cool man, everything said here about guardsman can be found at wikipedia, blogs and other sites lor.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Agree with you, while any non-guardsman can get enough information through publicly available equip orbat and loadout and start a discussion based on the usual anecdotal tales, anything else, should stay inside.
You sure all the Guards have TAG capability?Originally posted by LazerLordz:TAG eh.
That's precisely why I don't trust wikipedia on many things-Jack of all trades but specialise in nothing. (give you general info only). And to tell you the truth Wikipedia has many errors in it. Especially when it come to anything military. i.e. Who says Singapore SOF walk around with "SPECIAL FORCES" tab on the right sleeve of a combat uniform, or a smaller semi-circle badge on ceremonial uniforms (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Special_Operations_Force, accessed 20 March 2007)Originally posted by I_love_my_toilet:cool man, everything said here about guardsman can be found at wikipedia, blogs and other sites lor.
As long no numbers and some specific details involved, its still safe
Always ready, ready to strike
Anymore questions about guardsman still ?
Those who wear the Special Forces tab on the right sleeve of their uniform, are US Special Forces qualified.Originally posted by chanjyj:That's precisely why I don't trust wikipedia on many things-Jack of all trades but specialise in nothing. (give you general info only). And to tell you the truth Wikipedia has many errors in it. Especially when it come to anything military. i.e. Who says Singapore SOF walk around with "SPECIAL FORCES" tab on the right sleeve of a combat uniform, or a smaller semi-circle badge on ceremonial uniforms (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Special_Operations_Force, accessed 20 March 2007)
So I avoid Wikipedia on military issues.
Haha tats why we need this forum for ma...Originally posted by chanjyj:That's precisely why I don't trust wikipedia on many things-Jack of all trades but specialise in nothing. (give you general info only). And to tell you the truth Wikipedia has many errors in it. Especially when it come to anything military. i.e. Who says Singapore SOF walk around with "SPECIAL FORCES" tab on the right sleeve of a combat uniform, or a smaller semi-circle badge on ceremonial uniforms (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Special_Operations_Force, accessed 20 March 2007)
So I avoid Wikipedia on military issues.
Originally posted by chanjyj:Only selected group is trained ba.
You sure [b]all the Guards have TAG capability?
My 1st GDS friend doesn't even know what TAG is Or it could be he's trying to make a fool of me [/b]
you talking about Singaporeans?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Those who wear the Special Forces tab on the right sleeve of their uniform, are US Special Forces qualified.
I've seen it with my own eyes, but it is only the top tab that they are allowed to wear.
Depends on what you mean by "air-crew". If you mean co-pilot, I agree with you. If you talking about air-traffic controller you must be joking.Originally posted by I_love_my_toilet:Only selected group is trained ba.
They are so fortunate lor.
Jus need somebody to go around kio debris n setup bright coloured carpet on the floor.
Anyway all wayang.
U think a pilot will look for your direction during TAG ?
Maybe for night, definitely not for the day.
They trust their air-crew better for directing
Originally posted by chanjyj:I'm not talking about our SOF. Our SOF has their own badge, worn above the left pocket. Anyway, 2005 Army Open House, the SOF had a large display booth with simulated CQB games area.
you talking about [b]Singaporeans?
Where did you see this? I thought Singapore SOF would want to remain as discreet as possible and not show-off[/b]
Originally posted by chanjyj:Maybe he thought you are asking about his dog-tag ...you must say Pathfinder then he would understand you.
My 1st GDS friend doesn't even know what TAG is Or it could be he's trying to make a fool of me [/b]
You vomit blood oreddy or not? Die Die trying to explain to NCC cadet the insigniaOriginally posted by LazerLordz:I'm not talking about our SOF. Our SOF has their own badge, worn above the left pocket. Anyway, 2005 Army Open House, the SOF had a large display booth with simulated CQB games area.
I'm talking about US Special Forces-trained SAF personnel, who may not be active SOF or even SOF in the first place.
Lol.. Pathfinder is Guardsmen, yes, but in this thread I am generally ref to normal guardsmen as compared to infantry, not the special cases.Originally posted by Short Ninja:Maybe he thought you are asking about his dog-tag ...you must say Pathfinder then he would understand you.
When it's time to bring out the hammer and anvilOriginally posted by kotay:Suffice to say "Shoot & FO" is far from it ... try "between a rock and a hard place"
Originally posted by chanjyj:well chanjyj, ur fren may not be lying to you. Bcos I was from 3rd Guards in the year 03/04.
Originally posted by kotay:Suffice to say "Shoot & FO" is far from it ... try "between a rock and a hard place
Originally posted by IAF:
When it's time to [b]bring out the hammer and anvil [/b]
Simply and generally put, hammer and anvil is a two-prong maneuver tactic against an opponent. Team A will make contact with the enemy and hold them down, thereby serving as an anvil to the hammer blow that will occur once Team B moves in to hit the enemy from behindOriginally posted by chanjyj:
"between a rock and a hard, place bring out the hammer and anvil?"
I completely don't understand
I'm from the 80/90 generation ... I RODed in 1990. To give you an idea of how far back that is, I'm from 2 GDSOriginally posted by chanjyj:kotay you referring to current generation (Year 2000 onwards) of guards or 1980s, 1990s generation?
Because my friend (NS in 2002 1st GDS I think)... Seems to do nothing. In fact he told me Guards is slack. Told me alot of things they do are "for show ony" . don't ask me what "for show" means.. I have no idea. Prob he means wayang wayang
Good!Originally posted by chanjyj:
"between a rock and a hard, place bring out the hammer and anvil?"
I completely don't understand
Most of what you posted is in the open domain except please be mindful this is an open forum, so no code words please ... unless you change themOriginally posted by equlus84:well chanjyj, ur fren may not be lying to you. Bcos I was from 3rd Guards in the year 03/04.
MODS, I dun noe whether this should be allowed here, so delete if u feel necessary.
**snip**
Ah, now comes the golden question, have you served your NS yet?Originally posted by chanjyj:Finally I have some serious answers.. but that brings about another prob..
I always thought this kind of high-risk job like TAG would be commandos doing... (Although I knew that CDOs didn't do this) Then the best qn of all... If the GDS do this then what are the CDOs doing?
Must go ask my officer friend in HQ Commando already
Oh btw, in case you all are wondering why I ask such questions about the SAF, it's because I got a fascination with the strucutre of the Singapore Army as compared to other armies... You can call it a hobby.
I have very fond memories the helo rides I had in my active days in a heli-tasked battalion. 2 in particular stick in my mind ...Originally posted by equlus84:I sit before all the 3 types of helos in RSAF. In fact in my 2 yrs life as NSF, I took heli for abt 8 times like dat.
NCC lah so its best he just sign on in Guards to find out.Too cute and we all answer and give out too much info oreddy.........afterwards some peope might get carriecd away and get into troubleOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Ah, now comes the golden question, have you served your NS yet?
Must be NCC ?Originally posted by chanjyj:Depends on what you mean by "air-crew". If you mean co-pilot, I agree with you. If you talking about air-traffic controller you must be joking.
I don't think you know what TAG is.
Terminal Air Guidance is where there is NO air traffic controller to guide you... the person on the ground [in this case, as the Guards (Although I still find it hard to believe)] will become the air traffic controller and guide the aircraft to the location.
Or maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree
Take it as yes, but don't ask me when or where or rank because I don't like to reveal much on the internetOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Ah, now comes the golden question, have you served your NS yet?