hmm.. everyone in ocs need 2 go thru this ar? no matter in army airforce or navy ar? if i were to do it, i think i will cry as i strangle the poor quail lor... you went thru it b4?Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's a part of SERE, Survival, Escape, Recovery and Evasion.
Survival training requires you to live off the land when you are behind the Main Supply Route(MSR) or enemy lines. What is taught to them is the painless way of killing edible animals for meat.
This is the Army, and ours is already considered sanitised.
i can't imagine an army officer cries as he/she strangle the bird.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:hmm.. everyone in ocs need 2 go thru this ar? no matter in army airforce or navy ar? if i were to do it, i think i will cry as i strangle the poor quail lor... you went thru it b4?
eh, i'm juz a curious civilian girl leh.. not in army lar..Originally posted by Ito_^:i can't imagine an army officer cries as he/she strangle the bird.
i think i'll commit suicide first. no hope liao.
uhhh.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:eh, i'm juz a curious civilian girl leh.. not in army lar..
your "i think i'll commit suicide first" means what? i'm confused..
eh? like that also can ar? win liao lor..Originally posted by monoslayer:my fren refused to kill a quail during his JCC. he told the conducting officer straight in the face tat he dun c the point of killing an animal jus for the sake for a badge. he was prepared to OOC. RESPECT!
yup. he was still awarded the badge in the end.
k la, i get what u mean.. but still.. the idea of it is rather.... ewww... so u went thru it n killed quails?Originally posted by Ito_^:uhhh.
i imagined if we were to fight in the war, in the jungle, den we with our rifles hiding, hungry and without food and water.
den our officer refused to kill a bird and cries right there.
confirm lose hope in life one.
i think only for ocs and those elite unit nia.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:can somebody pls tell me whether it's for everyone in ocs or only for army ppl? thanks a lot!!
no la.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:k la, i get what u mean.. but still.. the idea of it is rather.... ewww... so u went thru it n killed quails?
not everyone in ocs gets to do it. for the army, only the infantry cadets doing JCC gets to do it. other than that, the airforce cadets do it as well.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:can somebody pls tell me whether it's for everyone in ocs or only for army ppl? thanks a lot!!
meaning as long as u r going thru ocs, that is part of the syllabus? those sign on airforce 1 also must go thru?Originally posted by freedom4ever:i think only for ocs and those elite unit nia.
ocs i think some only. but elite units like CDOs or guards confirm need to know.Originally posted by i_heart_icecream:meaning as long as u r going thru ocs, that is part of the syllabus? those sign on airforce 1 also must go thru?
don't laugh at me, but i'm thinking of joining airforce after i graduate from uni.. n i am quite.. turned off by the idea of killing animals.. (in case some ppl recall that i mentioned it b4 a few months ago, pls don't find me loso k )
orh.. so, say i wanna sign on as wso with air force, chances are i probably won't have 2 kill animals?Originally posted by freedom4ever:ocs i think some only. but elite units like CDOs or guards confirm need to know.
So it's a lighter variant of JCC huh.Thanks!Originally posted by Hellraiza:I think for the RSAF pilots its JST (jungle survival training) correct me if im wrong...
not as demanding as JCC, but just to prep pilots on what to do, survival tips and all that if they get downed...
As for killing animals...killed frogs and eels during CST...i know it's cruel lah, but looking at the frog with it's tongue hanging out after knocking it out....damn funny lor.