USed to be in SAF dog unit during my NSF days.....Originally posted by NDU:anyone from dog unit? isit true that ONE DOG WILL STICK TO ONE MAN policy??
how come? the dogs only understand singlish?Originally posted by Gordonator:dog unit only singaproeans can join. last time during my days at mowbray camp, a few PRs sign up for it but was rejected, then those singaporeans who wasn't interested got selected instead.
wtf... wrong thread dude..Originally posted by xiaosotong:PR can be commando /guards anot?
or can only be those clerks etc de
so which yr u were there???Originally posted by hippo_banana:USed to be in SAF dog unit during my NSF days.....
Generally, one person will be assigned a personal dog.... i.e (ur registered dog.... ur "wife") u will be responsible for his/her health, grooming, training
on top of that, u will also have a few "mistress" .... i.e... ur buddies "wife" as most ppl in dog units hav to work in shift, u will have to take care of ur buddies "wives" while the r on their off days and vice versa..... and if ur dog happened to attend B on certain days, u will have to bring ur buddies dog for ops
if your unit have both guard and sniffer dogs, u may end up if one of each... i.e 2 dogs under your name....
if there is a shortage of man power in ur unit, u may end up with more than one dog under ur name and vice versa.....
aiya..since they mentioned abt PR den ask lor...hijack abit lah xDOriginally posted by monoslayer:wtf... wrong thread dude..
cos those dog handlers RP will be posted to sensitive units and air bases. mindef don't want PRs to be in those units.Originally posted by monoslayer:how come? the dogs only understand singlish?
May2004 to Apr 2006--- Was posted to an airbase.... which one? PM me for the answer.....Originally posted by BrUtUs:so which yr u were there???
ya.... one of the few vocations which at times u dun feel lyk ORDing......coz of the bond formed between you and them.....Originally posted by monoslayer:its very sad when u gonna leave the dog after u ord.
Yup... i totally agree...... When u go back and visit them.... u can c the smile on the face... especially when u juz ORDed and he/she is still getting used to their new "husbands"... but for course dogs..... Dun wanna mention le......Originally posted by wonderamazement:All the times spent together, and suddenly leave... I think the dog will be sad too...
hope this is a lesson learnt. never ever send e-mail complaints. u never know where they will forward it to.Originally posted by NDU:upon knowing this INTERNAL news.... this service man get hot and he send a mail to mindef and you know what happen, this email was then forward or being pass to his unit
and this service man did not get any compensation but an additional CHARGE
HE WAS CHARGER FOR, DID NOT RAISE UP HIS PROBLEM THROUGH PROPER CHANNEL
not sure abt the extent of injury but last time my understudy was bite by his dog and was also sent to hospital... but he jz take the downgrade and go on as normal... the dog got put down days later... as for tis guy, his only hope is to seek help from MP...Originally posted by NDU:good!!! im so happy to see so many reply
actually... i have some question to ask
recently, i heard about this case, its about a service man (NSF) was being bite by a dog, and if im not wrong, that dog was not HIS WIFE (not directly under him). however, as we all know, most of the unit's are facing the same usual problem. NOT ENOUGH MANPOWER! therefor, this service man was task to handle or taking care of more then one dog (which i supose, under SAF directive, its WRONG).
after the incident, this service man was warded to hosiptal, and i heard he was badly hurt (can you imagin, being attach by those WELL TRAINED DOG??). from there, i get to know that, he was being attack for more then 5-10min, which at that moment, no other service man was in the cell/ cage.
the best part of the story coming...... as usual, when something happen to service man, all the official (OC, CO and etc) have pay their visit to him. from there, he happen to know that, theres ALOT OF WRONG DOING THINGS FROM HIS UNIT! such as, alot of SOP was not being follow by his unit! but... some of his mate was telling him, his OC intention was to COVER up this matter.
upon knowing this INTERNAL news.... this service man get hot and he send a mail to mindef and you know what happen, this email was then forward or being pass to his unit
and this service man did not get any compensation but an additional CHARGE
HE WAS CHARGER FOR, DID NOT RAISE UP HIS PROBLEM THROUGH PROPER CHANNEL
any advise? anyway to help this guyz? and if im not wrong, his still in the dog unit! and hes about to ORD soon (dec 2006).
was there much earlier back in 98-00... guess the dogs i knew gone heaven liao...Originally posted by hippo_banana:Yup... i totally agree...... When u go back and visit them.... u can c the smile on the face... especially when u juz ORDed and he/she is still getting used to their new "husbands"... but for course dogs..... Dun wanna mention le......
There is a saying " a dog is a Man's best fren" how ture.....
the dog got put down!?Originally posted by BrUtUs:not sure abt the extent of injury but last time my understudy was bite by his dog and was also sent to hospital... but he jz take the downgrade and go on as normal... the dog got put down days later... as for tis guy, his only hope is to seek help from MP...
yes he got put down cos he dun wan be sgrean (refuse to serve NS)... he prefer stay as dutch... TC aside.... he was shown the door cos he was too dangerous for anyone to handle (PC, PS, veteran, or anyone else......) so he hv to be put down.... poor dog tat had to be put down cos he couldnt settle to environment... yes they cost alot...Originally posted by Gordonator:the dog got put down!?
are u serious? that's kinds cruel. and don't they cost a lot?
Why not ship the dog back to the breeders? There are rehab farms for retired animals..putting them down is an outright disgusting act.Originally posted by BrUtUs:yes he got put down cos he dun wan be sgrean (refuse to serve NS)... he prefer stay as dutch... TC aside.... he was shown the door cos he was too dangerous for anyone to handle (PC, PS, veteran, or anyone else......) so he hv to be put down.... poor dog tat had to be put down cos he couldnt settle to environment... yes they cost alot...
its the head tat makes the decision... probably look at the easiest way out lo... maybe future someone will intro tat... alot of sadness there...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Why not ship the dog back to the breeders? There are rehab farms for retired animals..putting them down is an outright disgusting act.
pc..Originally posted by bobbyaw:who is e head in charge?