Originally posted by Moi magicmushroom:erm commando survive course required u to eat live animal from the jungle?
Don't sweat it - by the time you it it, it won't be alive.
Originally posted by Gedanken:Don't sweat it - by the time you it it, it won't be alive.
u mean it already dead? and u jux nd to kill a dead bird or something?
Originally posted by Gedanken:Don't sweat it - by the time you it it, it won't be alive.
How is the commando one like?
They got tell u guys to wear or bring wad? Looks like i will need to get wet.
Mine is gona take one whole day, must report early in the morning at sembawang MRT and transport will be provided, sounds so exciting
seems like there are few or none in the NDU here? All the NDU personnel so quiet!
Originally posted by eac:
Source: www.ns.sg
Vocational Assessment
Introduction
The Vocational Assessment Centre (VAC) conducts a battery of tests called the Manpower Aptitude Assessment System (MAPAS) to assess your mental abilities. This is so that we can maximize our limited manpower by putting people where their abilities can be best used.
Your Vocational Assessment scores will affect important decisions, which include assignment to a vocation and selection to be a commander (Officer, Specialist).
Therefore, you should put in as much effort as possible to do the tests well and accurately, as this will not only help the nation maximize it's limited manpower, but also help us place you into vocations that will make good use of your abilities.
What are the tests like
We use different sub-tests to measure different types of mental ability. Some of the mental abilities that we measure include memory, speed of responding, abstract reasoning, following complex instructions, solving mathematical problems, mental spatial ability, and psycho-motor skills. Please click on the following links to try out some of these tests.
a) Word analogies
b) Number reasoning
c) Picture reasoning
All the sub-tests are computer administered. Most of the sub-tests will present a problem or question on the screen and you will need to respond accordingly. Some sub-tests however, measure speed or hand-eye co-ordination and may look like simple computer games.
How long is the test at VAC
Since we have to be as accurate as possible, we need to measure as wide a range of your abilities as is possible. Thus, the testing will require about 2 to 2 1/2 hours of your time.
What to do
- Do not worry too much. All we require you to do is to do your best. Each sub-test has instructions to guide you on what to do.
- Ask for help: If you have problems understanding any of the sub-tests or the instructions during testing, there will be people on-site to help you.
- Get a good night's sleep. Come for the test with a fresh mind.
Thanks eac,
btw this VAC thing sounds like the one i already did at CMPB for my initial medical check up?
Originally posted by Pitot:Thanks eac,
btw this VAC thing sounds like the one i already did at CMPB for my initial medical check up?
just add 2 more activities: 2-to-1 interview n some simple physical tests.
Oh i see. thanks alot.
Originally posted by Pitot:How is the commando one like?
They got tell u guys to wear or bring wad? Looks like i will need to get wet.
Mine is gona take one whole day, must report early in the morning at sembawang MRT and transport will be provided, sounds so exciting
seems like there are few or none in the NDU here? All the NDU personnel so quiet!
Originally posted by carzygoul:
i was told to bring my ic, napfa test slip (if any), writing material, PT kit, and towel to commando camp..
lol same, plus i have to bring trunks and goggles.
Originally posted by Pitot:lol same, plus i have to bring trunks and goggles.
Its difficult to go in also..
heard we will have a sit in the dive tank or wadever u call it also.
btw, i heard that if we get accepted, it would be very difficult for them to release us for other positions?
For eg, if i sign on as a pilot or in another organisation?
Hi everyone,
Need some advise and help here.
I just receive a letter, asking me to go for a Vocational Assessment at Sembwang Naval Base. According to my friends, most probably i'll get into NDU.
According to many, NDU is much tougher than Commando course and i have got to be mentally prepared and have lotsa endurance.
can someone briefly tell me what NDU is all about, and how's the training like? Also the prospect and pay wise. $$$ is important in singapore ah.. =X
Thanks a million
finally got to talk to my friend in NDU, booked out for the weekend..
kinda know wad wil happen for the va.
i know of a few who kena VA at NDU also... is it just a coincidence or they really spam all the PES A people?
Dear all
My bro just got a letter to report to Sembawang Naval base. Any chance he can defer and switch to SAF Commando battalion?
Originally posted by William ballack:Hi everyone,
Need some advise and help here.
I just receive a letter, asking me to go for a Vocational Assessment at Sembwang Naval Base. According to my friends, most probably i'll get into NDU.
According to many, NDU is much tougher than Commando course and i have got to be mentally prepared and have lotsa endurance.
can someone briefly tell me what NDU is all about, and how's the training like? Also the prospect and pay wise. $$$ is important in singapore ah.. =X
Thanks a million
tougher is not ur friends say this n that... they commando? they naval diver? even if u got a friend who is either one, is he cross-train in both vocations?
fyi, i'm neither...
prospect? same what, lan lan suck thumb serve 2 years or 1 yr 10 mths, then fuck off to ORD loh... then transform back to civilian n either further studies or working liao what...
pay is the same rank pay allowance across all vocations. except that combat allowance is higher / same with commando, e.g. $200? $300? so ur pay is (rank allowance + combat allowance) = pay...
fyi, standard combat allowance is $100, while Guards is $150.
Originally posted by index81:Dear all
My bro just got a letter to report to Sembawang Naval base. Any chance he can defer and switch to SAF Commando battalion?
if can choose, everyone will sure want to choose to serve ns as a driver vocation liao loh... then when finished ns, got free conversion to civilian class 3 licence... who will dun want 1...
wait long long... if he is not selected, then will receive another letter to enlist to tekong lah...
Originally posted by Moi magicmushroom:u mean it already dead? and u jux nd to kill a dead bird or something?
Okay, see if you can follow me here:
1) Take live animal
2) Kill animal
3) Cook animal
4) Eat animal
Originally posted by carzygoul:
are we able to cook it?
Depends - how rare do you want it?
sounds exciting.. but OOC rate very high
Well, I'd hate to think they're handing out those berets like lollies these days.
dont know abt the reds, i only know the NDU figures.
Originally posted by Rednano:
if can choose, everyone will sure want to choose to serve ns as a driver vocation liao loh... then when finished ns, got free conversion to civilian class 3 licence... who will dun want 1...
wait long long... if he is not selected, then will receive another letter to enlist to tekong lah...
FYI, last week, my younger brother called mindef hotline which was provided in the letter to a executive officer, he was told that there will be a chance of switching to commando trial test as the matter will be brought up to higher management.
Later today, one of the Mindef officer called and inform that he will be scheduled to report to Hendon camp for PT test and interview instead of Sembawang Naval base.
Next time please provide accurate and relevant information in the forum instead of your inconstructive comments.
What's with the class 3 license? It is just worth 400 plus minus to get at driving centre.
Originally posted by index81:
FYI, last week, my younger brother called mindef hotline which was provided in the letter to a executive officer, he was told that there will be a chance of switching to commando trial test as the matter will be brought up to higher management.Later today, one of the Mindef officer called and inform that he will be scheduled to report to Hendon camp for PT test and interview instead of Sembawang Naval base.
Man, the time are a-changin'. Back in my day, such a request would have resulted in a negative answer with some choice inferences about one's ancestry thrown in.
Maybe we can request the colour combinations for camouflage next.
Originally posted by index81:
FYI, last week, my younger brother called mindef hotline which was provided in the letter to a executive officer, he was told that there will be a chance of switching to commando trial test as the matter will be brought up to higher management.Later today, one of the Mindef officer called and inform that he will be scheduled to report to Hendon camp for PT test and interview instead of Sembawang Naval base.
Next time please provide accurate and relevant information in the forum instead of your inconstructive comments.
What's with the class 3 license? It is just worth 400 plus minus to get at driving centre.
next time, then u provide a full a/c of the story... u left out ur bro called the hotline part... duh...
anyway, past topics on commando bmt enlistment DID showed that they will enlist to tekong should they fail the VA...
For VA at NDU,
we will go thru a 50m swim test, standing broad jump, pull ups, interview, dive tank and medical plus another assesment which will take abt 2 1/2 hrs.
It will last one whole day, lunch provided i think.
For the benefit of all who got the VA at sembawang naval base.
If this is classified in anyway pls edit. posting this for all the guys who are pm-ing me.
Best of luck guys!
my friend failed the cdo va and got posted to police!