females dun go for NS. u enlist as a regular. so the uni thing is up to the uni, or if she can get a scholarship then good.Originally posted by charleslee:hi all , i got this female fren who has stated her intent to go for NS , but her parents wouldn't allow, presumely that it's a waste of time for her ... but in this case can she enlist w/o her parents knowledge. if she get enlisted, will her place in Uni be reserved and her future civilian pay will be added with the NS thing? please give me this info so that i can help her to convice her folks. and erm.. one more thing for OCS commissioning , will female NS OCTs and male OCTs be commissioned together in one parade? Thanks a lot, guys
i don't understand this sentence. especially the part highlighted in red. care to explain in better words?Originally posted by charleslee:if she get enlisted, will her place in Uni be reserved and her future civilian pay will be added with the NS thing?
TS thinks it's like us guys, u get a higher pay if u have completed ur NS.Originally posted by Gordonator:i don't understand this sentence. especially the part highlighted in red. care to explain in better words?
see this is the reason some guys dun want to serve NS too. Can she serve for me or not huh.Originally posted by missqi:walao.
crazy friend.
waste 2 yrs leh.
insanity.
nuts.
yes. females cannot volunteer for NS. at least for now.Originally posted by charleslee:hey mod , it's like what tamago has said...... jus wanna ask girls really cannot sign up for voluntary NS? only can go regular meh?
Correct.Originally posted by Ponders:The space in Uni. Up to the uni to keep for her.
But my advice for her is that she go Uni, get a degree first then go Sign up with Army.
Here's why...
Uni grad regulars get promoted faster, get recognised faster and paid more attention to better. In other words, her advancement chances is better than a Non-degree officer regular.
If she sign on as specialist, then she need not have a degree since whther she has it or not is not recognised by SAF since specialist ranks do not require a degree.
So as her to make her choice wisely...
Yes, I agree. Go and get a good degree first and then you start on a better pay scale, and better prospects. If you sign on the dotted line now, it is really up to SAF to release you for your studies (non-scholarship). Scholarships are a different thing altogether.Originally posted by Ponders:The space in Uni. Up to the uni to keep for her.
But my advice for her is that she go Uni, get a degree first then go Sign up with Army.
Here's why...
Uni grad regulars get promoted faster, get recognised faster and paid more attention to better. In other words, her advancement chances is better than a Non-degree officer regular.
If she sign on as specialist, then she need not have a degree since whther she has it or not is not recognised by SAF since specialist ranks do not require a degree.
So as her to make her choice wisely...
she must have watch the ad on making ur life worthwhile or smth along dat line. the ad dat features dis guy's life being shown in the cinema and everyone is slping cuz its boring...Originally posted by Gordonator:yes. females cannot volunteer for NS. at least for now.
why is your friend so eager to volunteer? is it because she is fascinated by all those posters at bus stops or those tv commercials and wanna be a soldier? the truth is, everything is not as what is portrayed in those ads.
can she up to the challenge physically? will she be able to take the regimentation? will she mind the irregular working hours?
we are not even sure whether the girl in question here knows anything about the army and its various formation, vocation etc.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:What formation or vocation is she interested in? Most female regulars I know in the SAF are in artillery, signals, armour or logistics. Very few are actually amongst the front-line combat troops, I believe.
is she by anyway a tomboy?Originally posted by charleslee:actually she didn't specify any formation she wanna go, she's like so determined to enlist as a NSF tt she's been talking abt it for yrs, i tink