Originally posted by jus-tea:
This sounds like a very good route. Any one care to elaborate on the pros and cons of it? i mean besides lack of job exp that is.
Cons are too many and many are big road blocks
1.) U must get into OCS. If u follow the SAF threads, u know by now, unless u are scholar or nerd or white horse, OCS is consider a heng suay thing because till now, I still have no idea how they pick ppl for OCS (judging by the clowns they commissioned each batch) (Ok, maybe I am abit mean but till now I really haben meet an officer I 100% respect, only Enciks)
2.) Next, u manage to get into OCS, the next step: study. As I said, there are already scholars, nerds and white horses. So what are your chances of securing a scholarship or grant?
3.) Ok, no grant neber mind, u get no pay-leave to come out study. No need to explain here, one word is enough: Study.
4.) Uni finish go back SAF, again depending on what u sign-on as, u sign-on as chiong sua type, u think got time to take part-time studies ah?
5.) Ok, some how to find the time to get out to take part-time MBA, u think u can escape SAF duties one meh? Even officers have duties one, sometimes the CO arrow u liao, u can say u dun one do meh?
6.) Finally, u get ORD from the SAF, armed with a Uni degree and a MBA at the age of what? 30s? Late 30s? Go ahead, I would really like to see how to sit at manager position interview answering this simple question "What experience you have in so-and-so business operation?"
And you must remember, u are now competing in a level playing field which means there are going to be people in the same age range, also armed with a uni degree and MBA with tons of real work experience.
So now you know why there are ex regular officers, with degrees and MBAs driving taxis.
So the moral of the story, unless u are elite, sign-on is just the same as getting screwed but hey, if u dun mind getting screwed. Go ahead.