I'm also taking biz and thinking of signing on leh. But alot of my seniors tell me not to.Originally posted by jus-tea:Hmm point taken. But the pay seems to be extremely well. wad's life in there? boring?
Don't be guilible and get fooled by all those "garang" stuff about special ops you get from books and the media.Originally posted by SpecOps87:I'm also taking biz and thinking of signing on leh. But alot of my seniors tell me not to.
If really wanna sign on,make sure you get a good degree. Coz you will stagnate all the way as an officer if you only have a poly dip.Originally posted by jus-tea:Hmm point taken. But the pay seems to be extremely well. wad's life in there? boring?
Nah, fiction and reality are two distinct things. I'm interested and passionate about being a soldier, but career wise, I'm still apprehensive. Just wondering, does it make alot of difference if you are commissioned lets say in Sandhurst or West Point instead of locally?Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Don't be guilible and get fooled by all those "garang" stuff about special ops you get from books and the media.
Many people think it is very "garang" to sign on with SAF especially with "garang" units such as Commandos or Guards.
This is not Counterstrike or even Ghost Recon.
What you watch on Black Hawk Down or Saving Private Ryan is nothing compared to the real thing.Kids of your age often after watching such "garang" war movies feel very motivated and wanna replicate the "garang" things they watched.
Think carefully.
Go CLEAR YOUR BMT first and GET QUALIFIED FOR OCS before you think of Annapolis or Colorado SpringsOriginally posted by SpecOps87:Nah, fiction and reality are two distinct things. I'm interested and passionate about being a soldier, but career wise, I'm still apprehensive. Just wondering, does it make alot of difference if you are commissioned lets say in Sandhurst or West Point instead of locally?
Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Go CLEAR YOUR BMT first and GET QUALIFIED FOR OCS before you think of Annapolis or Colorado Springs
It was just a question...I believed at some point of time or another, you have dreams of being a career soldier.Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Go CLEAR YOUR BMT first and GET QUALIFIED FOR OCS before you think of Annapolis or Colorado Springs
all was dashed after serving NS.... so u say leh?Originally posted by SpecOps87:It was just a question...I believed at some point of time or another, you have dreams of being a career soldier.
well, he said the truth. It's harsh as always.Originally posted by SpecOps87:It was just a question...I believed at some point of time or another, you have dreams of being a career soldier.
Ya,when I was about primary 5,I thought about all this:Originally posted by SpecOps87:It was just a question...I believed at some point of time or another, you have dreams of being a career soldier.
That one depends on luck & how smart are u to carry things out in camp...Originally posted by browniebaobao:there are too many business diploma holders out there.
simi business world.. unless u do ur own business... if not, a business diploma wun make u rich.
if u have financial prob furthering ur studies, i would encourage u to take up the scholarship.
6 yrs bond also means iron rice bowl. earn enough liao, after that then venture on ur own.
but then, i have nv been in NS, so I can't comment on the NS life or understand how much sufferings u guys will go thru. hee.
Just curious, and hoping to gather experience. Does anyone have any idea of how best to utilize the time of a short-term contract of say 3yrs or 6yrs with a scholarship?Originally posted by LazerLordz:well, he said the truth. It's harsh as always.
Sandhurst and West Point are not place names tossed about..the annual quota from Singapore is about 1. That's less than the great ol'REMF orgy that the scholars get up to in the Ivy League.
Wow great job. Bet today your gang must be doing all the work detailing and protecting Bush huh. Well done mate. Salutes to you and your gang.Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Ya,when I was about primary 5,I thought about all this:
I wanted to join SEAL Team 6 and learn from Dick Marcinko
Once in 6,I wanted to take part in a top secret direct action joint op against Iran with Delta Force supported by Rangers and TF160.
I wanted to do exchange programs with GSG-9,BBE,GROM,ESI,GIGN,JTF-2,707th Bn to further my skills.
After a stint in the military,I quit and set up my own security firm.I will only hire ex-special forces dudes.
And I live happily ever after...
life stories in reality dun really end with "..... living happily ever after."Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Ya,when I was about primary 5,I thought about all this:
I wanted to join SEAL Team 6 and learn from Dick Marcinko
Once in 6,I wanted to take part in a top secret direct action joint op against Iran with Delta Force supported by Rangers and TF160.
I wanted to do exchange programs with GSG-9,BBE,GROM,ESI,GIGN,JTF-2,707th Bn to further my skills.
After a stint in the military,I quit and set up my own security firm.I will only hire ex-special forces dudes.
And I live happily ever after...