He could self-declare 302....Originally posted by KoolKool:Turn yourself in to who ?? MINDEF ?? Which department ?? Unit ??
I think it is more effective writing to Straits Times forum.
You don't have to find out your unit, which department to call and who to speak to. Everything will be done for you.
he will write personally meh?Originally posted by Ponders:Actually ah.. my intention of starting this thread is to predict what that COL Benedict Tan will reply to ST Forums. haha.
the words are not of the COL....Originally posted by KoolKool:what's the difference ?
LTC XXX YYY ZZZ
for COL Benedict Tan
He might as well do it.
You all believe this?Originally posted by pqr:the words are not of the COL....
LTC write for him?? sure or not?
Should be some LTA or CPT lah
the lower rank will write then let COL vet thru...
COL wil then simply put his name and treat the letter written by his officer as his own
Sep 8, 2006
ICTs may be inconvenient but defence is everyone's duty
I REFER to Mr Tan Thiam Huat's letter, 'NSman called up for first ICT at age 36' (ST, Sept 6).
While I agree with him that it is indeed a fiasco to be starting one's in-camp training (ICT) at such an age, I have my reservations about the other points raised.
To put it simply, everyone has a role to play in our country's defence, be it a manager high up the organisational hierarchy or a humble cleaner.
While ICTs may result in inconveniences,we have to recognise that defence is the basic foundation of a stable country, one where businesses flourish and our loved ones sleep in peace.
Lastly, while Mr Tan was surprised to receive his first ICT notification recently, I am even more surprised that he realised only now that he had military obligations to fulfil.
Ng Chun Shiong
who is this SOB?Originally posted by Ponders:A COL wannabe replied liao....
someone who wanna score points.Originally posted by blowfish:who is this SOB?
see if can find his name in the phone book anot lor... arhboh ask him out to lim kopi with u n ask to see his IC.Originally posted by LazerLordz:One of those "template" replies. Don't even know if these are real people.
You dun have overseas exercise meh? Thought you must have done at least one overseas exercise before you finish..Originally posted by BillyBong:Hey...wat's the deal? I've still got 4 in-camps to go before ATEC II, and then another 3 ICTs before i can shriek: ORD lor!
Seriously, this is a wake up call for those who 'take cover' or hope your SAF particulars got burned down along with their S1 record room...
Clear your ICT asap, do the cycle and get out. That's the best solution.
I don't fancy ICT either, but it's part of training and it helps keep fit at the same time. Can't be all that bad...
i dun think he need to clear all the 10 ICTs in 4 years.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Still, if you had 4 years to clear 10 ICTs, anyone will be pissed.
I can't blame him yet I dun see how his complaint will end up positive for him.
Sep 13, 2006
In-camp training based on SAF's requirements
I REFER to the letters, 'NSman called up for first ICT at age 36' (ST, Sept 6) by Mr Tan Thiam Huat and 'ICTs may be inconvenient but defence is everyone's duty' (ST, Sept by Mr Ng Chun Shiong.
NSmen are obliged to fulfil their Operationally Ready National Service (ORNS) responsibilities until they have completed their National Service training cycle or reached the statutory age limit, whichever is earlier.
NSmen are scheduled for ORNS training based on the Singapore Armed Forces' operational requirements. Mr Tan is still within the statutory age limit for ORNS and hence can continue with his in-camp training (ICT).
As Mr Ng pointed out, ICTs may be inconvenient but we need to recognise that defence provides the stability for the country and its people to progress.
Mr Tan has been informed of the outcome of his deferment appeal.
There had been a delay in this because of an administrative oversight, and we apologise to him for the inconvenience.
We thank Mr Ng and Mr Tan for their commitment to defence and look forward to their continued support of National Service.
Col Benedict Lim
Director, Public Affairs
Ministry of Defence