Originally posted by Gedanken:I still don't get it. I remember companies, platoons, sections, down to LRRP teams, but I never came across detatchments.
Then again, I grew up in the old barracks on Hendon Road. Seems things have changed.
Maybe it ia a new name for the toilet cleaning detail-in -charge.At least that was what we used to called them>LOL
it's similar to a section ged=) I know, my dad was telling me how the last stretch of the ippt 2.4 run was up the slope at hendon road? thank god I don't have to do it now during my time.
Lol...that wld have taken many secs off your 2.4 timing. Now no more 10km SOC for leaders alr.that was such a good physical training..
They still have 5km and 3km though=)
Haha, true, but the 10km SOC test the mental endurance..only COCC have it..but I think leaders should have it as well...
The best..is that everyone has to take it... =D
Yup. Basically everything we do are all about our bodies telling us "no" and your minds conquering over telling us that "we can". Brings "mind over body" to a new level.
Originally posted by RedHood:The best..is that everyone has to take it... =D
Mana wu eng?
Originally posted by jus-tea:it's similar to a section ged=) I know, my dad was telling me how the last stretch of the ippt 2.4 run was up the slope at hendon road? thank god I don't have to do it now during my time.
Man, that takes me back. IIRC, we just had to get to the car park (or maybe it was just an open space) past the sentry post, so it wasn't far up the hill.
Then again, maybe I've just blanked out the trauma to protect my sanity.
hey ged i know this is random but i was reading some past posts and you said 2WO(presently) Patrick Tan was your BMT section mate?! this is cool haha what a small world.
Hey there... sorry kind of noob in this area of NS..Need some of ur advice, but just want to check when will i enlist as i have gone for the commandos VA on 29 july' 09 and i belong to the PTP batch( as i nv took my napfa) .. so when will i receive my enlistment letter ??
Anybody still in guards now?
Do all guardsman live a 6-day week? I heard that they book out on saturdays and book in on sundays!
Originally posted by J.:Anybody still in guards now?
Do all guardsman live a 6-day week? I heard that they book out on saturdays and book in on sundays!
no lah...
who talk cock, that cockster...
5 days workweek...
only trainees schools/ vocational institutes then 5.5 days, just like BMT, where ur official vocation name is 'Rifleman (Trainee)'...
once u get your Guards shoulder tag and the Guards khaki beret... u r an officially qualified Guardsman... not a trainee anymore...
my bmt in tekong is 5-day week leh. bookout on friday and book in on sunday!
i know the guards trainees are booking out on SATURDAY and booking in on SUNDAY! which is bad.
so they get to, um, book out on friday once they get their shoulder tag?
Commandos or guards more shiong ? or actually the same? as in the toughness of the training?
Commandos and guards have different field of expertise, and I would say both are shion in their own ways.
As to when you will receive the enlistment letter, just wait a while longer.
Have fun in army, I am sure you will..cause the new CO, Maj Leung Shing Tai, is Sword-Of-Honour in OCS and Distinguish Honour Graduate in his Ranger course..and these are just some accolades which he has received. He was my instructor when I was in Leaders and COCC..just be prepared!
For Honour and Glory
HAHA yea heard alot abt both vocation... both also shiong lah..
Don't care about that maj lah...maybe i am not even going into commandos... havent even receive the letter, but i think i will be mono intake, so yea better ask about it first..
Good Luck, I wish you all the best. Its an experience that will stay with you the rest of your life. I don't think I could have had a better experience anywhere else (IMO)
You can start training your fitness in the meantime. I can't emphasize the importance of it, to give you an edge.
haha, yea thanks man..
LOL kind of lazy to train my physical up, that is why i am in the ptp batch..
well they can train me up during ptp... and if its not cdos i don't think its that tough, maybe cdos then is the tough once right? Heard the rest all quite slack..
Originally posted by cdos.boyz:haha, yea thanks man..
LOL kind of lazy to train my physical up, that is why i am in the ptp batch..
well they can train me up during ptp... and if its not cdos i don't think its that tough, maybe cdos then is the tough once right? Heard the rest all quite slack..
After the hard training and mental prepareness anything else you do is slack.If you have the time take the opportunity to get a head start you are going to need it no matter where you are posted to.
commando recruitment can check medical without mo?
Guards super siong....dunno abt commandos coz was not in there...but guardsmen trainning = hell.....if u get posted there...do pray hard to get posted out....lol....2years there were living hell.....even reservist training for guards also SIONG to the core....
haha, wah if guards is so siong, then wat is commandos and ndu sia? confirm commandos is more shiong then guards lah.. And yeah if i get posted to guards, i will keng man.. so much of a suffer but no glory.. at lease if get into commandos, after passing out, tell people also people respect, got glory...
Originally posted by cdos.boyz:haha, wah if guards is so siong, then wat is commandos and ndu sia? confirm commandos is more shiong then guards lah.. And yeah if i get posted to guards, i will keng man.. so much of a suffer but no glory.. at lease if get into commandos, after passing out, tell people also people respect, got glory...
Minus the Airborne course for Guards the training standards for both formation can be equally challenging.The key word here is 'NS Men' and not regular soldier
haha, yeap maybe.. but just that the word commando is fiercer then guards... And the colour of the baret, haha but yea maybe both are equally tough.. but guards route march also 72 km?? so everything the same just only the airborne ?
Hello eveyone!
I went for my VA on the 28th of july this year and I just received my posting online. Turns out i'm being assigned to Special Operation Tactics Centre. And my enlistment date is on the 05-Feb-2010.
I'm guessing this is Commando camp? Yes? No?
I have a question though. I live in the north in Sembawang. The last time I travelled down it took me almost 2hrs. Does anyone have a shorter route in mind? I'm travelling by bus and mrt.
P.s I'm okay with the distance, just that I dont mind a shorter route if anybody has any opinions.
Thank you!