i am no spec man, i am a trainee under him.....omg nightmare nightmare....Originally posted by RvnRooRon84:Yup that's true; if posted to unit, you get to a whole lot more things. More hands on, get more experience. That's the good thing about posted to unit.
Personally, I can say that being an instructor is really to miss out on a lot of things. When we gain a lot in theory, we miss alot on practicality and real life-practice. I guess that's quite sucky.
But hell I like my job nonetheless!
Anyway, haha the pinky guy from your batch ah? So you're from Alpha. At least Alpha has standard compared to Bravo, Charlie, Delta & Echo; seems to be going down as the batch comes in. I personally know a few guys in Alpha and they're a great bunch.
But mr Pinky is still in my Hated List - in fact the Top spot...
And it turns out that Every-single-body hates the guy(or gal or 'half-half' :lol!
check pupil equal to ensure no head injury.......Originally posted by Unidentified:sorry if i have gone out of topic , but i want to ask question
Medics or doctor usually shine torchlight into causalty or patient eye
what the purpose of it ?
I went for 1st aid course in school , the trainer say looking into the pupil of the eye can determine wheather a person have taken drug during the time.
Then the pupil of eye turn smaller when the light shine is normal. Is it true ?
Post more detail the purpose of shinning light into eye. Thank you
how ? can be more specific ? dun mind paste all the theory hereOriginally posted by tarutaru:check pupil equal to ensure no head injury.......
most of the time when a casualty get whacked at the back occipital portion of the head...it will affect his eyesight...the pupils tend to be unreactive to light and the left is not equal to the right..as the usage of the eye is controlled by the occipital lobe of the brainOriginally posted by Unidentified:how ? can be more specific ? dun mind paste all the theory here
heng suay.....no perfect formula....Originally posted by Unidentified:I do quite intrested to be a medic in NS , any tips on how to sure kena medic after BMT ?
hey is there any books in library or shops that have book that tell these kind of symptoms ? Or a medic guide ?Originally posted by anonymouse:In a military medicine context, I would suggest:
Hypovolemic shock - dilated pupils
Morphine overdose - constricted pupils
Head injury leading to increased intracranial pressure - dilated pupils
Braindead - fixed dilated pupils
Nerve agent chemical warfare exposure - constricted pupils
any others?
go to bras basah....3rd floor got lots of used bookstores...can get cheap medical encyclopediasOriginally posted by Unidentified:hey is there any books in library or shops that have book that tell these kind of symptoms ? Or a medic guide ?
Find these books are more specific than any FA manual , another step in depth of first aid
that mean got the book anot is oso hengsuay ? no perfect fomula ?Originally posted by Rockhound:go to bras basah....3rd floor got lots of used bookstores...can get cheap medical encyclopedias
i am speechless by ure questions.....its by luck to be a medic....there is no perfect formula on being a medic...u think juz bcos u read bks ppl will let u be a medic?...Originally posted by Unidentified:that mean got the book anot is oso hengsuay ? no perfect fomula ?
no la , i juz quite intrested to know in the proceedure medic or paramedic do , tapping the skin , eye check , general survey , check here check there . Juz want to know wat they are doing.Originally posted by Rockhound:i am speechless by ure questions.....its by luck to be a medic....there is no perfect formula on being a medic...u think juz bcos u read bks ppl will let u be a medic?...
being selected is all by luck
maybe with some nursing background u cud have a higher chance....but in my experience..there is no perfect formula of being selected into being a medic...
all this is up to the gods of CPC...
thats a coagulating agentOriginally posted by Unidentified:hey was wondering too , the movie HBO band of brothers
i saw when soldier are injured , they juz open a packet thing and spread the flor like thing on the wound , anyone know what is that ?
ic what izzit for ? Prevent wound from contamination ?Originally posted by Rockhound:thats a coagulating agent
stops bleeding generally by speeding up the clotting process..i think theres an antiseptic property to it too...Originally posted by Unidentified:ic what izzit for ? Prevent wound from contamination ?
ok , i found out from my friend , the name of the drug is known as ''Sulfonamide''Originally posted by Rockhound:stops bleeding generally by speeding up the clotting process..i think theres an antiseptic property to it too...
oooh...Originally posted by Unidentified:ok , i found out from my friend , the name of the drug is known as ''Sulfonamide''
the details are here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sulfonamide_%28medicine%29
To become a Paramedic in SCDF, you need to go through three levels namely Level 1, Level 2 & Level 3.Originally posted by LookSeeLookSee:I heard that SCDF Paramedics are trained by the SAF. Is it true?