ncc got tuck in mehOriginally posted by NotFromVenus:Tuck in look like NCC leh ,
reservists still prefer fxxx four.
u driving 5 tonners laOriginally posted by Manager433:One question: Why those in MR list bo receive any details about getting these new stuffs? If war then how they expect me to fight for the country? Wearing those WW-II Bra SBO wait enemy see can laugh to death.
But at least give me a better protection SBO and a larger fullpack for storing my gold bars.Originally posted by Chelzea:u driving 5 tonners la
wa lao u ROD liao still so garang ah.Originally posted by Manager433:One question: Why those in MR list bo receive any details about getting these new stuffs? If war then how they expect me to fight for the country? Wearing those WW-II Bra SBO wait enemy see can laugh to death.
how was field campOriginally posted by Classicist:lol.
just finished field camp.
the new LBV is fucked, kena heat rash like a mother fucker esp during the dig of the shellscript. the old SBO iS SO MUCH MORE convrenient. we carry a 3 litre water bag which punctures easily ( a few of my mates already tore theirs), and a dunno how we gonna soc with that shit on. its very bulky and weight is imbalanced, ie only 1 water bottle on the left side, 1 3 litre water bag at the back.
the new field pack rocks though. too big, didnt even need to air-tight the zip locks. haha.
hmm, you from mohawk??Originally posted by Classicist:lol.
just finished field camp.
the new LBV is fucked, kena heat rash like a mother fucker esp during the dig of the shellscript. the old SBO iS SO MUCH MORE convrenient. we carry a 3 litre water bag which punctures easily ( a few of my mates already tore theirs), and a dunno how we gonna soc with that shit on. its very bulky and weight is imbalanced, ie only 1 water bottle on the left side, 1 3 litre water bag at the back.
the new field pack rocks though. too big, didnt even need to air-tight the zip locks. haha.
I sure u can get a change.Originally posted by whitenoise:LBV? Mine is torn at two places after field camp. LOL. Very good quality man. Wonder if I can get it changed...
I find the most useful item is the pincer and toothpick from the handles. Its a luxury in the field to have these.Originally posted by DarthBart:
The jackknife that I was issued with
Quite useful, as compared to the old jackknife
As for the new LBV, confirm you heatrash like crazy if you use it for conventional ops
Biggest revamp of soldier's gearLet me tell u wat is really happening. Torch, 3 styles: LED, normal flashlight, n LED with normal flashlight. This means u have to press the torch 4 bloody times b4 switching it off.
New outfit vital as army's role widens to include protection of key installations, urban warfare and peacekeeping missions
By David Boey, DEFENCE CORRESPONDENT
ALL new recruits going in for Basic Military Training (BMT) are now being issued with new personal equipment in the army's biggest revamp of soldiering gear in decades.
They will receive four new items: a load-bearing vest; a waterproof torchlight with different colour lenses; a new field pack; and a multi-purpose knife with seven functions.
The new field pack, 80 per cent bigger than the existing one but having the same weight, has a big zipper on its front. The old 1980s-era pack could only be top-loaded, meaning soldiers had to pour out its contents to get something from the bottom.
Originally posted by gd4u:Let me tell u wat is really happening. Torch, 3 styles: LED, normal flashlight, n LED with normal flashlight. This means u have to press the torch 4 bloody times b4 switching it off.
Knife, there is a safety lever for the knife, so that it reduces the chances of soldiers cutting themselves. But, in realitly, the opposite is happening, and some coy in BMTC have asked their recruits not to use them, or just 'confiscate' them ...
New field pack n LBV, the field pack have to be adjusted to a very high level so that the field pack does not sit on the LBV back pouch. Here, it seems to be a design flaw. Anyway, different coys have different arrangements of the LBV, so dun be suprised ...
You mean the trials for 7 battalions for 2 years was a hoax ?Originally posted by Ponders:The army introduced the new items to the media yesterday during a visit to the Basic Military Training Centre on Pulau Tekong. Lieutenant- Colonel Kong Kam Yean said the equipment was designed incorporating suggestions from soldiers from seven battalions during two years of trials.
hmmOriginally posted by KoolKool:wondering what else is in the pipe-line that we do not know about until after the Army News and Newspapers releases. can you tell more ? are there more than these 4 items ?
my thoughts exactly. those posted to admin vocations like clerks/storeman/service medic etc won't get to fully utilise them.Originally posted by Rockhound:i just find it a waste that they issue them to bmtc recruits....
not all of them will actually use them in combat vocations....