NSman called up for first ICT at age 36
I WAS surprised to receive notice recently of my first In-Camp Training (ICT) at the age of 36.
How could Mindef expect NSmen to complete the full cycle of their ICT if they start only at 36? Does it mean that NSmen have to go for longer and more frequent ICTs each year in order to do so?
As most NSmen of this age are at the peak of their careers and many are in senior-management positions, going for ICT would definitely affect business operations.
More importantly, most of these NSmen would have families with young children. They have to manage both busy work schedules and taking care of the family.
I have appealed for deferment after the first request was rejected. Until today, I have not heard from Mindef despite numerous calls to the National Servicemen Services Centre (NSSC). I was told by the NSSC staff that they could not transfer my call to the person in-charge, nor could the person in-charge call me or my employer.
I didn't even know which was my unit until I called the NSSC to find out, and even then the staff do not have the contact number of the unit.
Tan Thiam Huat
It's human nature. Who would actually take the initiative to do something (check out the unit and reservist status) which might lead to you having to do something else (ICT) even more unpleasant?Originally posted by Aveme:he also brought it upon himself one,must be thinking all the while that wah good sia,SAF forgot about me liao,no reservist liao,happy like fuck.If he had bothered to call up SAF when he was younger to reconfirm on his status and get into reservist faster,this would not have happened.
yup it is human nature but it does not remove him from part of the blame.I posted this cos apart from the cock up from SAF,he must also shoulder part of the blame so he should not only know how to blame the SAF,write complains and such.He had the option then to change what happened now but did not take it so should not complain.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:It's human nature. Who would actually take the initiative to do something (check out the unit and reservist status) which might lead to you having to do something else (ICT) even more unpleasant?
How is he at blame for not...for what again?Originally posted by Aveme:yup it is human nature but it does not remove him from part of the blame.I posted this cos apart from the cock up from SAF,he must also shoulder part of the blame so he should not only know how to blame the SAF,write complains and such.He had the option then to change what happened now but did not take it so should not complain.
for not trying to clarify the reservist matter b4 hand knowing full well that he will have to serve 10-13 years for it.Originally posted by lwflee:How is he at blame for not...for what again?
The blame lies squarely on the SAF for not calling him up earlier. I think his reservist unit needs a good talking to.
he tot saf forget him liao mah. come on, doesnt everyone here wish tat happen to themselves?Originally posted by Aveme:for not trying to clarify the reservist matter b4 hand knowing full well that he will have to serve 10-13 years for it.
I got a friend a few years ago never get called up after 5-6 years ORD so he called saf up and soon got himself to be recalled for reservist after me and my group of friends told him better to sort it out faster than risk late age reservist
Eg you booked for an air ticket or something and some stuff should be sent to you by a certain date,if you did not get it,do you call up and check or do you wait until last min then you blame the agency for messing it up for you?In the end who suffer? Majority you only.
yah lo.Originally posted by monoslayer:he tot saf forget him liao mah. come on, doesnt everyone here wish tat happen to themselves?
The analogy you cited is not quite right. It is not beyond the realms of possibility that Mindef would 'forget' or not need to call people up. At least that is the perception. heck, ask around and you would likely know someone who ought to have been called back already but haven't.Originally posted by Aveme:for not trying to clarify the reservist matter b4 hand knowing full well that he will have to serve 10-13 years for it.
I got a friend a few years ago never get called up after 5-6 years ORD so he called saf up and soon got himself to be recalled for reservist after me and my group of friends told him better to sort it out faster than risk late age reservist
Eg you booked for an air ticket or something and some stuff should be sent to you by a certain date,if you did not get it,do you call up and check or do you wait until last min then you blame the agency for messing it up for you?In the end who suffer? Majority you only.
- hmph -Originally posted by Ponders:Actually ah.. my intention of starting this thread is to predict what that COL Benedict Tan will reply to ST Forums. haha.
How do you clear 10 ICT in 4 years?Originally posted by CoolMyth:Still, if you had 4 years to clear 10 ICTs, anyone will be pissed.
I can't blame him yet I dun see how his complaint will end up positive for him.
I dun know.Originally posted by Ponders:How do you clear 10 ICT in 4 years?