ya man, it is usually the caseOriginally posted by Rockhound:hmmm
my inf unit...alpha had the tag plt
my coy was the coastal hook coy
Charlie was the rivercrossing coy
My friend gave his company structure as such:Originally posted by Rockhound:hmmm
my inf unit...alpha had the tag plt
my coy was the coastal hook coy
Charlie was the rivercrossing coy
my unit usually alpha and charlie move together with hq...bravo moves independantly coming from behind the enemy....Originally posted by I_love_my_toilet:ya man, it is usually the case
n usually charlie is reserve coy right ?
From ur description I can more or less figure out what the difference between GDS and INF.Originally posted by Rockhound:my unit usually alpha and charlie move together with hq...bravo moves independantly coming from behind the enemy....
coastal hook ops.....bravo will spearhead
river crossing...charlie will be in charge...
TAG...alpha will set up the lz
Originally posted by chanjyj:Hi Chanjyj can u elaborate on what ur fren's Assault here means? Is this some form of raiding ops that is re-introduced to GDS?
[b]6-Assault[b]
everyone moves en masse uh...Originally posted by equlus84:From ur description I can more or less figure out what the difference between GDS and INF.
For INF the movement of troops by air is only around one coy size while the main bulk move by tonners? For GDS, the whole battalion is moved using helicopters. During my time, we have little FIBUA trainings. I mean like less component based trainning for FIBUA but more trainning for things like conventional attacks on vegetation type.
Times may have change, so what i say now may be different liao.
Are u from 3SIR? I mean it seems u all do lots of FIBUA for ur BN trainning. Perhaps dats the differences of GDS and INF, 3SIR in particular. For your first mission, were your battalion opposed on the beach head?Originally posted by Rockhound:everyone moves en masse uh...
juz who actually takes charge(or spearhead that ops) is another question
like atec.....first mission was coastal hook whole batt then walk to take over red land.
2nd mission transport by heli(whole batt..not wayang paper play..rode chinooks) to drop off and walk to objective to do fibua at nite
3rd mission was defend 2nd mission's objective till evening
so far..the whole battalion moved twice by helicopter and twice by assault boat for division and battalion exercises..
Hi Chanjyj can u elaborate on what ur fren's Assault here means? Is this some form of raiding ops that is re-introduced to GDS?.................................Just call me Chan. My friend... sorry can't help you He "blur blur" again..
.....................................................Is this considered as some form of raid or something else i was not aware[/b]
not 3 sir...Originally posted by equlus84:Are u from 3SIR? I mean it seems u all do lots of FIBUA for ur BN trainning. Perhaps dats the differences of GDS and INF, 3SIR in particular. For your first mission, were your battalion opposed on the beach head?
For my ATEC, the first mission was BN level fly in using helis. Of course there are TAGs, so on. For first mission, we walked abt 25KM to the objective. Very demoralising as we kept meeting sizable amount of enemy resistance along the way. So our CO gave orders to do bashing cum fast march to FUP towards the end.
Our second mission is defense of the hill but our defense part was not very long from early noon to around 3 the next morning.
The last mission was walking again for abt 12km to the objective in Yishun, and yes, it is Yishun. Was quite shock can see HDB in the far distance. Quick attack and defense till late afternoon
Looks like INF does lots of FIBUA stuff compared to during my time in GDS. So what water refinery u all protect? Did u all deploy in the premises of the water refinery? Or was the water refinery an abandon plant?Originally posted by Rockhound:not 3 sir...
2nd to none...
on beachhead...kana arty.....massacre i gez...
regroup...walk to obj...midway walked in circles cos opfor messed with our markings our CRT made...abt to reach obj kana arty again...
then whack objective
then regroup....2nd mission got picked up by chinooks an SPs....send us to LCK....walked the whole nite......whacked a water refinery thingy....till morning...then defend that till evening.....
2AOriginally posted by I_love_my_toilet:What if Aggressor oso have Mini NSeas ?
They are all highly movitated company who will go lengths to earn
their days off.
super on-the-ball. They make sure they chrome every corner to search for scouts.
Try to place the cylume straws so that it is visible to the direction
that u r coming, not both direction...
N pray hard that the aggressor company is having their off days.
I think the route of infiltration is screwed up badly by the CO, S2, S3 or which OCs.
claymore mines + ambush platoon would have replace the messing up of cylume straws...
So how well did 2 sir did for ATEC ?
it was some cock up place la..Originally posted by equlus84:Looks like INF does lots of FIBUA stuff compared to during my time in GDS. So what water refinery u all protect? Did u all deploy in the premises of the water refinery? Or was the water refinery an abandon plant?
For the OPFOR messing up CRT. I think one of the way to avoid this is to introduce only one drop of the cylume solution into the marker. Bury the marker with some leaves to make it obvious only to those wearing NVG.
Ehhh... This a tad sensitive to put up??Originally posted by Cro-Magnon:Our battalion exercise always like this...
Troop concentration. This is the time to slack off a little, cook some nice food, snatch a nap, etc, before the "siong" stuff begins. Some Advance party people (scouts, landing zone party) will be heli-inserted.
Flying time. Everybody will get to fly.
Not sure if it is the same, but for us, the CO will have a "Vanguard" company flying in first. The vanguard will move off before the rest of the unit is flowned in. They will secure all the major danger areas, trigger off any ambushes and engage any opforce partols.
The rest of the unit can then move very fast to the objective with minimial contacts with the opforce.
Then whack the enemy lor.
No lahOriginally posted by Cro-Magnon:Our battalion exercise always like this...
Troop concentration. This is the time to slack off a little, cook some nice food, snatch a nap, etc, before the "siong" stuff begins. Some Advance party people (scouts, landing zone party) will be heli-inserted.
Flying time. Everybody will get to fly.
Not sure if it is the same, but for us, the CO will have a "Vanguard" company flying in first. The vanguard will move off before the rest of the unit is flowned in. They will secure all the major danger areas, trigger off any ambushes and engage any opforce partols.
The rest of the unit can then move very fast to the objective with minimial contacts with the opforce.
Then whack the enemy lor.
Allo.. I believe numbers about an infantry / guards battalions have been discussed rather openly already. Heck it even came out in Straits Times many years back.. Its operational concepts that are more sensitive.Originally posted by chanjyj:No lah
He never mentioned the size of the company at all i.e. how many men... if got other country people come here KPO you think they know? anyway other country intelligence sure know these things one lah... thiese kind of things how to hide? it doesn't matter *grin*
He didn't mention one company got how many platoons either
sometimes the heli cannot find a place dat's suitable for landing .. so heli insertion is more appropriate in that sense.Originally posted by chanjyj:I know bout the rappelling, but.. (this one need expert to tell me liao)
What's the advatage of rappelling from heli compared to normal entry-exit of helicopter?
And btw will the rappelling take place under enemy fire?
Never happened to me. Happened to you?? Ouch!Originally posted by Hellraiza:ever had the bird move off even before you've touched the ground during fast roping?