cannot send scholars! their lives r more precious den any of us! they r the elites!Originally posted by hisoka:yupz but send volunteers and scholars only. we must blood the leaders and give a chance to those who want to help
thats why i sa send them hope can kill them off then we got space at the top to advanceOriginally posted by monoslayer:cannot send scholars! their lives r more precious den any of us! they r the elites!
ROE was half-completed yesterday. The UN has authorised a wide employment of force.Originally posted by lwflee:We should, in principle go. However, we should not commit any troops before the UN gets its act together and lays down the ROE.
Hmmm I haven't been keeping up with the news. Last I heard, the French refused to send in more troops unless the UN agrees on a reasonable ROE. I think that is a good approach. Else, this will have the danger os putting a stain on the reputation of the SAF. Further, we are not the US. I do not want to see our countrymen being charged for warcrimes.Originally posted by LazerLordz:ROE was half-completed yesterday. The UN has authorised a wide employment of force.
How that translates from diplo-speak to the ground, is something worth watching. UNIFIL 2006 could be a watershed mission, if liberal usage of force and preemptive operations are permitted, and small unit commanders are given the authority to call in strikes.
Actually, NSFs could be utilised in non-combat roles, but in operations where at least they get to see the big picture. They did a good job in Aceh, especially the guys from Signals and Engineers.Originally posted by lwflee:Hmmm I haven't been keeping up with the news. Last I heard, the French refused to send in more troops unless the UN agrees on a reasonable ROE. I think that is a good approach. Else, this will have the danger os putting a stain on the reputation of the SAF. Further, we are not the US. I do not want to see our countrymen being charged for warcrimes.
Personally, I would like to see greater NSF involvement.
What about combat roles? I think NSFs, exp those in infantry ought to be given an opportunity to take part in these ops. Make it voluntary and put them on regular pay and conditions.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Actually, NSFs could be utilised in non-combat roles, but in operations where at least they get to see the big picture. They did a good job in Aceh, especially the guys from Signals and Engineers.
Some of us wanted to volunteer to go Aceh, but weren't allowed to.They cited PES Status etc..Originally posted by lwflee:What about combat roles? I think NSFs, exp those in infantry ought to be given an opportunity to take part in these ops. Make it voluntary and put them on regular pay and conditions.
I think I would be very interested if i was still an NSF and such an opportunity came along.
Damn...The SAF is being to paternalistic here me thinks...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Some of us wanted to volunteer to go Aceh, but weren't allowed to.They cited PES Status etc..
Well, it wouldn't be too much of an issue I guess, I mean most of the volunteers would be in maintenance bases anyway over there..Originally posted by lwflee:Damn...The SAF is being to paternalistic here me thinks...
He said immediate region.Originally posted by Hellraiza:Uncle Teo has already said SAF will not be committing troops to the UNIFIL mission..."our focus is on the immediate region". So no need to think about it lah...
wauhahahahahahahaa...kill those guai lan ones first..save those pretty female scholars for me.. =XOriginally posted by hisoka:thats why i sa send them hope can kill them off then we got space at the top to advance
Well, if they do go, i Hope they have a rigourous screening process to weed out people like you.Originally posted by 22 S.A.S Regiment:i think it's better if we keep our noses out of other ppl's business, wait ltr like US..everyday tio aim by osama and gang..anyway..u think singapore can afford to send ppl to lebanon meh ? wait tio kan by the parents ah..besides, singapore has got only human resources..cant afford to waste it on fighting a war that is not ours from the start..anyway..i aint mind going to lebanon to snipe a few hezbollah dudes..its all their fault that the war started..