You do realise that tough training and all that isn't enough to prepare a soldier for war? There is the psychological aspect that can still break the soldier. None of our soldiers have actually raised a firearm and shot a human. When they start to see the horrors of the battlefield, with blood and gore and limps all around, this "care for soldier" by your definition would potentially fail utterly and send lots of soldiers insane?Originally posted by Ristar:Care For Soldiers
my understanding for this Core Value is that you put them through a lot of crap and tough training so that they will survive on the battlefield and excel in their task.
this is the Army, not a nursery. we (NSF, Regulars and NSmen) are the one and only force standing in between foreign invaders and the women and children. please keep that in mind.
it is sad that a person took his own life. however, he was screwed up before hand, the Army only exacerbated his problems. but, it was his own lust for the new handphone, and getting caught, that made him do it. it was his own cowardice and fear of going to DB that made him cut his wrist.
his own personality flaw is the root of the problem, not the Army. such irresponsible behaviour is unbecoming of a soldier, anyway.
and i agree that NSFs should get more pay. mine was crap, high risk, real ops, practical and knowledge based, but crap pay. knn.
Relax.. We're not in a war.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:You do realise that tough training and all that isn't enough to prepare a soldier for war? There is the psychological aspect that can still break the soldier. None of our soldiers have actually raised a firearm and shot a human. When they start to see the horrors of the battlefield, with blood and gore and limps all around, this "care for soldier" by your definition would potentially fail utterly and send lots of soldiers insane?
During WWII, most US soldiers did not fire their gun. Would you like to call them cowards?
and i hope that our soldiers will never be required to raise their weapon and fire at a human being.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:You do realise that tough training and all that isn't enough to prepare a soldier for war? There is the psychological aspect that can still break the soldier. None of our soldiers have actually raised a firearm and shot a human. When they start to see the horrors of the battlefield, with blood and gore and limps all around, this "care for soldier" by your definition would potentially fail utterly and send lots of soldiers insane?
During WWII, most US soldiers did not fire their gun. Would you like to call them cowards?
[b]Originally posted by t_a_s:NS is a stupid thing, our soldiers cant fight, go inside camp become stress, that is why suiside, gah men waste alot in defence, singapore is a small country, one missile the whole island is gone, civil defence is more relevent.
but you too admit that ns was an additional excaberating factor in the guy suiciding or ruining his life right?Originally posted by Ristar:Care For Soldiers
my understanding for this Core Value is that you put them through a lot of crap and tough training so that they will survive on the battlefield and excel in their task.
this is the Army, not a nursery. we (NSF, Regulars and NSmen) are the one and only force standing in between foreign invaders and the women and children. please keep that in mind.
it is sad that a person took his own life. however, he was screwed up before hand, the Army only exacerbated his problems. but, it was his own lust for the new handphone, and getting caught, that made him do it. it was his own cowardice and fear of going to DB that made him cut his wrist.
his own personality flaw is the root of the problem, not the Army. such irresponsible behaviour is unbecoming of a soldier, anyway.
and i agree that NSFs should get more pay. mine was crap, high risk, real ops, practical and knowledge based, but crap pay. knn.
by missile, you mean atomic bomb. in the unlikely event that a country possessing nuclear weapons wants Singapore... then yes, all gone IF they use it.Originally posted by t_a_s:NS is a stupid thing, our soldiers cant fight, go inside camp become stress, that is why suiside, gah men waste alot in defence, singapore is a small country, one missile the whole island is gone, civil defence is more relevent.
yes.Originally posted by hisoka:but you too admit that ns was an additional excaberating factor in the guy suiciding or ruining his life right?
anyway, most of those who been in army will know that the camps are pretty depressing places. small surprise that a person with problems will be driven to worse plight while in them.
but then again, i wonder what can be done even if the government wants to
please allow me to be the first to agree with you.Originally posted by FireAndHell:If you think that you guys can't take the stress that NSF dished out to you, do you think you can take the stress that is dished out by a civilian job?
Them civilian jobs with all the backstabbing, sizing you up before you can even prove yourself, superiors and management belittling you and judging you when you make one small silly mistake and condaming you for the rest of your miserable life in the company, with the only recourse left for you is to resign and go look for another job? And you can never ever hope to establish yourself if you keep rolling from one job to the next...like in "rolling stone gathers no moss"??
At least the time spent in serving NSF hardens a young man, which will help the man to take the brutal and harsh nature of a backstabbing, judgemental civilian job.
Those who do not agree with this statement, either have not gone through tough Army life himself or may have served his NSF in some low life forms in the Services or have been totally exempted from serving!!
different cases. stress is one thing, conscription is another. some may be able to take the stress well, but not be able to take the isolation and forced militarism + depressing atmosphereOriginally posted by FireAndHell:[b]
If you think that you guys can't take the stress that NSF dished out to you, do you think you can take the stress that is dished out by a civilian job?
Them civilian jobs with all the backstabbing, sizing you up before you can even prove yourself, superiors and management belittling you and judging you when you make one small silly mistake and condaming you for the rest of your miserable life in the company, with the only recourse left for you is to resign and go look for another job? And you can never ever hope to establish yourself if you keep rolling from one job to the next...like in "rolling stone gathers no moss"??
At least the time spent in serving NSF hardens a young man, which will help the man to take the brutal and harsh nature of a backstabbing, judgemental civilian job.
Those who do not agree with this statement, either have not gone through tough Army life himself or may have served his NSF in some low life forms in the Services or have been totally exempted from serving!!
Armies these days are volunteer armies and not draft. They are professional. Ours does not count. A totally different scenario. These people agreed to fight and they are thrown into far tougher training at the start to weed out the weak. There is a option to quit. Here, we have none. You can't quit, except end up in DB.Originally posted by Ristar:and i hope that our soldiers will never be required to raise their weapon and fire at a human being.
stressing them out mentally is the only thing we can do now. if they cannot even take stress during training, they will die in combat earlier.
however, by your logic that in WW II, US soldiers did not fire their weapon, how come sodiers now fire their weapon? dun tell me soldiers now are from WW II.
to my understanding, in WW II, people train with bullseye targets. that is why live firing ranges change their target boards to silhouette targets.
my point, training tries to prepare one for the worst. one who receives training will do better than one who never received any.
and your point would be?Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Armies these days are volunteer armies and not draft. They are professional. Ours does not count. A totally different scenario. These people agreed to fight and they are thrown into far tougher training at the start to weed out the weak. There is a option to quit. Here, we have none. You can't quit, except end up in DB.
Who are you to judge whether this person is made of the same stuff as the rest? Just because you made it doesn't mean every one should and would.Originally posted by Ristar:and your point would be?
we are talking about stress, arent we?
thousands upon thousands of able bodied males have gone through the same crap. wat makes this guy different?
2 words i mentioned before.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:Who are you to judge whether this person is made of the same stuff as the rest? Just because you made it doesn't mean every one should and would.
It is presumptuous to assume this, and this is possibly one of many social factors that drive people already deep in despair from asking from help in the first place because admitting he is in trouble merely opens the way for people to start ostracising him, as if he doesn't feel ostracised enough.
A person in despair needs sympathy, empathy and help not self righteous arrogance.
Natural Selection!?!?!Originally posted by Ristar:2 words i mentioned before.
natural selection.
stealing is not asking for help.
he decided he should die. i rest my case.
Or have we decided to go so low with high and holiness and dictate who should die and should fail?
simi lj badge? f--- u lah, u got serve the army before or not? knn, talking cock with me.
Do you honestly think a person is going to wear a badge of honour and say "I need help?" and fear possible exile? The army is built on the idea of strength over the weak. In such environment, anyone would fear being at the bottom of the food chain since it leaves them utterly powerless in the face of "fate".
yes, but another study shows that people have suicidal thoughts at some point in their lives. wat is important is how one deals with it. as i have noted down earlier, personality is a trait that is genetic, hereditary, and experience based, the experience causing the person to have a map by which he would experience the world.
Suicidal thoughts are not simply thoughts.
aye, choco B... i agree with you wholeheartedly on this matter.Originally posted by choco B:One can only speculate what kind of circumstance and stress the guy was under. But loss of life is always sad, sadder for those who are left behind.
every guys has to serve the army no happen what, it part of your life as a singaporean...Originally posted by near:Don't blame the army than blame who? These people did not chose to serve ns..
If they had chosen to sign on and than can't take the pressure and commit suicide than it will be their fault because they chose to do so..
But these people did not chose to serve the army..so there is only the army to blame
Rank is not everything in the SAF. It's your appointment that counts.And second to that, your ability to work and know how to watch your six.Originally posted by Ristar:like i said. criminal offense is not asking for help. please read the edited post.
studies have also shown that the power of suggestion; giving a person a placebo for his mental instability while telling him it will make him better, is quite powerful too.
and, mentally unstable patients can ask for support from family (cannot be parents also abandon him), see a shrink, or do self hypnosis if he is trained or read up on it.
no, hypnosis is not dangling a bloody pendulum in front of u, if u r thinking along that rubbish line.
yes, but another study shows that people have suicidal thoughts at some point in their lives. wat is important is how one deals with it. as i have noted down earlier, personality is a trait that is genetic, hereditary, and experience based, the experience causing the person to have a map by which he would experience the world.
the experience would be altered by additional factors that are but not limited to, money and looks accordingly... and upbringing. whether one is fugly, or handsome, a pauper, or filthy rich has an impact on one's life.simi lj badge? f--- u lah, u got serve the army before or not? knn, talking @!*@ with me.
RANK is most important. RANK decides whether u r weak or strong. RANK is everything. understand?
u think u r strong, but if u r a bloody Enlistee (REC up to CPL), every bloody day u are required to sweep the floor, throw rubbish, and all the random sh!t, on top of your work. it does not matter wat u think, because RANK is the most important thing in the SAF.
RANK can cause old men (SSG and up) to talk nicely to a young 2LT and suck up to him by driving him home everyday. RANK can also cause the same people to curse and swear at those lower RANK than him.
if he is a bloody PTE, he'd better resign himself to fate for the next 2 years. because guess wat? he IS at the very bottom of the food chain. only outranking REC, OCT (who will be officers sooner or later) and the detainees in DB. none of whom he would have a chance to meet... while he was still alive. and do not expect an OCT to greet n treat a PTE with too much respect.
knn, strength over the weak... hah! f u lah. dun read too many story books
thank you.
Sadly, the grunts on the ground will always tend to fall into a situation where they have neither rank, nor appointment.
ok, cool.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Please read On Killing by Lt. Col. Dave Grossman to understand more on why soldiers in WW2 (and other wars before that) tended not to fire their weapons at the enemy and why this rate increased in Korea, Vietnam and finally Iraq in which firing rates are as high as they ever could be.
Yea this is on the macro view... I would rather sacrifice a little kid than the whole of Singapore's mother sister and daugther raped and pillage by who ever has a bigger guns...Originally posted by near:You can't say that.
Being a young kid who knows nothing about responsibility and when aroused by his sexual desires, it is not suprising that he will have underage sex..He is just a human who makes mistakes like all human being does.