-
HAHAHAHA
I have a fren in Commando BMT. He says they dun walk at all, run here run there, non-stop. He's very fit but he still thinks that the training is very tough.... almost cry every night....Word!
Originally posted by Demon Bane:I have a fren in Commando BMT. He says they dun walk at all, run here run there, non-stop. He's very fit but he still thinks that the training is very tough.... almost cry every night....Word!
HAHAHA! sorry i had to laugh..
didn't know they changed to so tough in jus 1yr+
What's the point of being so "on" ? Are fulltime Commando, Ranger, NDU pay high or not? What's their starting pay?
had my sit test with some people from NDU
see their warm-up i already feel tired
My commando fren kana post out due to serious leg injury. Maybe down PES to C2 his MO said....and post to a clerical unit, wah good life already sia !
Originally posted by Agenda:had my sit test with some people from NDU
see their warm-up i already feel tired
... I'm going NDU in March
What's the "cut off" age for people who want to sign on as regulars for Commando or Ranger or NDU ?
Originally posted by Demon Bane:My commando fren kana post out due to serious leg injury. Maybe down PES to C2 his MO said....and post to a clerical unit, wah good life already sia !
Depending on how u looked at it, if just started the CDO training ok lor...but if wanna pass out liao..then u bang balls lor.
Originally posted by tarutaru:Depending on how u looked at it, if just started the CDO training ok lor...but if wanna pass out liao..then u bang balls lor.
Oh he just started only....lucky fella. Now waiting for medical board to down PES.
Originally posted by Demon Bane:Oh he just started only....lucky fella. Now waiting for medical board to down PES.
If he out-of-course, some time later will have to redo BMT again....but not commando BMT, maybe a modified one?
Hi all,
I'm new here but I've read this entire thread (yes, all 46 pages of it.)
I'm a CDO from 2 Coy and I enlisted in 1996. After 14 long years, I've finally just finished my last ICT. Quite a ride when I think back to the day of enlistment and all the things that had transpired since then. I was horrified when I first found out my enlistment was to CDO. But when all was said and done, I would do it again if I had to live my life again. It was one of the best experiences of my life.
One thing I would like to share with the soon-to-be-enlisted young men: there is a misconception with regard to the OOC rates in CDO. Here are some points to share:
1) There are always a huge number of people who do not want to be a CDO even though they are enlisted there.
2) Some leave by signing on to other units. Some leave by disrupting for studies. Others dig up their full medical history and even try to concoct problems in a bid to get downgraded and posted out of company or out of unit. A few will speak to the OC and have serious discussions about their wishes to get posted to other units, be it due to their personal reasons or otherwise.
3) Although the [final operational company strength]/[enlistment headcount] is about 50% or lower, it has to be remembered some of the people are posted to CDO HQ as Medics/Signallers or to be in the SRT. So it is not true that 50% gets OOC'd.
4) And perhaps the most important point of all, the OOC rate that are caused by training injury is actually pretty low. At least that's the case in my company.
5) Yes, it is true that a small handful will get injured during the airborne course. But most of them will eventually recover, get themselves upgraded and continue their journey as a CDO. One such example is a 3SG who was chosen to go to OCS. He hurt himself during airborne training and was thus not sent there. Although he took a while to recover, recover he did. And he chose to sign on for 2 years (this was possible back then, not sure about now) just so that he can fulfill his destiny of going to OCS and becoming a CDO officer. He did it.
So, the overall OOC rate is actually misleading. Injury rates as well. As long as one is keen to be part of the family, listens to instructions and be vigilant about training safety, everything will be fine. ( I, for one, has never ever reported sick during my 2 years 4 months + 6 ICTs.)
And in order to dispel a few other myths:
1) I wear glasses (although my degree is only about 150). There are guys in my company with 200-300+ degrees. As far as I know, my company is the very first that took in short-sighted people. During my ICTs, I've seen spectacles become very prevalent among the NSFs. So being short sighted is not an issue. (Although there seems to be a ceiling on the allowable degree: 500).
2) I am an only son. And some are even only-child's. So this is not a problem either.
3) I am PES B. I sustained a couple of fractures when I was young, hence this PES status. As far as I know, it has no bearing against becoming a CDO.
So, even though I am concurrently in 3 of the "unlikely to get selected" group, I was still picked (which was why I was horrified by the enlistment letter). For those who are keen to go to Hendon, don't let any of the above deter you. For those who are going in soon, don't be afraid. The experience and the bond that you'll build is something you'll come to treasure for life.
Against All Odds. For Honour And Glory!
Originally posted by Fcdobn2coyp5s1:Hi all,
I'm a CDO from 2 Coy and I enlisted in 1996. After 14 long years, I've finally just finished my last ICT. Quite a ride when I think back to the day of enlistment and all the things that had transpired since then. I was horrified when I first found out my enlistment was to CDO. But when all was said and done, I would do it again if I had to live my life again. It was one of the best experiences of my life.
One thing I would like to share with the soon-to-be-enlisted young men: there is a misconception with regard to the OOC rates in CDO. Here are some points to share:
1) There are always a huge number of people who do not want to be a CDO even though they are enlisted there.
2) Some leave by signing on to other units. Some leave by disrupting for studies. Others dig up their full medical history and even try to concoct problems in a bid to get downgraded and posted out of company or out of unit. A few will speak to the OC and have serious discussions about their wishes to get posted to other units, be it due to their personal reasons or otherwise.
3) Although the [final operational company strength]/[enlistment headcount] is about 50% or lower, it has to be remembered some of the people are posted to CDO HQ as Medics/Signallers or to be in the SRT. So it is not true that 50% gets OOC'd.
4) And perhaps the most important point of all, the OOC rate that are caused by training injury is actually pretty low. At least that's the case in my company.
5) Yes, it is true that a small handful will get injured during the airborne course. But most of them will eventually recover, get themselves upgraded and continue their journey as a CDO. One such example is a 3SG who was chosen to go to OCS. He hurt himself during airborne training and was thus not sent there. Although he took a while to recover, recover he did. And he chose to sign on for 2 years (this was possible back then, not sure about now) just so that he can fulfill his destiny of going to OCS and becoming a CDO officer. He did it.
So, the overall OOC rate is actually misleading. Injury rates as well. As long as one is keen to be part of the family, listens to instructions and be vigilant about training safety, everything will be fine. ( I, for one, has never ever reported sick during my 2 years 4 months + 6 ICTs.)
1) I wear glasses (although my degree is only about 150). There are guys in my company with 200-300+ degrees. As far as I know, my company is the very first that took in short-sighted people. During my ICTs, I've seen spectacles become very prevalent among the NSFs. So being short sighted is not an issue. (Although there seems to be a ceiling on the allowable degree: 500).
2) I am an only son. And some are even only-child's. So this is not a problem either.
3) I am PES B. I sustained a couple of fractures when I was young, hence this PES status. As far as I know, it has no bearing against becoming a CDO.
So, even though I am concurrently in 3 of the "unlikely to get selected" group, I was still picked (which was why I was horrified by the enlistment letter). For those who are keen to go to Hendon, don't let any of the above deter you. For those who are going in soon, don't be afraid. The experience and the bond that you'll build is something you'll come to treasure for life.
Thanks a lot for sharing.
I have heard of CDO with 400~ degrees in one eye, CDO being only child, but this is certainly the first time that I heard Pes B can be CDO. Will be sure to share this info if asked.
What about being the eldest son? Can u still be a CDO?
Originally posted by Holy ang3lz:What about being the eldest son? Can u still be a CDO?
Yes.
If you think about it, being the only son will make you the eldest son as well.
On a related note, I know of several instances where, if a family has more than 1 son, and if the elder son went to CDO, the younger one will go to CDO as well. i.e. I have quite a number of CDO friends whose brothers are CDO as well.
I do not know whether this is due to coincidence or by design though.
I see. Thanks for the info!
Originally posted by Fcdobn2coyp5s1:Hi all,
Hi Fcdobn2coyp5s1,
Nice to meet you here....I am from 1st coy, 92-94' batch.
Nobody knows any regulars? What's the salary range like?
Hi H&G
Nice to meet you too.
Hi, I'm selected for VA @ Hendon on 24th Feb. Anyone else?
hey does anybody knw what are th criterias to get selected for VA in brief? and do u get it aft ur regular med check or? thx