a bit only... then better strongly advise not. i believed u even have not serve the nation in conscription yet. as others all advise, go thru 1st, then see how. its like..... u love to drink carrot juice by saying, BUT u have not even drink it yet.Originally posted by soggy87:i am wondering how do we get to the rank of warrant officer? is it by signing on?
i am a bit interested in the career of SAF.
is signing on as an officer different from signing on during poly days?Originally posted by sir sickolot II:i suppose when u enlist ( or if u're already in the service) you could inform your PC you wish to sign on as an Officer.
Your PC (be it WO or 2LT) would be in a good position to tell you about life in command school for example, and maybe some insights to regular life.
Should you wish to take up a part time degree course during your 6/10 year bond, note that it's not going to be easy as you might have operational requirements/duties/overseas exercise... and all these might effectively clash with your studies.
Whilst i've seen regulars getting their tertiary education while in green, they are mainly combatants in training schools or are in the technical vocations with no ( or little) ops stand by.
hope this helps!
First off, there is no such thing as sign on as officer. To make it to OCS, they choose you and not you choose. Even if u have made your intentions clear during BMT or pre NS, once you coc!k-up your BMT, you have no chance in going to OCS. (Exceptions: White horse, scholars, Ultra-Nerds, etc)Originally posted by soggy87:is signing on as an officer different from signing on during poly days?
I assume it is a 10 years bond? but why must i wait till 6/10 years then i can study part time uni? cant i go part time after 2 or 3 years?
what about signing on after getting a degree?Originally posted by octega:First off, there is no such thing as sign on as officer. To make it to OCS, they choose you and not you choose. Even if u have made your intentions clear during BMT or pre NS, once you coc!k-up your BMT, you have no chance in going to OCS. (Exceptions: White horse, scholars, Ultra-Nerds, etc)
Current WOSE path is a 10 years bond. End of 10 years, if u are eligible, they renew your bond for the next 10 year. Armed with Dip, most rank achieve by the end of the first 10 year is ususally Staff Sergeant (please do correct me if I'm wrong)
Part-time studies can be taken atleast 3 years after sign-on. This is because part-time entry to Uni (this is based on NTU enrollment requirements) is to have a basic of 3 years of working experience (the last time I checked).
Difference between poly sign on compare to BMT/Unit sign on?
Ans: sign on during poly is EVEN MORE harder to break the bond. Why? Because once u sign on AKA poly scholarship thingy, they start to pay you monthly salary.
To you, it may seems like a great idea: schooling and can still get paid.
To SAF: It is their insurance policy. why? Once you try to break bond, they will force you to pay the amount of money paid to you during the poly days back to them. It is not funny matter, I have a fren's bro who break bond, he has to negotiate a installment plan with SAF to pay back the amount. If not he is declared bankrupt even before he step into society to work.
So be smart because SAF is not stupid.
degree?.. then u better off working with home affairs...Originally posted by soggy87:what about signing on after getting a degree?
how will it be like?
what will to you after you sign on with a degree when you have a rank of coporal or segerant
normally how long is the duty? issit possible to plan all ur part time studies at weekends as it's much simpler and manageble?Originally posted by octega:First off, regiment is standard. It is how they want to enforced in your unit. Example: In my active days, I experience a cross over period of 2 RSM. One is more "close one eye" and have more leeways. The other enforced regiment to the core.
So you might have heard that some units less regimental but might not be the case when you enlist.
For sign on, I still stand by my words: Experience first then decide. (I have frens who all regret after sign on and now they are stuck in a job they find it sucky)
You are right on part-time studies. Take NTU part-time EEE, typical 3 modules per sem, taking atleast 3 days per week (could have more depending on schedule such as lab lessons and all weekday class). Starting from 7 to 10pm.
So basically once you are on duty (be it COS/BOS/duty officer/etc) you are stuck in camp and miss lessons unless of course you volunteer to switch all your duties to weekend duties (then alot of your army buddies will super thank you and you basically have no life )
Part-time for SAF from I observed, they are ususally from air-force and Navy (non-sailing) mostly from tech/service vocations. And it is not easy and requires alot of commitment from family/work, drop out rate for part-timers is quite high by the end of the final year, one lecture hall could only seat less than 10 students per module.
ask him if he likes to stay in pulau ubin for 5 days or not...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Do you love military affairs and being a soldier? Would you jump to volunteer for overseas humanitarian missions and be a peacekeeper?
If not, please think long and hard.
1) its obvious u HAVE NOT EVEN SERVE THE NATION YET.....Originally posted by soggy87:what about signing on after getting a degree?
how will it be like?
what will to you after you sign on with a degree when you have a rank of coporal or segerant
overseas Exercises duties e.g. in ex wallaby in australia can spread up to 2 mths.Originally posted by coldstar:normally how long is the duty? issit possible to plan all ur part time studies at weekends as it's much simpler and manageble?
why not? i did.Originally posted by mhcampboy:degree?.. then u better off working with home affairs...
hm....i think we all agree that having a degree makes one a "better" person generally.Originally posted by eac:1) its obvious u HAVE NOT EVEN SERVE THE NATION YET.....
i m sure the 1st question u ask now WILL NOT APPEAR after u have had served the nation and after awarded ur uni degree.
2) even so, sign on as officer, u see lor... whether u r classified as in the 'farmer officer' or 'scholar officer' category.
3) after that, u see u got chance to be selected to go ocs. if not, the officer scheme contract is null and thus, void.
Depends on:Originally posted by coldstar:normally how long is the duty? issit possible to plan all ur part time studies at weekends as it's much simpler and manageble?
Haha no leh degree is nothing now,like what my lecturer mention before,u went to city hall anyhow throw one stone and hit a guy,chances are 90 percent u will hit someone with a degree leh,sign on can bring in stable income getting a degree make ranks rise faster,but not everyone love to do guard duty every month LOL and being 24hrs standby.Originally posted by mhcampboy:degree?.. then u better off working with home affairs...
i don't think ( or at least in my own opinion) we are disuading degree holders to join the army. What i feel is important is that before one commits to the defence of the nation, that his intentions are right.Originally posted by wuming78:hm....i think we all agree that having a degree makes one a "better" person generally.
so, how much comfort would you have if one day, you read in the newspapers that no degree holders think about joining the SAF, i.e. none of the "better" persons in our society joins the SAF? would you feel very secure?
so on one hand, while we have our personal experiences and hence prejudices and would like to share them to ppl who think of signing on, on the other hand, for the sake of ourselves and everyone else and for the long run, we should distinguish our subjective comments from the objective ones when attempting to give advice.
imagine if all of us are successful in desuading degree holders (or in fact, anyone at all) from signing on, then what? arent we just shooting ourselves in the foot?
if wad u said is true, then how the hell do some pple managed wif their studies wif so many duties waiting for them?Originally posted by octega:Depends on:
1.) Duty type
2.) And how many duties u have in one month.
For my active days, a CPL/3SG will confirm have atleast 3 duties per month. Note the word "atleast" because I cannot gurantee in the end how many one person will kena. But as guide, if you kena 3 duties, you consider super duper lucky and heng.
Duty type: depending on rank, duties will vary, consider CPL/3SG, possible duties include
1.) Company Orderly Sergeant (COS)
2.) Duty clerk/Duty Medic (specific to vocation)
3.) Guard Comm (Ususally this is specific to camp and can take different forms)
4.) "Dirty" duties AKA Sai gang. Example, everytime unit got exercise, you have to do sai gang outfield regardless you are combatant or non-combatant.
5.) Extras. AKA punishments. "What better way to punish you, give you extra duties"
6.) Others (Here means Duties specific to your unit. For example, my unit has Duty Mess Boy)
So you can estimate, one month can kena how many times. Duties can range from standby of 24hrs or office hours or after office hours (like mess boy duties) or depending on the nature of your duties.
Weekend duties, you can either request to your immediate superior or you swapped between your peers
Like I said, it depends on your rank, vocation, camp, unit.Originally posted by coldstar:if wad u said is true, then how the hell do some pple managed wif their studies wif so many duties waiting for them?
and besides,this only happens at the army n air force rite? navy is not included?