Ha-Woo! Ha-Woo! Ha-Woo!Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:pack 300 of our best commandos and 1 competent general off to iran
Not when Iran is concerned..Originally posted by Shotgun:I think it would be likely that we'd request Israel to help us mount the rescue operation. Of course, we'd have to do them a favor as well....
heck.. Israel thinks of herself first and I don't blame her.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Not when Iran is concerned..
We should stand firm.. should.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It would not be in our interest to hang our own guys for the sake of relations with a state that is not close to us, nor vital to our national interests. As long as they engaged in self-defense, and were acting within their UN task req before the engagement, I'd think we should simply stand firm, maybe apologise for a misunderstanding, but we should never ever hang our boys out to dry.
Right, and you think Iranian-Israeli rivalry only extends to monthly haranguing speeches by Ahmedinejad?Originally posted by chanjyj:heck.. Israel thinks of herself first and I don't blame her.
Which country will mount a mission and risks the lives of her own soldiers for another country with no obvious benefits? And Isreal is really manpower short in a region where there are so many enemies against it, not to mention the domestic terrorism it faces.
So much for inspiring love for the nation. And an insult to the martial tradition of not leaving your boys behind.Originally posted by Joshua1975:i dun think it will be reported if our boys are seized.
dun think it will ever "happen" as well. oni for some. those "some" know SAF will not be doing anything to get them out when they sign on the dotted line.
still, I, say again, I, think our guys will not be in a sit where there is oni 15 of ours at one point of time.Originally posted by LazerLordz:So much for inspiring love for the nation. And an insult to the martial tradition of not leaving your boys behind.
Anyway, we're not talking of black ops chaps being caught behind enemy lines, but rather if our navy boys doing coalition work last year, were caught in a similar situation.
If you were CDF, which General will you appoint to lead a crack troop of 300 ?Originally posted by OO_OO_OO:pack 300 of our best commandos and 1 competent general off to iran
The orders were to stand down and not ignite a war. Perhaps the RN brass believed that it would be a repeat of the 2004 incident?Originally posted by insouciant:Actually, I have been wondering about that myself.
The Marines were from the HMS Cromwell, a destroyer, how is it that they didn't respond? They have helicopters on the darn ship.
And if the Iranians were in Iraqi waters, why didn't the Marines attempt to escape (granted we don't ahve all the info of what happened) and open fire when fired upon.
This would tell all smugglers, "hey, the Marines won't fire when threated, so if they try to board us, we'll just threaten them!"
Again, granted we don't have all the facts, but it does seem to raise some interesting questions.
You may have some point there, but the number of rated personnel available for boarding and inspection is always fixed, because the assets in theatre are finite. I don't think our usual ratio of blue vs red would necessarily be suitable for use there though..Originally posted by Joshua1975:still, I, say again, I, think our guys will not be in a sit where there is oni 15 of ours at one point of time.
a simple break down of commencing search ops. layman term. command ship, back up ship, secure ship all in place. dead sure target not arm. dispatch SOF/NDU. nothing found, go back ship. fire fight on the search ship, R.O.E. shoot to kill. if member get caught? what do you think the "ship" "boat" will be going if 3 other of us are waiting not forgetting we have "cannons."
R.O.E. for SAF had clearly state what to do for our guys on the ground. (for each OPS) repeat again, SAF do not go in on small number unless dead sure, target not arm, even so, still go in with overwhelming numbers.
trade mark of SG = KS.
GOV do not have the answer to why a man "son" died because they the GOV send him there.
I think once monoslayer has been there for about a few hours... he must be thinking "why the hell did i volunteer for this?!?!"Originally posted by Hellraiza:No need camo on so early...Wait for the ops order first lah
no orders, no charlie..you fly with wings ah?Originally posted by monoslayer:*mono packing his barang barang*
*camo on.*
ok! when is the 1st flight to Iran?
doctrine YES. number fix yes. KS in play, NO. SAF will just sit there till clear order to move in.Originally posted by LazerLordz:You may have some point there, but the number of rated personnel available for boarding and inspection is always fixed, because the assets in theatre are finite. I don't think our usual ratio of blue vs red would necessarily be suitable for use there though..
Good question.Originally posted by Arapahoe:the next question is willthe SAF continue to send LST as a single ship to the gulf or would it send escort as well.
The LST would not be able to response to the overwhelming ship that was encounter.
no need ops order. i m taking our best 300 men.Originally posted by LazerLordz:no orders, no charlie..you fly with wings ah?
oh wait.. take the SIA flight to Dubai, then hitchhike through Iraq yeah.
don't forget Campy too.
302nd Battalion ah, HQ Changi.Originally posted by monoslayer:no need ops order. i m taking our best 300 men.