Does it take an Australian education to write succinctly and fluently?Originally posted by Skibi:Is your phd from aussy?
Yes, it is - what's that got to do with the topic at hand, though?Originally posted by Skibi:Is your phd from aussy?
Very true. Learning Hokkien rapidly was one of the first things I did in NS, and it was a life saver.Originally posted by LetterboxMind:I offer threadstarter one tip:
If you talk like the way you write in NS, a lot of people will "siam" you.
English no need to be so power. Even if you are power, reserve it for your career when you ORD.
I used to see ns boys, some try to use big words to confuse people in camp. And they really confuse everyone.
But end of the day, they got no friends. Who to blame?
No idea too.Heh..Originally posted by Gedanken:Yes, it is - what's that got to do with the topic at hand, though?
now still hokkien peng mehOriginally posted by Gedanken:Very true. Learning Hokkien rapidly was one of the first things I did in NS, and it was a life saver.
During my days in BMTC, the only time the RJC kid came in handy was when we had to find some to talk to the CSM and muddle his head in the hope that this chap's "white horse" status would get all of us out of CNY confinement.Originally posted by LetterboxMind:I offer threadstarter one tip:
If you talk like the way you write in NS, a lot of people will "siam" you.
English no need to be so power. Even if you are power, reserve it for your career when you ORD.
I used to see ns boys, some try to use big words to confuse people in camp. And they really confuse everyone.
But end of the day, they got no friends. Who to blame?
Learn smoking will also get you a lot of friends.Originally posted by Gedanken:Very true. Learning Hokkien rapidly was one of the first things I did in NS, and it was a life saver.
As awful as it is to admit, I agree - life got a lot easier for me when I picked up smoking. Now if I can only drop the habit ...Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Learn smoking will also get you a lot of friends.
Well, not so much nasty as crazy. First we had a drought. Three weeks later we had a cold snap that wrecked a lot of vines in the Yarra Valley - this won't be a good years for wine. Then it hit 35 degrees, followed by hail and snow. It's getting warm again today, with 35 expected on Wednesday.Originally posted by LazerLordz:No idea too.Heh..
OT : A bunch of friends just came back from Melb on break, they said the weather's getting nasty..
I heard of the hail. Things must be getting schizo.Originally posted by Gedanken:Well, not so much nasty as crazy. First we had a drought. Three weeks later we had a cold snap that wrecked a lot of vines in the Yarra Valley - this won't be a good years for wine. Then it hit 35 degrees, followed by hail and snow. It's getting warm again today, with 35 expected on Wednesday.
I'm not complaining, though - I get to rotate my wardrobe!
Of course! After RODing (Yes, I'm that old ), I've still kept in touch with my company - we were mono-intake so it's a preety tight-knit bunch. I still see the guys and so, "Oi, yan dao eh, ho seh boh?".Originally posted by Chelzea:now still hokkien peng meh
Civilian perm staff.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:What r u ppl doing in Mel - exercise or permstaff there?
Yeah, the stupid thing was that the hail was one day before the G20 protests - too early. It was a pain in the arse trying to hold a staff meeting with those idiots chanting on loudhailers downstairs.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I heard of the hail. Things must be getting schizo.
Ah, the wardrobe. What wardrobe here man?
now si year 2000s ,nt 1980s hor nw is ang moh peng liaoOriginally posted by Gedanken:Of course! After RODing (Yes, I'm that old ), I've still kept in touch with my company - we were mono-intake so it's a preety tight-knit bunch. I still see the guys and so, "Oi, yan dao eh, ho seh boh?".
Aiyah, ji jun si ji kong kong lak ni, da pi nang ko kong Hokkien way mah, dio boh? Wah ay peng yiu kah wah kong Hokkien way, wah kong si peh powderful ay Engrish mah nah wu koh leng?Originally posted by Chelzea:now si year 2000s ,nt 1980s hor nw is ang moh peng liao
le luay lao liao?50 ar?Originally posted by Gedanken:Aiyah, ji jun si ji kong kong lak ni, da pi nang ko kong Hokkien way mah, dio boh? Wah ay peng yiu kah wah kong Hokkien way, wah kong si peh powderful ay Engrish mah nah wu koh leng?
Wah lan eh, wah mah nah wu ah neh lao? Sar chap gor nee niah lah.Originally posted by Chelzea:le luay lao liao?50 ar?
si buay lao lah,lim bei ba lu ai ke BMT niaOriginally posted by Gedanken:Wah lan eh, wah mah nah wu ah neh lao? Sar chap gor nee niah lah.
OI, gin nah eh, ler mai si suah kio nang lao, hor!Originally posted by Chelzea:si buay lao lah,lim bei ba lu ai ke BMT nia
Sure we can, but we're providing a positive demonstration of switching modes of communication as we well might in NS.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Can u ppl type english?
ho lar,ar cek * wah salute leOriginally posted by Gedanken:OI, gin nah eh, ler mai si suah kio nang lao, hor!