regarding point no.2, if we aren't supposed to use kiwi then what are we supposed to use, if the rifle is all filthy?Originally posted by Ponders:As you know our the years, personnel in SAF have came out with unofficial methods of doing things that does not follow the original intentions of the G1-6 Army.
Let's compile a few things, some of them have been phased out but i woul dstill compile them...
1 ) Issued toothpaste and soap cannot be used but is only for wayang (mostly phased out)
2 ) Kiwi is to make anything black remain black, e.g. rifles, etc. (mostly phased out in Battalions)
3 ) Using bayonet to pry open M-16 holder. (
4 ) hmm. i stop here for now.. i need do something.... brb..
the rifle being dirty just clean it lor. we don't need cosmetics to upkeep the rifles.....Originally posted by Hellraiza:regarding point no.2, if we aren't supposed to use kiwi then what are we supposed to use, if the rifle is all filthy?
When I was in unit and the standby cupboard/bed thing wasn't practised in the sergeant's bunk, the bunk became a disgrace, dirty and disgusting, same went for the toilet.Originally posted by hisoka:the rifle being dirty just clean it lor. we don't need cosmetics to upkeep the rifles.....
oh and who wants to talk about the useless stand by cupboard/universe?
Originally posted by ditzy:When I was in unit and the standby cupboard/bed thing wasn't practised in the sergeant's bunk, the bunk became a disgrace, dirty and disgusting, same went for the toilet.
Kiwi spoils the CLP preservative on the rifle. The butt can be cleaned with a damp cloth. Rest of the rifle, just wipe clean the exterior after cleaning the mechanisms/parts and lightly oil with a coat of Break-Free CLP.Originally posted by Hellraiza:regarding point no.2, if we aren't supposed to use kiwi then what are we supposed to use, if the rifle is all filthy?
last time old range toilet not like now, SAFETY , just in case many or next detail take their own sweet time jalan song song till toiletOriginally posted by Gordonator:something which i always don't understand. why must one march to the toilet during range? (mainly for BMT)
sorry i don't understand.Originally posted by zaxis:last time old range toilet not like now, SAFETY , just in case many or next detail take their own sweet time jalan song song till toilet
i always dun tuck in one when booking in and out in CVOriginally posted by LetterboxMind:Some senseless/archaic/draconian practices of SAF? Here's some:
3. Tucking in shirt when booking in or booking out of camp. What's the point when soldiers book out tucked in, but tuck out IMMEDIATELY after exiting the gate?
...more to come...
IT actually during BMT, better control of physical movement, also as there are other company which may be in the same range area, look better.Originally posted by Gordonator:sorry i don't understand.
During my NSF days, i also wear the collar RSAF shirt around the air base despite i m a CPL..... nothing happened!!!!! either they close one eye or they really thing i m an officer even my RSM din say anything!!!!Originally posted by martin_lim85:i always dun tuck in one when booking in and out in CV
hmmm, no sure about this 1:
the RSAF PT shirt, collar for WO/Offr and roundneck for Spec/nsf
the RP or guards never tell u off for not tuck in meh??? u not scared RSM or CSM see u no tuck in? later kenna caught will tio extra......Originally posted by martin_lim85:i always dun tuck in one when booking in and out in CV
oh i see. thanks for the info.Originally posted by zaxis:so all in all
marching during range is another way to made sure no soldier walk any how any where.
What? Helmet can be placed on the floor next to the SBO. At least that's what I've been taught.Originally posted by Ponders:4 ) helmets in bunk must face down rested on SBO (still practiced, i find this encouraging the growth of fungus)
oh ya, bmtc always have this rule. permstaffs who are 3SG and above must wear collar tee and round neck tee for those below.Originally posted by martin_lim85:i always dun tuck in one when booking in and out in CV
The above points you mentioned are usually up to RSM to decide. Usually its formation or CCO level. Take the guards camp in bedok for example, they don't have to tuck in shirt and can wear shorts in and out somemore. How cool is that? Compared to sungei gedong, wtf?!?!Originally posted by LetterboxMind:Some senseless/archaic/draconian practices of SAF? Here's some:
1. Head-dress must ALWAYS be worn when you are outside a building. However, some open spaces have overhead shelters that "technically" are not part of a building. Soldiers get penalised when they use these shelters without head-dress.
2. (Especially popular in BMT) Before knocking down, soldiers have to raise their right fist into the air while simultaneously shouting the name of their company/formation/unit.
3. Tucking in shirt when booking in or booking out of camp. What's the point when soldiers book out tucked in, but tuck out IMMEDIATELY after exiting the gate?
...more to come...
Actually Bedok camp either you are refering to current practices or you are refering to 11th Mono and before.Originally posted by ditzy:The above points you mentioned are usually up to RSM to decide. Usually its formation or CCO level. Take the guards camp in bedok for example, they don't have to tuck in shirt and can wear shorts in and out somemore. How cool is that? Compared to sungei gedong, wtf?!?!
no lahmy Chief WO never say, then my RSM there no more liaoOriginally posted by STUU:the RP or guards never tell u off for not tuck in meh??? u not scared RSM or CSM see u no tuck in? later kenna caught will tio extra......