Originally posted by Martinwolf:
hello all...
i'm on a private diploma course, offered from a uni recognised by the saf(made a few calls). i recieved my pesA and i deffered until 1st june 2007, thats next year. most likely, will i be enlisted during the july batch?
also, i don't really know how signing on work. i've wanted to sign on since i was younger. so... lets say i want to sign on to the artillary as a specialist, will there be a sort of interview done? what is the chances of entering a particular vocation you want to sign on to?
among the three branches of the armed forces, and their vocations, which would provides a good chance for someone to upgrade himself during the course of the work? perhaps time to read and do some academic work.
thanks in advance!
If u must sign-on, the aim must be sign-on as officer or else dun sign-on at all.
If u wish to study part-time during ur bond with the SAF, then most likely, service or tech vocation more suitable because their timing compare to combat vocation are more stable. I personally choose air force or army. For Navy, dun choose vocations that u will end up sailing then u can kiss ur part-time study goodbye.
Realistically, if u want to apply what u have learned academically then SAF is definately not a place for you because most vocations dun really need to apply what u study in poly or unit.
Furthermore, during my NS time, Officers and Specs alike need more people skill compare to tech skills because u are most likely need to lead and manage a grp of ppl when u progress in SAF.
So u must know where ur skills and personality is before choosing SAF as an career option.
There is nothing wrong in choosing a military career but is the best job fit for u
Personally seen friends and people regret sign-on because they found out later that they are not really military people.
And lastly, job in SAF is not like ur outside job where u dun like liao or kena scold by the boss, can march into his office and shout "I F**KING QUIT"
NO SUCH THING IN SAF, if u want to quit, u must break the bond (that u sign-on), when breaking bond, there are penalties u must pay. So now u know why ppl regret liao still lan lan stay on and serve the rest of the bond.
So be wise, if u do want to sign-on, do it after ur BMT, get a taste of the army life, if u fit then go ahead, if not, just serve the 2 years.