Originally posted by Rednano:
last time name for sispec...
Yup, and yes, I'm that old.
Originally posted by night_stalker:Your friend's in the JC batch right? So fast got first blood liao =/
Anyway to answer your question, they do take in PES B people.
nope he was from TP...
NDU camp got any chio ones? HAHAHA
Originally posted by kajagugu:what does SAFINCOS stand for?
thanks in advance!
:)
Singapore Armed Forces Infantry Non Commissioned Officer School
I have to report to Hendon Camp everyday before 7 from Yishun (my house area). Can anyone tell me how to go there? I've got no idea how to go! TIA!
Originally posted by coldzero:I have to report to Hendon Camp everyday before 7 from Yishun (my house area). Can anyone tell me how to go there? I've got no idea how to go! TIA!
www.sbstransit.com.sg/transport/trpt_bus_timetable.aspx
sbs bus 39, although end terminal is tampines interchange, but b4 that got pass by pasir ris interchange nearby.
smrt bus 969, also go to tampines interchange via SLE, then to TPE... but without passing by pasir ris at all...
39? I can only get to Pasir Ris Interchange this way right? What about the 969 route?
last time name for sispec...
I have an older name for you.It was called SISL (school of infantry section leaders)
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
I have an older name for you.It was called SISL (school of infantry section leaders)
Actually its SAFINCO (RINCO for regulars) then SISL then SISPEC.
How i know this?- Got confined on a Saturday during BSLC and made to clean up the heritage room
coldzero.
u can try 969-->tampines interchange(25min)
then change to bus 19(15min?) or 29(30mins?).
bus 19goes straight down to changi village area,so drop off before the cross junction
bus 29turns left at the cross junction into hendon
another alternative is take 39,drop off at tampines jc.. there's a bus 29 to hendon but u must cross the bridge.(by dropping off at halfway of 39 and alighting halfway onto 29 will cut down alot of travel time) approx. (45mins+)[morning alot of school girls][recommended]
if u take 39 to tampines(50mins)then 29 to hendon(30mins) !~you are owned~!
all the time taken is assuming you alight at khatib mrt station rofl
good luck and have fun. ORD loh
Originally posted by Man!x:Actually its SAFINCO (RINCO for regulars) then SISL then SISPEC.
How i know this?- Got confined on a Saturday during BSLC and made to clean up the heritage room
SISL for NSFs and RINCO (regular infantry Ncos)were made up of those from the SAF Boy's School.Two separate schools.Kaochai mai??
Those two schools were running simultaneuosly until they merged to form SAFINCOS.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
SISL for NSFs and RINCO (regular infantry Ncos)were made up of those from the SAF Boy's School.Two separate schools.Kaochai mai??
yeah, you are right, SSL - SISL - SAFINCOS - SISPEC, my mistake
On a side note, i once saw a pic of half naked soldiers hanging by their feet with the caption "POW Training" in the heritage room. I guess back then they take soldiering seriously!
Ok so to set the record straight it is SSL (School of section leaders) SISL (School of Infantry Section leaders) SAFINCOS (School of Armed Forces Infantry Non-Commission Officers) and SISPEC.WTF!! is a sispec??? Let me guess....School of Infantry Specialists??? As you can see it doesnt get any better.
SISPEC is the abbrievation of sch of infantry specialists. The change through out is most probably to reflect the changes to the term NCO to specialists. Should have just stick to SISL it all sounds the same to me!
Yes, SISPEC stands for School of Infantry Specialist.....Been there to stay before, for the NCC specialist course. Anw, im from the National Cadet Corps and is a fan of SAF Commandos since young.
Anyway i can sure go in to Commandos unit? I am 16 this yr, if i go BAC next year through NCC, will it increase my chances to go into the commando unit?
is it possible for me to get posted to other uniformed groups such as spf or scdf if i do not get into ndu?
Originally posted by jimmy89:is it possible for me to get posted to other uniformed groups such as spf or scdf if i do not get into ndu?
It's not up to you to decide.
Originally posted by Commando Fan:Yes, SISPEC stands for School of Infantry Specialist.....Been there to stay before, for the NCC specialist course. Anw, im from the National Cadet Corps and is a fan of SAF Commandos since young.
Anyway i can sure go in to Commandos unit? I am 16 this yr, if i go BAC next year through NCC, will it increase my chances to go into the commando unit?
I wasn't particulary a fan of the NCC so guys like you typically kena tekan left /right center for being a smart ass and not following clear intructions.Anyway it is not up to you to decide if you are going to be posted to Cdo but if you there is nothing physically,psychologically wrong and you are willing to be a regular then you are most welcome.
If i PES B will there be any possibility i can join commandos?
Originally posted by Commando Fan:If i PES B will there be any possibility i can join commandos?
dude... yes, got read b4 somewhere around here got pes b enlistees in commando... but also read from somewhere around here for myopia... must be less than 500 degrees... and NO, better vision even after lasik operation do not counted... y... cos good vision is natural by the DNA... the genes...
should be similar to the Air Force criteria, myopia under 400 or 500 not sure, and astigmatism under 150.
I will be enlisting on 10th July 2009 and have to report to "Special Operations Tactics Centre". After asking around and searching on the internet, I found out that it's a camp for training commandos.
Hence, I would like to ask for advice on the things that I can expect so that I can better prepare myself (whether physically or mentally) for it =)
I wanna ask if it's true that all permstaff in Guards camps around singapore has the guard flash on their beret? Even storemen, clerks, service/combat medics? Can anyone clarify that? Cos I saw someone with a blue beret and the guards flash.
Thanks!
Originally posted by night_stalker:I will be enlisting on 10th July 2009 and have to report to "Special Operations Tactics Centre". After asking around and searching on the internet, I found out that it's a camp for training commandos.
Hence, I would like to ask for advice on the things that I can expect so that I can better prepare myself (whether physically or mentally) for it =)
Yep. It's a commando camp; congrats. You'll be having your BMT there, no need to go to tekong.