Originally posted by chanjyj:Oh btw, Martin knows me
He just doesn't know me as "chanjyj". Another name.
If the LP is used over and over again like Geylang,the pilot dont really need to take intruction from a marshaller,close two eyes oso can mah but sometimes the TAG team do work on virgin vegetation and f they are the ones who clear the area and set up everything,in this case the pilot has to put some trust especially in night exercises so you kurniangs better know your jobs>Originally posted by I_love_my_toilet:Must be NCC ?
I done TAG b4. I signal left copter fly right, b4 i signal land the copter already landed. I gan hot, approach the pilot y dun he listen to me ?
The pilot is a MAJ wor, he gan me, WTFRU ?
I stunned tio coz i only 3 strip nia.
The pilot has his co-pilot and air-crew(the specialist behind who open and close the door for u) to look out for lor.
Then i realise my purpose is to wayang play around with the torch light-like thing nia(synchronise my signal with the copter movement), my main purpose is to make sure the orange carpet is firmly fixed onto the ground. TATS ALL.
At night Lagi best. Pilot, Co-pilot n air-crew all have NVG on. Cfm see better than me lah. Coz At night use IR carpet.
maybe TAG will be more useful during ops time lor when the 'ideal LZ' is not available
Talked to my friend this morning.. really dunno what to sayOriginally posted by Joshua1975:all GDS are train in air and sea insert be it the BN is under air cap or sea cap.
one must know a DIV will move in in both way ie air and sea.
taking SAF context a DIV with 3 fighting GDS/INF Bde, 2 may air insert and 1 sea landing or the other way round.
breaking down to smaller ops in Bde level saying GDS Bde, 2 BN may air insert and with 1 doing sea landing is nothing wrong at all.
in whatever case, when Pathfinder are not available to guide in the air and sea element. the BN advance party, scout or CRT are to do it.
to note, GDS Bde used to have 1, 2, 3 GUARDS BN, 7BTS and of couse Bde HQ which consist of BRC, Sniper, Light Strike before going into formation.
it sure is a TAB but for sure not US Special Forces tab.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Those who wear the Special Forces tab on the right sleeve of their uniform, are US Special Forces qualified.
I've seen it with my own eyes, but it is only the top tab that they are allowed to wear.
pilot dun care u is bcos in SG is half correct. they do follow NS man guide even when it in SG. you forget that they like to on the spot light when coming in.Originally posted by equlus84:Actually, why the pilot dun care u is bcos in SG, the terrain is very small. The pilots have flown many times already, bsides the number of landing zone is limited in SG, therefore they more or lees know where to land.
But in Australia, last itme I train there, the pilots need to follow carefully whatever instructions ppl from TAG give them, bcos in Australia, everywhere is a potential landing zone, thus they can't close their eyes and anihow fly.
My most unforgetable heli flight is in Australia. The wind there is so strong that the ppls sitting at the back feels machiam like Initial D, get down the helicopter feel like puking liao. The sniper from 7SIB bend towards me and asked, "this pilot got license a not? He driving his family car har?"
Things to look out for.......U must remember to fasten sit belts properly. When training overseases. They practise combat flying, even for RSAF. The doors of the copter is not closed and the ACS is just protected with a cable attached. They swoop down fast and sharp when reaching LZ machiam like real ops and the de-planing is done veri fast.
HahaOriginally posted by Short Ninja:If the LP is used over and over again like Geylang,the pilot dont really need to take intruction from a marshaller,close two eyes oso can mah but sometimes the TAG team do work on virgin vegetation and f they are the ones who clear the area and set up everything,in this case the pilot has to put some trust especially in night exercises so you kurniangs better know your jobs>
I can confirm tat the pilot over at wallaby are really hell-riders.Originally posted by equlus84:Actually, why the pilot dun care u is bcos in SG, the terrain is very small. The pilots have flown many times already, bsides the number of landing zone is limited in SG, therefore they more or lees know where to land.
But in Australia, last itme I train there, the pilots need to follow carefully whatever instructions ppl from TAG give them, bcos in Australia, everywhere is a potential landing zone, thus they can't close their eyes and anihow fly.
My most unforgetable heli flight is in Australia. The wind there is so strong that the ppls sitting at the back feels machiam like Initial D, get down the helicopter feel like puking liao. The sniper from 7SIB bend towards me and asked, "this pilot got license a not? He driving his family car har?"
Things to look out for.......U must remember to fasten sit belts properly. When training overseases. They practise combat flying, even for RSAF. The doors of the copter is not closed and the ACS is just protected with a cable attached. They swoop down fast and sharp when reaching LZ machiam like real ops and the de-planing is done veri fast.
Huey too small ba.Originally posted by chanjyj:My friend said he only used Super Puma and Chinook, never rode in a Huey.
Most probably coz of the cost incurred ?Originally posted by acwire_2125:Hmm, so they actually do more then coastal hook and Heli repelling?>
Appr he like to complain that the chinook is the noisiest of them allOriginally posted by I_love_my_toilet:Huey too small ba.
And Huey phased out le.
I never rode in a chinook too.
Must be cool, so spacious sia.
I wonder, do chinooks cause more downwash ?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:wahaha i know wat happen
[quote]Originally posted by I_love_my_toilet:
[b]
I can confirm tat the pilot over at wallaby are really hell-riders.
I almost puked after tat.
My most forgettable landing area is a open field filled with nothing but grass, kangaroo dung and houseflies.
But i forgave the pilot coz he waited for me n buddies.
We were 10 mins late for the flight [/quote
You got do breakddance on the panel or not? No wonder the major not happy
Just now who asked about Huey?
They were sold to the Philippine Armed Forces Oreddy so no chance to sit but dont scared ar still got Dumbo in Tokyo Disneyland>Yayyy!! [/b]
OutstandingOriginally posted by I_love_my_toilet:wahaha i know wat happen
I arrange the panel markers to show "F U"
He ownself shiok-lah probably a Pes e guy who missed out on all the action during NS,at first irritating but after a while we could get used to this type.Even if assuming he is from the MAF coming here to look see I am starting to like him already also there is nothing much to find out in here.Originally posted by Gedanken:I'm just curious. If this chan fellow keeps checking what the guys here say with his friends in Guards and CDOs and comes back disagreeing, why doesn't he just get his information from them in the first place?
By the way, wearing one's qualification badges is not a matter of showing off - it's just as much part of the uniform as a name tag or rank insignia. In any case, many of those badges are only seen within Hendon camp.
Because I think my buddies info is inherently unreliable. My GDS friend said he has dual Sing-Malay citizenship, but I don't believe him one bit cause I think Singapore don't allow such things.. Whatever "cross-reference"Originally posted by Gedanken:I'm just curious. If this chan fellow keeps checking what the guys here say with his friends in Guards and CDOs and comes back disagreeing, why doesn't he just get his information from them in the first place?
By the way, wearing one's qualification badges is not a matter of showing off - it's just as much part of the uniform as a name tag or rank insignia. In any case, many of those badges are only seen within Hendon camp.
Prob the reason why I keep to myself. Irritating.. irritating.. must be my thesis length posts and weird qnsOriginally posted by Short Ninja:He ownself shiok-lah probably a Pes e guy who missed out on all the action during NS,at first irritating but after a while we could get used to this type.Even if assuming he is from the MAF coming here to look see I am starting to like him already also there is nothing much to find out in here.
not his unit no malay.. its his company no malay.. as he is in support coy so called higher estab den rifle coy.. cant hav malays in itOriginally posted by menoob:my bro is in reccee guard(orded)
ride bike chiong sua haha
he say his unit no malays de