So you dun believe rite? This was in 1994 when I was in ROC. While q up in the cookhse for lunch, a few taiwanese soldiers chatting wif me. A Capt will be in his late 30s or almost 40 yrs of aged. A Major in his mid/late 40s, LTC and a COL in his late40s/early 50s. Its a fact in ROC, all GENERALs are in their mid or late 50s. Neber see before meh? Go ask any taiwanese who did their NS.Originally posted by nightzip:If capt = 40 yrs old, then major = 45 yrs old, then half-colonel=50 yrs old, then col = 55 yrs old, then those generals are octogenarians?
And the 3-4 stars generals are century man....
no lah, we r very well trained in the urban jungle, we can find food here anytimeOriginally posted by soulwinner:Of Course SAF hold certain prestige... Not all armed force in the world are as organise as SAF... We might lack the experience but many of our troops are well versed in jungle warfare...
2nd is the racial card issue. It is clear that any conflict arise with neighbouring country will touch on race. Gov has always face a delima as they discovered that if we are more Singaporean we are less lean towards the chinese heritage, less value on the chinese tradition and its value, and all its virture will be lost, including Indian and Malay, at least the next few generation will reflect that characteristics.Is being more Singaporean a bad thing? Why should we always put race and ethnicity above building a common identity?
Actually I don't get it.Originally posted by matleep:I thought its better for malays to be marginalise in certain sensitive vocations. In times of war, they would not need to be in the frontline killing people with the same race as them.
how many chinese are there in neighbouring forces?Originally posted by binZ:chinese killing chinese is ok? -.-"
arty got malays...Originally posted by Rock^Star:MINDEF's reply is certainly very diplomatic. Who can blame them. It's only a sensible thing to do.
Truth is there are no malays in armour and artillery. And check out their numbers in Police and Civil Defence.
Anyway, young may mean inexperience but it does not equate to a lack of ability. One may be old but he could just be a stubborn old co.ck too. If one thinks that a person may hold senior appointments based on age seniority, then may no one pity this sheer ignorance.
Originally posted by Kenashi:no lah, we r very well trained in the urban jungle, we can find food here anytime
I have a few malay friends in armour & he told me that b'cos some Armour camps are located at places which used to be pig farms(pork is not hahal) so SAF send them to other camps/units instead.Originally posted by Rockhound:arty got malays...
the gunners...
men oni uh...havent seen malay commanders in arty....
armour....dun have
Originally posted by binZ:Where did you get this info from? (Pls see those in Bold)
crap..
it is a fact that malays are indeed kept out of sensitive appointments and vocations..
try asking a malay friend to go to cmpb and say that he want to sign on as an airforce technican, pilot, intelligence spec or commando. If he is not rejected, i buy u lunch.
[b]It is a known fact that the only malays in air bases are Air Emergency Services (SCDF people) and that the cookhouse dont even cater to muslim food.
I remember.. a few yrs back. .during the RSAF open house, our defence minister make it a point to talk, shake hand with one malay fighter pilot.. becos he is the only one malay in that
-.-"
tab have muslim section becoz got a malay f-16 pilotOriginally posted by PaeFans:Where did you get this info from? (Pls see those in Bold)
Have you ever been in an Air Base?
What are the basis for your assumption?
PLEASE GET YOUR FACTS CORRECT BEFORE POSTING SUCH COMMENTS!!!
IT IS INGORANT PPL LIKE YOU WHO POST BLINDLY THAT CAUSE RACIAL TENSION!!!
I have worked in TAB for >7 years and i can vouch with my life that we have a Muslim section in the cookhouse.
This is a very interesting point and offers some food for thought.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Anyway, young may mean inexperience but it does not equate to a lack of ability. One may be old but he could just be a stubborn old co.ck too. If one thinks that a person may hold senior appointments based on age seniority, then may no one pity this sheer ignorance.
No lah....all officers go through Officer cadet school, war games, war strategies, human management, weapons system, senior officer school, etc, etc, etc....Originally posted by walesa:This is a very interesting point and offers some food for thought.
I don't think the author(of the original article) questions the ability of the generals you have here, but rather, are they effectively deployed and are they capable of doing the job they have at hand? Afterall, if you were to analyse the generals of many first-world nations, most of them are schooled exclusively at military institutions(ie.such militaries operate on the basis that academic excellence is not necessarily indicative of one's military potential).
Hence, the author's suggestion of deploying a scholar(with an academic background) in a military environment being akin to deploying a lawyer to do a doctor's job is not something completely disconnected from reality...
have u been to ADOC at CPC?Originally posted by PaeFans:Where did you get this info from? (Pls see those in Bold)
Have you ever been in an Air Base?
What are the basis for your assumption?
PLEASE GET YOUR FACTS CORRECT BEFORE POSTING SUCH COMMENTS!!!
IT IS INGORANT PPL LIKE YOU WHO POST BLINDLY THAT CAUSE RACIAL TENSION!!!
I have worked in TAB for >7 years and i can vouch with my life that we have a Muslim section in the cookhouse.
But none in STAero. Another vocation is drivers.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Well, I can say that my Ordnance Systems Supervisor was Malay, not to mention a heck of a lot of Tech Specs are Malay.
But we've got to stop raising the tension.