Ditto.Originally posted by LazerLordz:My side used to practise a neutral system. Everyone does their duty, be it any ethnic holiday. No preferential system.
I was on standby on CNY eve before.
Yeap.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Ethnic Chinese personnel aren't spared from guard duty over the 4 day period in my unit, even though there's a significant number of guys of other ethnicities.
I don't understand it, really. What implications that could be raised are just nonsense.
not eat cookhouse food meh?Originally posted by CoolMyth:Ditto.
I've done duties on CNY eve and Day 1, and the following year, Day 2 and Day 3. LL lor. (pun not intended)
Advantage: Camp very empty. So almost nothing to do.
Disadvantage: Canteen not open. Except for Malay food, there ain't much choice. Have to all fork out money, call delivery. Also have to wait cause long queue.![]()
during my NS days, those non-Chinese were told to do 48 hours of orderly duty instead.Originally posted by Gordonator:since this chinese new year festive session falls on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday plus New Year eve on Saturday, I believe most units won't get chinese to do guard duties for these 4 days. which makes me wonder, are there enough non-chinese personels to do guards for this period?
cos when i was in service, my unit was having trouble finding guards to cover for 2 days of chinese new year duties. this year got 4 days to cover, wonder will units face this problem...
consider this a good consolation if you have to be on dutyOriginally posted by wuming78:duty on CNY can be good if you wan to siam the visits and the consequential houndings...
Cookhouse malay food lah. Duh!Originally posted by stooki:not eat cookhouse food meh?
Originally posted by wuming78:duty on CNY can be good if you wan to siam the visits and the consequential houndings...
my friend who's a senior tech with the air force told me once he have to go back for duties on the 2nd day of chinese new year.Originally posted by Ponders:How about units which tend to have less non-Chinese?
e.g. Air force bases, Commandos, etc
That applies to unmarried regulars, doesn't it?Originally posted by wuming78:duty on CNY can be good if you wan to siam the visits and the consequential houndings...