Oct 26, 2006
Briefing and jab given, then ICT cancelled
I AM writing to express my dismay at being notified of the cancellation of my overseas In-Camp Training (ICT) only one month before it was to start.
Just recently, I had attended a pre-ICT briefing, as well as gone for an inoculation. Hence, I was very surprised when I was informed of the cancellation.
I called up Human Resource Centre and my unit. It took them approximately seven hours to confirm that I was not required to do ICT.
I have always believed that every NSman should do his part for the country. Hence, even though I had just started working for a new company, I decided not to apply for a deferment.
Because of the ICT, I had postponed the renovation of my flat.
Much personal and family time had also been spent settling administrative matters relating to the ICT.
NSmen are also civilians with day jobs and other commitments. If our service is not required, Mindef should not send out ICT notices only to cancel them later. This causes much inconvenience.
Moreover, going for the pre-ICT briefing and inoculation are a waste of our nation's time and resources if, at the end of the day, the ICT is cancelled.
I would like to stress that I am not against national service. I just want to highlight NSmen's plight.
Ang Sze Hwee
Well. let's say Overseas means Thailand or Taiwan...Originally posted by KenPlus:Hmmm,actually if cancel because of haze also quite ok,at least it for health reason.
Hhaha got ict also complain,no ict also complain but then can understand why Mr Ang not happy ,as the reply are slow,plans have to change.Should improve the service better since they are taking taxpayer money.
As for col lim reply,hahaa aga aga some usual reply,just cltr c cltr V one loh,standard one lah.
haha ctrl C then ctrl V ?Originally posted by KenPlus:As for col lim reply,hahaa aga aga some usual reply,just cltr c cltr V one loh,standard one lah.
yes yes yes.... so let's predict what the reply he going to say...Originally posted by molgax:haha ctrl C then ctrl V ?
copy n paste ??
i think more like some poor CPT tio then he tai chee to some poor CPL
CPT vett then bring to COL vett not happy ? CPT ask CPL to re write again then he change abit here n there n gring to vett again ??
haha
but then i think they have a few pre-selected pre=written replies that is politically correct ones to edit
it's not counted. unless unit wanna waive off lor. happened to some of the nsmen under my fmn.Originally posted by Gordonator:i have a question. if let say a ICT is cancelled. will it still count that u have attended that ICT and minus off 1 from your 10 years cycle?![]()
then i suggest the prefect solution to solving this problem is to waive off one ICT cycle for those who already sign up for it if the ICT is cancelled.Originally posted by Unknown_X:it's not counted. unless unit wanna waive off lor.
I don't think SAF is in a habit of waiving ICTs. cannot set precedent.Originally posted by Gordonator:then i suggest the prefect solution to solving this problem is to waive off one ICT cycle for those who already sign up for it if the ICT is cancelled.
I admire him for him being patrotic to the country. But in these days when the MPs and the elites are making big bucks and owning most of the properties in Sinkapoor, it is quite fool-hardy of him to realise that serving the "country" is PATROTIC. Serving NS is really serving the elites as their SECURITY guards for their MUTI-million $$ private properties.Originally posted by Ang Sze Hwee:I have always believed that every NSman should do his part for the country. Hence, even though I had just started working for a new company, I decided not to apply for a deferment.
I admire him for him being patrotic to the country. But in these days when the MPs and the elites are making big bucks and owning most of the properties in Sinkapoor, it is quite fool-hardy of him to think that serving the "country" is PATROTIC. Serving NS is really serving the elites as their SECURITY guards.Originally posted by Ang Sze Hwee:I have always believed that every NSman should do his part for the country. Hence, even though I had just started working for a new company, I decided not to apply for a deferment.
More like financial security.Originally posted by RSKeisuke:sometimes overseas ICT may be cancelled due to security reasons.. some cases really unforeseeable.
what kind of security problems with thailand ?Originally posted by Ponders:More like financial security.
My friends' overseas ICT cancel due to budget reasons.
But in this case, i think if the Overseas ICT is to Thailand, then i think its because of secuirty.
Well, technically they are having Martial Law in effect for at least another month.Originally posted by molgax:what kind of security problems with thailand ?
the rest of the NSmen will scream, "UNFAIR!!!"Originally posted by Gordonator:then i suggest the prefect solution to solving this problem is to waive off one ICT cycle for those who already sign up for it if the ICT is cancelled.