i'm not MO or anything, but i think it'll be very difficult to downgrade. i've heard hearsay that alot from this batch posted to 3 guards all trying ways to escape.Originally posted by whezz:posted to 3guards too but now i am suffering from back pain for couple of years which has intensify during the bmt training. Wonder how on earth am i gonna survive inside when u are in one of the xiongest vocation to be. Went to a poly clinic and askfor a referral to a specialist to see what is wrong with my back. For those who have been in guards or have this side of knowledge, before my appointment with the specialist (which is sadly on october and most probably finish gcc by then) how am i support to deal with my injury? If i report to mo, what will the mo do? put u on oot ooc? or simply give u painkillers and carry on the training? Previously didn't went for any specialist cause the cost like **** expensive being seeing those clinic gps who keep saying eat pain killers. 1 told me my problem cannot be cure unless i do physiotherapy but since he is a gp i doubt the mo will take concern of his words. On what kind of conditions will i be able to downgrade?
in unit, i don't even salute to a LTC when I saw them walking past.......Originally posted by LazerLordz:This is the holy truth.
When you're in a unit, your 3SG rank will not appear as "godly" as those you see in BMTC. In fact, BMTC is the only place where 3SGs have that much authority over a soldier.
In my old unit, we call 1SGs and SSGs by name.
Originally posted by equlus84:Hopelessly blur one is Neville lah.
Ok this one is for Guards, moderators, delete the parts you feel might have breached OPSEC.
[b]Q: What is GCC?
A: GCC, also known as Guards conversion course, is a rite to get the Khaki beret. Basically, there are GCC for men, specs, officers. These GCC differs from each other as they caters for the needs and operation demands of men, specs, officers. Thus topics emphasis may differ for the 3 grps.
Q: How long is GCC?
A: GCC's length is dependent on commitment of the battalion eg. in NDP or any other events. If there is NDP, it is usually 1+ month, if not then around 2.5 to 3 months. If there is NDP, things can get a little cramp up, if not is at an acceptable pace.
Q: From what I read eg.commercials, urban legends, Guards/GCC very siong leh, machiam like confirm will die...... is it true?
A: The probability of one dying during GCC is definitely lesser than the probability you get hit by a vehicle. The author was once also frighten, petrified, confused when he received his posting orders many yrs old. But after some time he got used to life inside...... and yes, he is alive and kicking. Just remember that most of the GCC components needs more of team work rather than physical stuff. Of course, you need to be fit, but rest assure, training is safe and progressive. Just like harry potter movie. Remember to be like Harry, sincere, hardworking and modest. Dun be like Hermione(act smart), Ron(hopelessly blur), Draco melfor(Guai lan).
Q: Oh, I almost forgot, what are Guards anyway?
A: Well, this question the author have been also pondering it for very long. In theory, Guards are supposed to be heli-borne infantry, that are inserted into enemy terrain to capture a vantage point crucial for gaining a tactical advantage. Being more strike oriented but Guards do not fight in small clandestine units. Be expected to do a little more walking as you may not see the tonners so frequently, as tonners can only move in unless an axis is secured. We are structured very much like the infantry and the author himself at times do not see any difference between GDS and INF.
As the saying goes, go in to receive first hand experience and dun believe in those Urban Legends. I doubt the basic core topics taught in GCC will defer that much from batches to batches. So I think " 72km march" is nothing more than a hearsay thing.Originally posted by SexyChin:There is a 72 k route march?
During my time, trainees need not cut botak but they are not allowed to book out in civy throughout the entire course. Pay wise, we should be the same as what infantry gets.Originally posted by k2406:QUESTION!
Do GCC trainees get to book out in civilian attire?
Is it advisable to bring 1 set of civvy and civilian bag when reporting tomorrow? Thanks!
I see.Originally posted by equlus84:During my time, trainees need not cut botak but they are not allowed to book out in civy throughout the entire course. Pay wise, we should be the same as what infantry gets.
Well, I had champagne with my Formation Head and we had fun watching belly dancers.Originally posted by toll123:in unit, i don't even salute to a LTC when I saw them walking past.......
Instructors may be from poly or JC batch..what discrimination?Originally posted by k2406:Was it easy integrating with the mono-intake ppl?
Especially for those of different background...any cases of a level people getting bullied or stuff like that? haha...no offense
One more thing...book outs are on friday evening or saturday afternoon? I heard from somewhere that for guards its saturday afternoon...
Aiyah, dun worry so much........ Just pack up ur duffel bag, make sure u did not leave anything out and sleep early. Tomolo go in and you will exp it first hand. Usually first wk is fast march, runs, and weapon trainings.......so no issue oneOriginally posted by k2406:Was it easy integrating with the mono-intake ppl?
Especially for those of different background...any cases of a level people getting bullied or stuff like that? haha...no offense
One more thing...book outs are on friday evening or saturday afternoon? I heard from somewhere that for guards its saturday afternoon...
I am interested to know whether reservist can chose to go thru GCC?Originally posted by wcxie:I'm a trooper from Guards too. During ur Guards conversion (actually it's called AIT - advanced infantry training- for men), book outs usually on sat afternoons 'cos like BMT, got fixed training programme so sometimes not enuff time, so take up saturdays. After AIT, it'll be back to friday bookouts.
Since you're from BMTC, try ur best to get into support coy if ur commanders ask u. 'cos what happened to me was that ppl from BMTC will go into the rifle coy (ABC) for AIT, then post out to Support if they're chosen. Support life is much better 'cos got much less outfield than rifle coy. Rifle coy must go for platoon then coy training then battalion training. Support coy mostly go for battalion trainings only. In support coy, there's Scout, ATGM, Pioneer, mortar, signals. You get to go for the weapons/vocation courses (except signals), and some of these courses can be quite slack. Some platoons are vehicle bound too.
Dun worry abt mixing with the monos, they're quite ok if u dun guai lan and respect them as lao jiaos. Chiong sua with them and they'll respect you. Dun chao keng too much. And dun worry abt physical toughness, i was from obese bmt coy but still get guards tab and khaki in the end, so it's all in the mind. Enjoy ur time!
If you want more info can PM me, i'll let u know whatever i know
yes, last yr army magazine had featured a lta(ns) who volunteered to go thru gcc during reservist.Originally posted by will4:I am interested to know whether reservist can chose to go thru GCC?
Originally posted by eac:yes, last yr army magazine had featured a lta(ns) who volunteered to go thru gcc during reservist.
some guys maintain their fitness from NS but most slack.Originally posted by relackjack:i think one in a million years lah.. siao he can tehan arh
What about for those enlistees?Originally posted by eac:yes, last yr army magazine had featured a lta(ns) who volunteered to go thru gcc during reservist.
I think it will only be opened for those posted to guards unit or regulars or from other formations tat work in tandem with guards operationOriginally posted by will4:What about for those enlistees?
Originally posted by eac:yes, last yr army magazine had featured a lta(ns) who volunteered to go thru gcc during reservist.