who said it is not about like or disliking it.Now with welfare army,you get regular surveys on how is the food,if most people vote that bland nutritious food is not their choice,then it will be changed to reflect the popular vote.Originally posted by 4getmenot:its not about liking it or disliking it, its about nutrition and health value. i'm surprised that SAF would dish out such food for the soldiers to consume when they preach that combat soldiers should always remain fit for combat..
Let's put it...Originally posted by shade343:What are you complaning about? What if a company of unknown and untrusted origins wins the tender to supply food to SAF? What if the company was own by an entity that wanted to sabotage SAF? Do you fancy the entire SAF suffering from food poisoning? There is a price to pay for security and peace of mind.
Are you so sure about that?Originally posted by freakass:Simon Dean prefers to eat protein powder for all three meals.
etc...
Can someone come up with a menu to satisfy everyone?
Anyway,how the night snack nowadays? Still having buns?not buns, but high-class buns.
my time is the brandless round bun...the filling inside is so little...Originally posted by Nikar2:(Marco Simone)
not buns, but high-class buns.
it's those long, rectangular Gardenia buns with sweet paste inside, like vanilla, chocolate or strawberry. quite good life liao.
last time i always stun a lot back home.......so much that my family do need to buy bread from the neighbourhood confectionary!!!!!!!! the idea is : when you're in SAF, try to suck value from them.
I seriously hate the food in SAF. But i wld like to say think it back if u go to war u still have to chew tree barks. Dun be choosy. The food that u and i or other men that has been through NS has eaten are better then those food that 3rd world ppl are eating everyday. When i was at vietnam for business trip, at this "restaurant" near my hotel. Every evening i see kids which are being handicapped by local "Begging" syndicates, crawling or limping to tables for money...i dun think they have chicken wings or even bee hoon to eat...i'm sure they won't mind chicken wing everyday.Originally posted by borntolive:i hope saf can do something about food we consume. i am not complaining about taste of food although its pathetic , i m complaining about the nutrition value.
lets see typical meals at my place. Breakfast manily are 1 (Baos n kuehs), 2(Fired beehon/mee thats very oily), 3 (Thawed parata with super oily curry),4(Chee chiong fun)..etc
Lunch n DInner . Every week will have ~2-3times friend kuay teow/mee with fried chicken wing, patties. ~1 time mee goreng with again fried chicken wing. ~2 times nasi lemak with fried chicken wing or fish (thats 3/4 flour).
rest are just rice n vege n meats n most of time meats are fried..
As u can see complete unnutritous. Almost everyday garanteed will have fired stuff. N i m complaining about the taste yet . PLs lah liddat how fight war when everyone either is too fat or too skinny
Actually u may not noe but every meal, they got calculate the nutritional level like how many calories la etc. (Saw the nutitional values list b4)Originally posted by borntolive:i hope saf can do something about food we consume. i am not complaining about taste of food although its pathetic , i m complaining about the nutrition value.
lets see typical meals at my place. Breakfast manily are 1 (Baos n kuehs), 2(Fired beehon/mee thats very oily), 3 (Thawed parata with super oily curry),4(Chee chiong fun)..etc
Lunch n DInner . Every week will have ~2-3times friend kuay teow/mee with fried chicken wing, patties. ~1 time mee goreng with again fried chicken wing. ~2 times nasi lemak with fried chicken wing or fish (thats 3/4 flour).
rest are just rice n vege n meats n most of time meats are fried..
As u can see complete unnutritous. Almost everyday garanteed will have fired stuff. N i m complaining about the taste yet . PLs lah liddat how fight war when everyone either is too fat or too skinny
u cant do that cause it may risk food poisoning =)Originally posted by borntolive:LMAO 5.50 i can buy a very delicious n nutritious food outside
Originally posted by toll123:i do agree that SFI foods is unhealthy most of the times but sometimes those 'unhealthy' food tastes not bad.........
during my NSF days in kranji camp, I have 'experienced' special meals nasi padang, nasi briyani, nasi lemak, western meals, pasta, laksa, prawn mee etc and apart from the laksa and pasta, others are considered acceptable......
and i do agree that apart from western and pasta meals, $S5.50 per meal is damn to ex........
a also wonder how much does SAF paid SFI for night snacks......... during my days the worst i can get is 2 bread spread with butter n kaya.......
I cant rem much abt the price, but a rough guideOriginally posted by toll123:and i do agree that apart from western and pasta meals, $S5.50 per meal is damn to ex........
a also wonder how much does SAF paid SFI for night snacks......... during my days the worst i can get is 2 bread spread with butter n kaya.......
No chance of that coz a central system is better for controllingOriginally posted by Arapahoe:Do u think SAF will revert back to individual unit cooks?
joseph
Like some forumers say here, SFI cant please everyoneOriginally posted by Hidden^OnE:1 thing I really have problem with is cordial.
Why serve us colored sugar water? Milk or soya milk would be so much better. Anytime, anyday.
the messing warrant and his boyz will go thruOriginally posted by R3SsH|n:they have this survey for recruits to fill up at the end of bmt..
but seriously...who really think it will go through?
too add onOriginally posted by racingmafia:I seriously hate the food in SAF. But i wld like to say think it back if u go to war u still have to chew tree barks. Dun be choosy. The food that u and i or other men that has been through NS has eaten are better then those food that 3rd world ppl are eating everyday. When i was at vietnam for business trip, at this "restaurant" near my hotel. Every evening i see kids which are being handicapped by local "Begging" syndicates, crawling or limping to tables for money...i dun think they have chicken wings or even bee hoon to eat...i'm sure they won't mind chicken wing everyday.
yea i've being to the army alright, just that i served the NS of my birth place instead, 28 months stint with 4 season, its too bad you guys have to lan lan and suck it up, a first world country with a first world system serving up junk food to their NS soldiers.. tsk tsk..Originally posted by GenX:who said it is not about like or disliking it.Now with welfare army,you get regular surveys on how is the food,if most people vote that bland nutritious food is not their choice,then it will be changed to reflect the popular vote.
If you have being in the army b4,i wonder why are you surprised?Never heard of the term wayang?Everything is just wayanging inside,so as if the army really care you eat good nutritious food,at the end of the day,it is just about the budget and how much they can save.As long as the menu is popular among most soldiers,they will try to get away as much as possible with it.So you end up with oily unhealthy food that taste a tad better than nutritious food.The army is not going to spend extra effort to use special cooking methods to make nutritious food taste better when there are cheaper easier alternative.So dun be surprised,army should by "right" but almost everything is by "left".
So just lanlan suck it up,either you eat it or you pay your own $$$.Unless you can convince the majority of soldiers to like bland healthy food,then accept the situation,at least now the food is much much better.Everytime i go back for reservist,it always reminds me how lucky the present batch are,got such good food compared to our era.
Seriously the food is not junk lor... Go comapre it with those from other countries... Ours is definitely not the worst... You speak like you are farting... Wat a shame..Originally posted by 4getmenot:yea i've being to the army alright, just that i served the NS of my birth place instead, 28 months stint with 4 season, its too bad you guys have to lan lan and suck it up, a first world country with a first world system serving up junk food to their NS soldiers.. tsk tsk..
The descption of the food really sound not healthy but is still edible, right?Originally posted by Simon Dean:To:freakass
Its the year 2007 not 1967 , people should be more aware of healthy food.
The threadstarter has already mentioned that he does not mind if its BLAND but is NUTRITIOUS.My, do you even read properly before jumping the gun.
Unlike the typical Singaporean who eats what suits his palate, the threadstarter is eating as a means of healthy living.