dunno leh...Originally posted by VTDK:That means that they decide whether to post you to commandos straight after medical check up?
Also, is it very difficult to get into commando and from there into OCS?
Thanks, you got them both correct.These two outstanding gentlemen almost wanted to became Commando officers when they were young LTs.7 SIB deserve good officers like them.Originally posted by gOingUndEr:Not sure abt Chandra. There are few officers with that name around. One of which i know is a Major overseeing the Lightstrike Company for NSmen now.
As for Chua Jyn Meng, he was formerly the brigade 2IC for 7SIB. He's an LTC now and just got posted out few months ago.
wads the spec to get into commandos? if im a single child would i be able to get in?
oh of cuz you will. they don't care abt the only child policy anymore. many singapore families are single-child. so no choice. which means you may just get selected. =)
Can i ask what are the selection criterias of becoming a commando?
Eyesight muz be below wat degree? What kind of physical tests will they test u on? To move on to an officer level, what qualities muz u possess?
Lets say, i sign on with them, when i come out, what other occupation can i do?
TIA.=)
if you wana sign on as a cdo, you better hope to stay there permanently..
and you better make sure u can tahan all the mental torture. you need to get your ranger tab to promote, you need to go thru alot of pain and mental torture. if u are physically fit, it is juz a fraction of ur way there...after all fitness can be trained. mental...can't.
Originally posted by del_co:fitness can be trained. mental...can't.
Sure it can - what do you think all the mental torture is for?
no use going commandos unless you are selected for commando OCS course la...commando officers are reali respected in SAF from what i heard...
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:no use going commandos unless you are selected for commando OCS course la...commando officers are reali respected in SAF from what i heard.
You cant just say or decide on your own that you want to be a Cdo Officer.You will again be selected for that.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:no use going commandos unless you are selected for commando OCS course la...commando officers are reali respected in SAF from what i heard...
That a fact now? You've obviously never heard of Gungadaran amongst others.
From the looks of your posts, you'd be a danger to the men around you.
27 is never too old .One of my best friends is now a Lt Colonel in Guards and he signed on 5 years after he ROD at the age of 26.Good luck to you!
i was just wondering, do u need perfect eyesight to be selected for ndu?
why you wana b so siao on and chiong sua in NS? i dun tink its worth it la. i heard alot of people get injured in NDU then kena OOC. in the end downgraded n do nothing in army, onli shake leg nia.
yeah. u must hav perfect eyesight and pes A to be shortlisted for the selection...
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:why you wana b so siao on and chiong sua in NS? i dun tink its worth it la. i heard alot of people get injured in NDU then kena OOC. in the end downgraded n do nothing in army, onli shake leg nia.
Oh me, oh my - this no use, that not worth it, every excuse in the book and you want to be a pilot or a CDO officer?
Wash out!
its true wat! you either be the best or the most lowly man mahz...i only wana b pilot not CDO officer, pls get ur facts right! gedanken, dun act as if u noe all the shi.t in army la...different people have their own mentality, why you wana enforce yours on others? you are such an arrogant person from wat i read in your posts...STOP CRITICIZING OTHERS!
Oh dearie me. Can't keep a cool head, can we? This simply will not do, regardless of whether you intend to be an officer, pilot or whatever - they're not going to pay you to fall apart at the slightest instigation, sport.
You're right, though - I don't know all the "shit" and I'm not going even going to even pretend to. You, on the other hand, have not spent a day in uniform but see fit to advise people that it's not worth being in NDU as an NS man. Can we say hypocrisy, boys and girls?
i reali duno abt how the army works or anything. but i onli know its a serve and fark off affair lor...sometimes i'm torn between the two sides: just go in and slack or go in and do your best. i will just take everything in my stride though.