Originally posted by Insightist:
U will kena alpha coy....confirm plus chop. Have fun ar. ORD LOR! if u heng ur ps lihong he will tk gd care of men. James ...haha. ORD LOR
U're from Alpha huh? Haha... James not gd meh? I not frm Alpha, I dunno la, but he looks like a nice guy? Haha... I'm from BOATTT! Yeah anyway, I'm so blardy free right now, ORDed and jobless, playing FF 12 and coming to this forums to bomb MLMers, so I shall post a detailed explanation of ur future life in army to prepare u...
U'll go in Alpha company cos' the whole Alpha company ORDed liao. U'll go thru normal BMT/PTP. 9-13 wks of getting whacked like siao. Juz take it like a man huh?
If u need to go thru PTP, they'll probably focus more on physical training. Every morning do basic exercises like push-ups, sit-ups, jumping jacks, then end off with a run before u go for breakfast. They teach u some basic military stuff in the day like how to wear ur uniform n boots properly, pack ur field pack and SBO etc.
Once u go into BMT, they'll focus more on military training liao. Get ready for the torturous route marches with a 10-15 kg load of field pack and 2+ kg rifle and 3-4 kg SBO. Exciting stuff includes going for M16 range (Machiam CS but real! Very fun if u're the average guy who loves guns and violence. Sissy will scared abit.
) and 7 days field camp. Woohoo! Field camp rox! (Who am I kidding...)
Then u go into ur CEC (Common Engineer Course) phase which takes 4 weeks. It's slightly more relaxed but definitely more boring cos' u go to alot of lectures and practicals to learn how to deal with common engineer equipment. How to set up barbed wire obstables, improvised bombs etc. U'll end this phase with an exciting live demolition range! U build ur bomb and detonate it urself! Previously, u feel like CT at M16 range. Now u feel like T when u detonate ur C4 lol. Juz dun blow urself up.
After this is ur internal camp posting, u'll either stay in Alpha or go to Boat or HQ (Slackkk...) For those good recruits, Alpha commanders definitely keep for their own company. Half past six average ones will do Boat. HQ is... fer... chaokeng, PES C, downgrades, pending downgrades, family problem need 8-5 job. So plan accordingly.
Seriously, Boat is the most fun out of the few postings. I'm not biased but it's true. U get to go to the sea alot, interact with ppl of different units, and dun have actual exercises, but rather juz to support other company's exercises such as Alpha. But now Boat OC abit the garang lol. Lucky I ORD in time or else kena bua by him until I left bones.
Oh yea forgot to mention... This yr, 35 SCE doing NDP display... U're juz in time to do the saikang... Good luck! U need lots of it.
Hope I helped...