algae will grow?Originally posted by scabstermooch:I predict one problem with waterbags. If not addressed now, it could cause chronic and widespread problems for the SAF.
The problem is that of hygeine. It is difficult to clean a water bag. That is a problem. But a bigger problem would be the drinking tube. I can forsee alot of nasties growing inside the tube and more importantly, where you put your mouth!
Hopefully the fools that make up the CoC have cottoned on to this.
I dun think it is just algae. More like fungi and bacteria. I think an uncapped drinking tube will also attract all sorts of little fleas/assorted insects.Originally posted by Diehard_89:algae will grow?
mine has that anti-microbial in built.....Originally posted by KoolKool:There are some good waterbags that gaurantees non-leakage and anti-microbial in-built, which means no algea will grow.
But the ones now issued does not seem to have these properties. Don't know why ?
wah ... knee pads also SOE liao ah ? ...Originally posted by saline:
wont uh....i got my body armour while on standby....after stand down gave backOriginally posted by Fatum:wah ... knee pads also SOE liao ah ? ...
so when are we getting body armour as SOE ? ...
If you cannot trust the non-leakage gaurantee, how can you trust that anti-microbial ?Originally posted by Rockhound:mine has that anti-microbial in built.....
but i dun really trust the non-leakage guarantee.....u lie back or sit down forcefully and it'll burst...no joke...
i quite trust the thing cos i havent got sick from using it in a year...and i know how to take care of mineOriginally posted by KoolKool:If you cannot trust the non-leakage gaurantee, how can you trust that anti-microbial ?
For the non-leakage, just let the 3 tonner go over it. Get it changed if it leaks or burst.
One thing for sure, I'd rather trust the big brand that puts its name behind the product. Not copying and manufacturing in some China factory, and giving a gaurantee based on the assurance by the China factory.
i kinda like the knee pads cos i have 20-30kg worth of equipment on ma back everytime....more comfy to high kneel and slide down hills...Originally posted by tfcheng:suddenly so many replies..
anyway, regarding the waterbag hygiene, it is true that it is hard to wash. the tube for sucking is harder to wash. that is why towards the end of 2nd year for my batch, we'd rather bring the extra water bottle than using the waterbag.
the suction comes with a cover but the suction part isnt made with the best of material. some might have the habit of biting it, the protruding part will be broken. i changed the entire waterbag because the suction part cant be replaced.
this is one dumb cost issue that probably didnt come into their mind. all of the spare parts for the LBV but not the most vulnerable suction.
personally i dont think the LBV will be the best thing to chiong sua with. its very hot after running up and down. your back is covered up and thus you'd remain sweaty in most course of your training.
now the paddings..
i was also issued with the knee and elbow pads. its ugly lah. imagine those cheapo skate guards thats in green. thats that! it doesnt really protect you but more to hindering your movement. why would you want something blocking your knee while running? the elastic is also loose and small size soldiers like me doesnt really benefit from it.
in the first place, isnt army about making little boys into tough men? with all these paddings, its making men in green sissy.
lastly the fieldpack, its somewhat different to the one i have.
it looks softer and its darker in color. mine have a zipper on the top while theirs is secured the same way as the old one does- buckle.
i got this feeling that since we can already stuff all the standard items into the old one, probably more items would be included as standard items since its so much more spacious.
my friends and i were joking about having umbrellas and 2 bottles of green tea in them.
Protect against small arms fire only. Try shoot a full mag of 7.62mm AP rds ( AK47 ), sure one or two rds will find its way to hit the poor driverOriginally posted by equlus84:Just to hijack this thread for a while.............
I noticed the newsletter mentioned this armoured 5 tonnes for operations other than war. Anyone have idea what this new tonner is like. What is the max lvl of protection for troops? They said there are gun ports in the vehicles but those gun port do not seem to facilitate aiming of weapons but rather just poking the rifle out for firing. Lastly, they said those tonners are going to be transferred to the Guards formation. I wonder for wad purpose as I believe those would suit the logistic support ppls better as they may encounter convoy ambushes. This looks worrying as does this hint SAF might be sending larger contingents to more dangerous peace-keeping missions like middle-east? Would this mean NSF may be involved?
think it depends on unit...some use D&G...some use force 21Originally posted by tfcheng:ok the pictures of my knee and elbow pads..
not so sure if its been replaced with better ones though.