i think we'll all stuck with this mentality that unless there's a war or operation, these generals only look good on paper.Originally posted by vito_corleone:i've always thought it ridiculous for such men to be promoted to the general ranks when saf has never been in the heat of fire. its like.... promoting a primary school teacher to a university professor
The present chinese translation should beOriginally posted by allentyb:
Lim Bo Seng is a Major General. no joke.Originally posted by vito_corleone:i've always thought it ridiculous for such men to be promoted to the general ranks when saf has never been in the heat of fire. its like.... promoting a primary school teacher to a university professor
Hiyah. The only way we can "get experience" is to eitherOriginally posted by Prince Cumming:but most of these SAF "generals" are really in some way look good on papers only rite... most of them are president scholars or academics frm prestigious uni . But in terms of real warfare experience? can they hold against those frm other countries, particularly those frm say vietnam or thailand, which may lack behind us in terms of technology or book knowledge but are constantly engaged in real war-like scenario...
No Joke but he was promoted after his death and after the war-ok now you can laugh.Originally posted by Gordonator:Lim Bo Seng is a Major General. no joke.
let me guess. You are either a girl who has never don the SAF no 4 or you are either a very pissed of singaporean who is not grate ful at all for the good things that the country has done for you. But i don't blame you cos there are some hardwares that is not visible to the normal commoner on the street. No matter what it is, i'm telling you as a regular of the SAF that our troops can easily win a war with any of our neighbours if they ever wants to try our might. They will be in for a ver nasty shock!!Originally posted by chanjyj:Hiyah. The only way we can "get experience" is to either
1. Send our soldiers to fight in some foreign war eg. Birtish soldiers fighting in Iraq, and have the press and the whole country say "Send our men to die for what?"
2. Become like Israel lor
You think got any real way to "get experience" meh. Even in working life you need a first time job to get a taste of how things are done. It is never like textbook one lah. My opinion is that Singapore army is only to "hold the fort" until United Nations/ASEAN/whatever come in to save us You think we can fight prolonged war?
our might...Originally posted by ldffollower76:let me guess. You are either a girl who has never don the SAF no 4 or you are either a very pissed of singaporean who is not grate ful at all for the good things that the country has done for you. But i don't blame you cos there are some hardwares that is not visible to the normal commoner on the street. No matter what it is, i'm telling you as a regular of the SAF that our troops can easily win a war with any of our neighbours if they ever wants to try our might. They will be in for a ver nasty shock!!
I don't think he has done his NS yet. Don't need to argue with him.Originally posted by ldffollower76:let me guess. You are either a girl who has never don the SAF no 4 or you are either a very pissed of singaporean who is not grate ful at all for the good things that the country has done for you. But i don't blame you cos there are some hardwares that is not visible to the normal commoner on the street. No matter what it is, i'm telling you as a regular of the SAF that our troops can easily win a war with any of our neighbours if they ever wants to try our might. They will be in for a ver nasty shock!!
yes, we will win if we want to.Originally posted by ldffollower76:let me guess. You are either a girl who has never don the SAF no 4 or you are either a very pissed of singaporean who is not grate ful at all for the good things that the country has done for you. But i don't blame you cos there are some hardwares that is not visible to the normal commoner on the street. No matter what it is, i'm telling you as a regular of the SAF that our troops can easily win a war with any of our neighbours if they ever wants to try our might. They will be in for a ver nasty shock!!