why will you wan to do that? your CO can be a bastard to take away all your off(off is prilvillege) leave if can be rescheduled to give you scatterred for 2 months. then what can you do?Originally posted by powser:i can be on standby in school what.
Anyway disruption means having to come back for one more month... and looking at all the disruptees that came back to my unit, I have to say I wanna avoid it at all cost. They are treated quite badly and there's nothing you can do abt that.
But oh well. Looks like I have no choice. If anyone else can offer some viable options, do let me know. Thanks.
I dun understand though, yes u an get charged if you dun respond to a mobilization. But I can still go back when i'm in school what. I can even skip lectures and stuff if they want me back. Is there any grounds to charging me just because I entered school?
Option 1 has always been the way to do it. The problem with the threadstarter is he doesn't want to defer at all. His CO wouldnt have rejected him if he was applying for deferment.Originally posted by BillyBong:Firstly, 'off' is not a 'given', it is an undeclared previlege and will not hold up if one is court-martialed or charged. Official Leave is the only thing that is solid leverage.
Next, i cannot understand why your CO is making such a restriction despite the fact that he is a likely grad himself. But if he does plan to make good on his threat, you can take the following measures:
1. Apply for deferment, citing your university entrance. He cannot deny you this option should you choose it and most likely, he wants all NSF stff to adopt this policy, but uses indirect threats instead of being candid about it.
2. Approach your MP if things get hot. What are they for anyway?
You could always skip school for one day right.Originally posted by CoolMyth:My own situation is even weirder.
I ORDed on the 2nd day of my university course. So in effect, if I were to disrupt, I will have to disrupt for one day (or 2 is you are to strictly follow that I will ORDed at 1700 on the second day).
Tell me, will you disrupt for one day?
It's still available as far as I know. I know of 2 chaps who have disrupted despite having to serve 2 years. If anything's changed since I ORDed in February then I'm not aware of it, but it's a stupid move.Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:Firstly, are u a 2yr soldier? if u are, den u cannot apply for disruption. tts a new directive for 2yr soldiers.
Originally posted by madcampus:Well said, which was the point i raised in my post also. Just go for your studies and don't worry about it. Seriously, on your leave days, nobody will bother you unless something important. Trust me. Only MC then they will check you.
very simple. just take leave and go for your studies.
the predicament here is your CO will never openly say it's OK to go for studies during your NSF period (even though on leave). It's written in black and white liao. i believe your CO is not that heartless to hold people back, he wouldn't gain credit or promotion from such minor issues. but just to cover his own ass, he has to make a stand to follow the directive.
i'm sure everyone know this common saying in SAF [b]"wanna do anything, just dun get caught." beneath this saying is alot more depth to it.
give you an example.
when i was in taiwan for excercise, the ninja vans are all over whenever you're outfield. SAF rule is we are not allowed to buy from them. But we also cannot stop them from selling, coz it's their land, their country, their livlihood, who are we foreigners to prevent them from making a living in their own country right?
ok so they sell, and we reservist and active NSFs buy discreetly from them. our CSMs, RSMs also never stop us, just close one eye. they even tell us not to buy or eat the food so openly, just be more discreet. but the official ruling still apply - not allowed.
so why you might ask?? it's just one of those many official "cover backside" rulings any government agencies will have. I mean what happens if SAF personals were to kenna food poisoning? kenna bird flu? who is going to answer?? that is when the cover-backside rule comes in effect. you kenna food poisoning, your own pasar. dun expect SAF to compensate you for food poisoning when ur parents come complain, write letters to papers yadda yadda... COZ the directive already given not to buy from ninja van liao.
OK, back to your studies issue. take a look from the above example. it's a general workstyle SAF (or any government stats board) have for years. just take leave, dun ask questions, dun kaypoh, dun ask for rights, dun ask for MP help, dun write to press... just quietly go for your studies.
when you start working in the corporate world, this similar cover-backside standing rule issue will always be around. wanna do anything, just dun get caught. [/b]
aiya i think you dont understand SAF. going clubbing is different from studies. Just like why you cannot work doing NSF?Originally posted by powser:First of all, thank you very much for all the replies and advices I've received. I have called the 1800 hotline on the ns.sg website, and the person on the line told me that the CO has the final say in such matters. I didn't use any threat like going to MP and stuff though.
The point here is well I do have offs AND all my leave left. Even if he decides to remove my Offs, he shudn't stop me from studying during my leave either rite?
I mean if your CO says "No you can't go clubbing while u r clearing your leave and off" it's a direct invasion of personal rights. However I know going for studies is different, but how different is it to warrant a charge? After all, I'd still go back to unit and skip classes if there's manpower issues or any recall. Heck my friend even offered to return to the unit to help out during days without classes (even when on off/leave) but was rejected as well.
Returning-from-disruption people in my unit will undergo extremely long and unmanly hours as the current batch will always be looting them. It's always like that. I've seen them come back and go.
There are people in worse scenarios than me, those going SIM. They can't go and study and they can't apply disruption either because SIM is not recognized in SAf for disruption. Of course, my CO doens't give a damn and said a flat NO to them. Heck some of them has even paid school fees and now they're in this predicament.