria pills.
That was the SM1 reportedly to be responsible for 2 deaths. Both overturned. Since then, I heard that AHQ decided to remove it from active service. Bad luck vehicle, many are supertitious in the SAF.Originally posted by saline:it is called "veh overturn drill". button up is jump into the veh and close the lids.
That was on 7th July 1994, 41SAR Gryphon Company ... check this out under my reply at this link .. http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=200072Originally posted by dork3d:Me also heard from my brother about some Armour accident happened in 1995 while he was with 41 when a AMX13 SM1 overturned and crushed the tank commander as he was standing in his cuppola... My brother said his body was severed into two parts and he was one of the medics on site to extract and pack his remains into the bodypack...